Circular to Licensed Corporations on Responsible Officers and Substantial Shareholders

2 Jun 2017



In recent years, the SFC has observed an increasing number of persons with no prior experience in the securities industry seeking to set up or acquire licensed corporations in Hong Kong. In some cases, large premiums were paid by new substantial shareholders acquiring licensed corporations that have little or no business. The SFC is also aware of reports of a “market price” for hiring a responsible officer who does not participate in the firm’s management or operations.

Accordingly, the SFC wishes to remind the industry that licences are granted to corporations and individuals to enable them to carry on a business in a regulated activity. The SFC may revoke the licences of corporations and individuals that do not genuinely carry on a business in a regulated activity.[1]

Responsible officers

A licensed corporation’s responsible officers should have sufficient authority to supervise the business of regulated activity in the licensed corporation. The SFC wishes to remind licensed corporations and applicants that it is not acceptable to hire responsible officers in name only, where those responsible officers in reality do not participate in the supervision of the licensed corporation’s business, or they lack sufficient authority to do so.

This kind of arrangement is not acceptable to the SFC because there will be doubt as to whether the senior management of the licensed corporation is properly supervising the firm’s regulated activity and properly managing the risks associated with its business.[2]  That might be an indication that the licensed corporation and the responsible officers are not fit and proper. They could therefore be subject to disciplinary action, including public reprimand and licence revocation.[3]

Furthermore, when applying for approval as a responsible officer, an applicant needs to provide details of his or her proposed duties. This should include a description of the specific responsibilities the responsible officer will have in relation to supervision of the licensed corporation’s business. The SFC may when necessary directly contact a responsible officer in respect of his or her area of responsibilities and the business of the licensed corporation under his or her supervision. If in reality the responsible officer does not participate in the supervision of the licensed corporation’s business, the licensed corporation and the responsible officer might have committed an offence of providing false or misleading information to the SFC in support of their licence applications.[4]

In assessing whether a person is fit and proper to be or remain licensed as a responsible officer, the SFC will also consider (among other things) whether the person is able to devote sufficient time to his or her duties as a responsible officer, and to properly manage any potential conflicts of interest arising from any other capacities or business interests of that person. The SFC is unlikely to be satisfied that a person will be fit and proper to be licensed to act for more than one licensed corporation, unless the licensed corporations are in the same corporate group or owned by the same controlling shareholders. Similarly, there will be significant conflict of interest concerns if a responsible officer applicant also acts as a director of, or an external consultant or compliance advisor to, other licensed corporations or applicants. 

Substantial shareholders

When the SFC considers an application for approval to become a substantial shareholder of a licensed corporation, it will scrutinise the proposed arrangement particularly closely if the licensed corporation appears to be dormant. That is because there may be concern that the new substantial shareholder is seeking to avoid the normal assessment and vetting process involved with a new licensed corporation application.

Whether considering a new corporate licence application or a change of substantial shareholders of an existing licensed corporation, the SFC will refuse to approve an applicant to become or continue to be a substantial shareholder of the licensed corporation unless the applicant satisfies the SFC that the corporation will remain a fit and proper person to be licensed if the application is approved.[5]  The SFC is not likely to be satisfied that a corporation will remain fit and proper unless its substantial shareholders also meet the Fit and Proper Guidelines published by the SFC.[6] 

It is worth noting that the assessment and vetting process for a new substantial shareholder application is no less stringent than the process involved with a new licensed corporation application. The timeframe for processing a substantial shareholder application may be comparable to that for a corporate licence application,[7] as the factors that affect the processing time are largely the same.  

The SFC may enquire into a proposed substantial shareholder’s source of funding and financial strength. This serves to assess the legitimacy of the funds and confirm that ultimate beneficial owners who are substantial shareholders have applied for approval.

The SFC will also assess any potential changes to the licensed corporation’s business plan and senior management following a change of ownership. Substantial shareholders should be aware that the SFC expects a licensed corporation’s Board of Directors and senior management to be composed of individuals with an appropriate range of skills and experience to understand and run the corporation’s activities.[8]

In some cases, licensed corporations and proposed new substantial shareholders represent to the SFC that the licensed corporation’s business plan and senior management will remain unchanged following the change of ownership. In its ongoing supervision of licensees, the SFC may seek to confirm what changes have in fact occurred. This helps ensure that parties are forthcoming in providing information. Any person providing false or misleading information to the SFC in purported compliance with a requirement to provide information (such as changes to the licensed corporation’s business plan and senior management) may commit an offence punishable by a fine and imprisonment.[9]

As part of its continuous obligations, a licensed corporation must notify the SFC within seven business days whenever certain changes occur, including significant changes to its business plan and changes to its senior management.[10]


Intermediaries Division
Securities and Futures Commission


[1]   Section 195(1)(c) of the Securities and Futures Ordinance (SFO).

[2]    Paragraph 14.1 and General Principle 9 of the Code of Conduct for Persons Licensed by or
      Registered with the Securities and Futures Commission.

[3]   Section 194(1) of the SFO.

[4]   Section 383 of the SFO.

[5]   Section 132(2) of the SFO.

[6]   Paragraph 6.1.2 of the Fit and Proper Guidelines.

[7]   The time it takes for the SFC to process a new corporate licence application will depend on
      a number of factors, such as the types of service or products the corporation proposes to
      provide, the completeness of the application, and the time taken for other regulatory
      bodies to respond to our vetting requests, where applicable (see paragraph 8.6.2 of the
      Licensing Handbook).

[8]   Appendix A of the Guidelines on Competence.

[9]   Section 384 of the SFO.

[10]  Securities and Futures (Licensing and Registration) (Information) Rules; Circular to
      Licensed Corporations Regarding Measures for Augmenting the Accountability of Senior
      Management issued 16 December 2016.


Click here to download the document


Page last updated : 2 Jun 2017

致持牌法團的通函 – 關於負責人員及大股東

2017年6月2日



證監會近年觀察到,有愈來愈多過往並無從事證券業經驗的人士,尋求在香港成立或收購持牌法團,其中更有一些新的大股東支付了大額溢價來收購甚少或全無業務的持牌法團。證監會同時留意到有報道指,有公司以「市價」聘請不參與公司管理或運作的負責人員。

有鑑於此,證監會希望提醒業界,本會向法團及個人批出牌照,旨在讓它們/他們經營受規管活動的業務。如法團或個人實際上並無經營受規管活動的業務,證監會可撤銷其牌照 [1]


負責人員

持牌法團的負責人員應具有充分的權力,以監督該持牌法團受規管活動的業務。證監會希望提醒持牌法團及申請人,本會不會接受僅在名義上受聘但實際上並無參與監督有關持牌法團的業務,或並無充分權力作出監督的負責人員。

證監會不會接受此類安排,因為有關安排會令人質疑持牌法團的高級管理層有否妥善監督該法團的受規管活動和妥善管理其業務涉及的風險 [2],這可能顯示持牌法團及負責人員並非適當人選。持牌法團及負責人員可能會因而遭受紀律處分,包括遭公開譴責及被撤銷牌照 [3]

另外,在申請獲核准成為負責人員時,申請人須詳細列明其擬擔任的職務,包括說明其作為負責人員在監督有關持牌法團的業務方面的特定職責。證監會在有需要時會直接聯絡負責人員,以了解其職責範疇及其所監督的持牌法團業務。如該負責人員實際上並無參與監督有關持牌法團的業務,該持牌法團及負責人員均可能干犯了向證監會提供虛假或具誤導性的資料以支持其牌照申請的罪行 [4]

在評估有關人士是否可獲或繼續獲發牌擔任負責人員的適當人選時,證監會亦將會考慮(其中包括)該人士能否投放充足時間來履行其身為負責人員的職責,及妥善管理因其任何其他職位或業務利益而引起的任何潛在利益衝突。證監會多數不會信納,為多於一家持牌法團行事的人將會是可獲發牌的適當人選,除非該等持牌法團隸屬同一企業集團或由同一控股股東擁有。同樣,如申請成為負責人員的人士同時擔任其他持牌法團或申請人的董事、外部顧問或合規顧問,亦將令人關注到當中會否涉及嚴重利益衝突。 


大股東

證監會在考慮有關核准成為持牌法團大股東的申請時,如有關持牌法團看似沒有業務運作,證監會便會更加仔細審查該申請內的建議安排,因為有關情況可能令人擔心新的大股東是藉此規避新持牌法團申請所涉及的正常評估及審批程序。

無論是考慮新法團的牌照申請或現有持牌法團大股東的變動時,除非申請人令證監會信納如申請一旦獲准,有關持牌法團會繼續是獲發牌的適當人選,否則證監會須拒絕核准該申請人成為或繼續作為該法團的大股東 [5]。除非法團的大股東亦符合證監會發表的《適當人選的指引》,否則證監會多數不會信納該法團將維持適當人選資格 [6]。 

值得注意的是,新大股東申請的評估及審批程序在嚴謹程度上不下於新持牌法團申請的相關程序。處理大股東申請所需的時間可能與處理法團牌照申請所需的時間相若 [7],因為兩者的處理時間大致上受到相同的因素影響。 

證監會或會查問準大股東的資金來源及財政能力,藉以評估有關資金的正當性,及確認身為大股東的最終實益擁有人已提出其核准申請。

證監會亦會評估在擁有權變更後,持牌法團的業務計劃及高級管理層可能出現的任何變動。大股東應當知悉,證監會期望持牌法團的董事會及高級管理層是由具備多項適當技能及經驗,以及能理解和經營該法團業務的人士所組成 [8]

在某些個案中,持牌法團及準新大股東向證監會表示在擁有權變更後,持牌法團的業務計劃及高級管理層將維持不變。證監會在持續監督持牌人的過程中,或會尋求確認實際上發生了甚麼轉變。此舉有助確保有關各方主動提供資料。任何人在看來是遵從提供資料(例如有關持牌法團業務計劃及高級管理層變動的資料)的要求時,向證監會提供虛假或具誤導性的資料,即屬犯罪,可處罰款及監禁的刑罰 [9]

持牌法團的持續責任之一,是每當某些變動(包括其業務計劃有重大更改及其高級管理層有所變動)發生時,必須在七個營業日內通知證監會 [10]


證券及期貨事務監察委員會
中介機構部


[1]   《證券及期貨條例》第195(1)(c)條。

[2]   《證券及期貨事務監察委員會持牌人或註冊人操守準則》第14.1段及第9項一般原則。

[3]   《證券及期貨條例》第194(1)條。

[4]   《證券及期貨條例》第383條。

[5]   《證券及期貨條例》第132(2)條。

[6]   《適當人選的指引》第6.1.2段。

[7]   證監會處理新法團牌照申請所需的時間將取決於多項因素,例如有關法團擬提供的服務或產品的類別、
      有關申請人所提供的資料是否完備,以及(在適用情況下)其他監管機關對本會就申請人提出的審查要
      求而作出回應的所需時間(見《發牌手冊》第8.6.2段)。

[8]   《勝任能力的指引》附錄A。

[9]   《證券及期貨條例》第384條。

[10] 《證券及期貨(發牌及註冊)(資料)規則》;於2016年12月16日發出致持牌法團有關加強高級管理層問責
      性的措施的通函。


按這裡下載文件


最後更新日期 : 2017年6月2日