Circular to Intermediaries - Frequently Asked Questions on Triggering of Suitability Obligations

23 Dec 2016



The purpose of this circular is to clarify the scope of application of the suitability obligations under the Code of Conduct1 and to provide guidance and illustrations on whether and when the suitability obligations would be triggered under certain scenarios.

Under paragraph 5.2 of the Code of Conduct2, a licensed or registered person should, when making a recommendation or solicitation, ensure the suitability of the recommendation or solicitation for the client is reasonable in all the circumstances, having regard to information about the client of which the licensed or registered person is or should be aware through the exercise of due diligence.  The suitability obligations are applicable to all recommendations or solicitations concerning any investment products, whether or not the products involved are traded on an exchange.

Solicitations may cover a wide range of acts on the part of licensed or registered persons.  Whether a licensed or registered person has made a solicitation is a question of fact which should be assessed against the circumstances of each case.  

For example, in determining whether the posting of an advertisement for an investment product or the provision to clients of research reports and other product-specific materials such as stock commentaries (Research and Marketing Materials) has actually triggered the suitability obligations, the assessment should be made at the point of sale or advice. The assessment would focus on the communications between the client and the licensed or registered person leading up to and including the point of sale or advice, taking into account the content and context of any Research and Marketing Materials3 and the extent to which they created an environment in which the client was induced or recommended to enter into the transaction.

This means that posting of Research and Marketing Materials may or may not trigger suitability obligations, depending on whether they are relevant to the selling or advisory process, ie the direct communications with the client.  In the absence of direct communications with the client, suitability obligations are unlikely to be triggered by the mere posting of an advertisement for an investment product in newspapers, magazines or television programmes, or by the wide dissemination of research reports.

The SFC has also issued Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) with a view to providing guidance to licensed and registered persons on whether the suitability obligations under the Code of Conduct will be triggered where:

(i)     licensed or registered persons have interactive communications with their clients on investment products; and

(ii)   licensed or registered persons provide discretionary account services to their clients. 

A copy of the FAQs is attached to this circular for your information.  The e-version of the FAQs is available for download on the SFC website at www.sfc.hk under the sections “Regulatory functions – Intermediaries – Supervision – FAQs – Triggering of Suitability Obligations”.  The FAQs will be updated from time to time and you are advised to check our website for new information.  

Licensed or registered persons should consider their own circumstances, review their existing systems and practices and enhance their own systems and controls, where necessary, having regard to this circular.  Licensed or registered persons should also make reference to other relevant guidance, including the Frequently Asked Questions on Compliance with Suitability Obligations, issued by the SFC from time to time.

Should you have any queries regarding the contents of this circular, please contact Ms Pauline Chan at 2231 1952.

Intermediaries Supervision Department
Intermediaries Division
Securities and Futures Commission

Enclosure

End

SFO/IS/045/2016


1 Code of Conduct for Persons Licensed by or Registered with the Securities and Futures Commission
2
As supplemented by relevant FAQs and circulars, etc. issued by the SFC from time to time
3
Licensed or registered persons are required to comply with relevant legal and regulatory requirements when issuing Research and Marketing Materials.  For example, they should ensure that advertisements do not contain information that is false, disparaging, misleading or deceptive under paragraph 2.3 of the Code of Conduct and that they should have a reasonable basis for investment recommendations under paragraph 16.


Click here to download the document

Supplementary document:
Appendix


Page last updated : 23 Dec 2016

致中介人的通函 - 有關觸發為客戶提供合理適當建議的責任的《常見問題》

2016年12月23日



本通函旨在釐清《操守準則》1下為客戶提供合理適當建議的責任的適用範圍,及就在若干情境下會否及何時會觸發為客戶提供合理適當建議的責任,提供指引和說明。

根據《操守準則》第5.2段2,持牌人或註冊人經考慮其所察覺的或經適當查證後理應察覺的關於該客戶的資料後,持牌人或註冊人在作出建議或招攬行為時,應確保其向該客戶作出的建議或招攬行為,在所有情況下都是合理的。為客戶提供合理適當建議的責任適用於就任何投資產品作出的一切建議或招攬行為,不論有關產品是否在交易所買賣。

持牌人或註冊人作出的招攬行為可涵蓋的範圍很廣泛。持牌人或註冊人有否作出招攬行為是一個關乎事實的問題,並應根據每宗個案的情況作出評估。

例如,在決定就某投資產品登載廣告或向客戶提供研究報告及其他(如股評)的產品材料(研究及市場推廣材料)實際上有否觸發為客戶提供合理適當建議的責任時,有關的評估應在銷售該產品或就該產品作出建議時進行。評估的重點在於客戶與持牌人或註冊人在直至銷售或作出建議之前及在銷售或作出建議時的溝通,同時亦會考慮有關研究及市場推廣材料3的內容及在甚麼情況下提供予客戶,以及這些材料在多大程度上營造了誘使或推介客戶訂立交易的環境。

這意味著,登載研究及市場推廣材料會否觸發為客戶提供合理適當建議的責任,應視乎該研究及市場推廣材料是否與銷售或作出建議的過程(即與客戶進行的直接溝通)有關。在與客戶沒有直接溝通的情況下,單純在報章、雜誌或電視節目登載某投資產品的廣告或廣泛發布研究報告便相當可能不會觸發為客戶提供合理適當建議的責任。

證監會亦發表《常見問題》,就下列情況會否觸發《操守準則》為客戶提供合理適當建議的責任向持牌人及註冊人提供指引:

(i)    持牌人或註冊人就投資產品與客戶進行了互動溝通;及

(ii)   持牌人或註冊人向客戶提供委託帳戶服務。

現隨本通函夾附《常見問題》,以供參考。《常見問題》的電子版本可於證監會網站(www.sfc.hk)“〈監管職能〉 ─ 〈中介人〉 ─ 〈監管事宜〉 ─ 〈常見問題〉 ─ 〈觸發為客戶提供合理適當建議的責任〉”下載。《常見問題》將不時更新,請於本會網站查閱最新資料。

持牌人或註冊人應考慮其本身的情況、檢討其現行的制度及作業方式,並在參考本通函的內容後改進其本身的制度及監控措施(如適用)。持牌人或註冊人亦應參考證監會不時發出的其他相關指引,包括《有關遵守為客戶提供合理適當建議的責任的常見問題》。

如對本通函內容有任何疑問,請致電2231 1952與陳藹儀女士聯絡。

證券及期貨事務監察委員會
中介機構部
中介機構監察科

連附件

SFO/IS/045/2016


1《證券及期貨事務監察委員會持牌人或註冊人操守準則》
2
經證監會不時發出的相關《常見問題》及通函等補充
3
持牌人或註冊人發出研究及市場推廣材料時須遵守相關法律及監管規定。例如,根據《操守準則》第2.3段,他們應確保廣告內不會載有虛假、貶抑、具誤導成分或有欺騙性的資料,及根據第16段,他們的投資建議應該是建基於合理的基礎上。


按這裡下載文件

附錄文件:
附錄


最後更新日期 : 2016年12月23日