Circular to Licensed Corporations and Associated Entities - Anti-Money Laundering / Counter-Terrorist Financing
United Nations Sanctions (Libya) Regulation 2011 (Amendment) Regulation 2017

29 Sep 2017



Circular to Licensed Corporations and Associated Entities 

Anti-Money Laundering / Counter-Terrorist Financing 

United Nations Sanctions (Libya) Regulation 2011 (Amendment) Regulation 2017

The United Nations Sanctions (Libya) Regulation 2011 (Amendment) Regulation 2017 ("the Amendment Regulation"), made under the United Nations Sanctions Ordinance (Cap. 537) ("UNSO"), was published in the Gazette (L.N. 151 of 2017) on 29 September 2017 with immediate effect.

The Amendment Regulation amends existing sanctions against Libya to implement decisions of the United Nations Security Council ("UNSC") under Resolution 2362.

We would like to draw licensed corporations’ ("LCs") and associated entities’ ("AEs") attention to section 12 of the Amendment Regulation which adds the new sections 7G and 7H to United Nations Sanctions (Libya) Regulation 2011 to provide for the prohibition against engaging in financial transactions related to any petroleum from Libya aboard ships designated by the relevant UNSC Sanctions Committee Note 1. 

The aforesaid regulation can be found on the Government’s website (http://www.gld.gov.hk/egazette/pdf/20172139/es220172139151.pdf).

Furthermore, LCs and AEs are reminded to refer to Chapter 6 of the Guideline on Anti-Money Laundering and Counter-Terrorist Financing ("AML Guideline") which contains guidance on the appropriate measures that LCs and AEs should take to ensure compliance with the regulations made under the UNSO Note 2.

Should you have any queries regarding the contents of this circular, please contact Ms Kiki Wong on 2231 1569.

Intermediaries Supervision Department
Intermediaries Division
Securities and Futures Commission

End

SFO/IS/035/2017

Note 1 Please also see our circular issued on 9 December 2016 for the list of “relevant persons and entities” specified under section 38 of the United Nations Sanctions (Libya) Regulation 2011 on that date.
Note 2
Under paragraph 6 of the Prevention of Money Laundering and Terrorist Financing Guideline issued by the Securities and Futures Commission for Associated Entities, AEs that are not authorized financial institutions are expected to have regard to the provisions of the AML Guideline as if they were themselves LCs.


Click here to download the document


Page last updated : 29 Sep 2017

致持牌法團及有聯繫實體的通函 - 打擊洗錢/恐怖分子資金籌集
《2017年〈2011年聯合國制裁(利比亞)規例〉(修訂)規例》

2017年9月29日



致持牌法團及有聯繫實體的通函 

打擊洗錢/恐怖分子資金籌集 

《2017年〈2011年聯合國制裁(利比亞)規例〉(修訂)規例》 

《2017年〈2011年聯合國制裁(利比亞)規例〉(修訂)規例》(“《修訂規例》”)已根據《聯合國制裁條例》(第537章)訂立,並於2017年9月29日在憲報刊登(2017年第151號法律公告),即時生效。 

《修訂規例》修訂現行對利比亞的制裁,以實施聯合國安全理事會(“安理會”)第2362號決議。 

持牌法團及有聯繫實體應注意《修訂規例》第12條,據此,《2011年聯合國制裁(利比亞)規例》會加入第7G條及第7H條,訂明如任何來自利比亞的石油,是經安理會相關制裁委員會指認的船舶裝運的,則禁止從事關乎該等石油的金融交易註1 

《修訂規例》可於政府網站(http://www.gld.gov.hk/egazette/pdf/20172139/cs220172139151.pdf)取覽。 

此外,持牌法團及有聯繫實體應參閱《打擊洗錢及恐怖分子資金籌集指引》(“《打撃洗錢指引》”)第6章,其中載有持牌法團及有聯繫實體應採取的適當措施的指引,以確保遵從根據《聯合國制裁條例》制訂的有關規例註2

如對本通函內容有任何疑問,請致電2231 1569與王凱琪女士聯絡。

證券及期貨事務監察委員會
中介機構部
中介機構監察科

SFO/IS/035/2017


註1請同時參閱本會於2016129發出的通函,當中載有該日根據2011年聯合國制裁(利比亞)規例》第38條所指明的有關人士及實體”的名單
註2
根據《證券及期貨事務監察委員會發出適用於有聯繫實體的防止洗錢及恐怖分子資金籌集的指引》第6段,作為非認可財務機構的有聯繫實體應如持牌法團一樣符合《打撃洗錢指引》的條文。


按這裡下載文件


最後更新日期 : 2017年9月29日