Circular to Intermediaries and Associated Entities - Anti-Money Laundering / Counter-Financing of Terrorism (“AML/CFT”)
Address Verification Requirements

11 Oct 2017



Circular to Intermediaries and Associated Entities 

Anti-Money Laundering / Counter-Financing of Terrorism (“AML/CFT”)

Address Verification Requirements 

The Securities and Futures Commission (“SFC”) and the other relevant authorities (“RAs”)Note 1 have been reviewing various aspects of the AML/CFT regulatory requirements for financial institutions  (“FIs”)Note 2, which include the address verification requirements stipulated in the Guideline on Anti-Money Laundering and Counter-Terrorist Financing (“AML Guideline”)Note 3

Taking into account feedback from various stakeholders about AML/CFT processes and industry developments, the SFC and the other RAs have agreed to remove the address verification requirements currently set out in the AML Guideline.  As a result, FIs are only required to collect address information of customers and/or beneficial owners without the need to collect documentary evidence for AML/CFT purpose. 

Relevant paragraphs of the AML Guideline that will be amended to reflect the removal of the address verification requirements are listed in the Appendix.  Such amendments to the AML Guideline are expected to be gazetted tentatively in the first half of 2018, in conjunction with other revisions to the AML Guideline resulting from the passage of Anti-Money Laundering and Counter-Terrorist Financing (Financial Institutions) (Amendment) Bill 2017 (“Bill”)Note 4.

In the meantime, any absence of verification of address (as otherwise envisaged by paragraphs in the Appendix) will be regarded by the SFC and the other RAs as justified under paragraph 1.7 of the AML GuidelineNote 5.  Intermediaries and associated entities may start reviewing and adopt the changes as appropriate. 

It should be noted that intermediaries may, under certain circumstances, still require address verification from a customer for other purposes (e.g. group requirements, other local or overseas legal and regulatory requirementsNote 6).  In such circumstances, they should communicate clearly the reasons of requiring verification of address to the customer.

Should you have any queries regarding the contents of this circular, please contact Ms Kiki Wong on 2231 1569.

Intermediaries Supervision Department
Intermediaries Division
Securities and Futures Commission

Enclosure

End

SFO/IS/038/2017

Note 1 The other RAs are: the Hong Kong Monetary Authority, the Insurance Authority and the Customs and Excise Department.
Note 2 These FIs are: authorized institutions; licensed corporations (“LCs”); authorized insurers, appointed insurance agents and authorized insurance brokers carrying on or advising on long term business; and licensed money service operators.
Note 3
In relation to associated entities (“AEs”), please refer to paragraph 6 of the Prevention of Money Laundering and Terrorist Financing Guideline issued by the Securities and Futures Commission for Associated Entities (“AML Guideline for Associated Entities”) which provides that AEs that are not authorized financial institutions are expected to have regard to the provisions of the AML Guideline as if they were themselves LCs. 
Note 4 The Bill, which is being scrutinized by the Legislative Council, includes the proposal to amend the requirements in relation to wire transfers; so consequential amendments will also be made to Chapter 10 of the AML Guideline, including relevant address verification requirements.
Note 5 In relation to AEs, please refer to paragraph 9 of the AML Guideline for Associated Entities.
Note 6 For example, intermediaries should pay attention to paragraph 5.4 of the Code of Conduct for Persons Licensed by or Registered with the Securities and Futures Commission (Code of Conduct, a.k.a. the Client Identity Rule).


Click here to download the document

Supplementary document:
Appendix


Page last updated : 11 Oct 2017

致中介人及有聯繫實體的通函 - 打擊洗錢/恐怖分子資金籌集
核實地址規定

2017年10月11日



致中介人及有聯繫實體的通函 

打擊洗錢/恐怖分子資金籌集

核實地址規定 

證券及期貨事務監察委員會(“證監會”)及其他有關當局註1正檢視適用於金融機構註2的打擊洗錢/恐怖分子資金籌集監管規定的各個範疇,當中包括《打擊洗錢及恐怖分子資金籌集指引》(“《打撃洗錢指引》”)註3所訂明的核實地址規定。

考慮到各持份者對打擊洗錢/恐怖分子資金籌集程序的意見及業界發展,證監會及其他有關當局同意刪除現時載於《打擊洗錢指引》的核實地址規定。因此,金融機構只須取得客戶及/或實益擁有人的地址資料,而無須取得證明文件作打擊洗錢/恐怖分子資金籌集用途。

為反映刪除核實地址規定而將予修改的《打擊洗錢指引》的相關段落已載於附錄。該《打擊洗錢指引》的修訂連同其他因《2017年打擊洗錢及恐怖分子資金籌集(金融機構)(修訂)條例草案》(“《條例草案》”)獲通過而作出的改動註4,預期將於2018年上半年刊憲。

在此期間,任何涉及到沒有核實地址的情況(當中包括附錄內所提及的段落的情況),將根據《打擊洗錢指引》第1.7段註5被證監會及其他有關當局視為有所依據。中介人及有聯繫實體可開始覆核及適當地採納有關改動。

中介人應注意在某些情況下,仍須就其他目的(如集團規定、其他本地或海外的法律和監管規定註6)核實客戶的地址。在該等情況下,中介人應清楚地將核實地址要求的原因向客戶交代。

如對本通函內容有任何疑問,請致電2231 1569與王凱琪女士聯絡。

證券及期貨事務監察委員會
中介機構部
中介機構監察科

連附件

SFO/IS/038/2017

註1 其他有關當局為:香港金融管理局、保險業監管局及香港海關。
註2 該等金融機構為:認可機構;持牌法團;經營長期業務或就長期業務提供意見的獲授權保險人、獲委任保險代理人及獲授權保險經紀;及持牌金錢服務經營者。
註3 就有聯繫實體而言,請參閱《證券及期貨事務監察委員會發出適用於有聯繫實體的防止洗錢及恐怖分子資金籌集的指引》(“《適用於有聯繫實體的打撃洗錢指引》”)第6段,有關作為非認可財務機構的有聯繫實體應如持牌法團一樣符合《打撃洗錢指引》的條文的規定。
註4 現正由立法會審議的《條例草案》包括修改有關電傳轉帳規定的建議;故需要對《打擊洗錢指引》第10章作出相應修訂,當中包括相關的核實地址規定。
註5 就有聯繫實體而言,請參閱《適用於有聯繫實體的打撃洗錢指引》第9段。
註6 例如中介人應留意《證券及期貨事務監察委員會持牌人或註冊人操守準則》第5.4段(亦稱為客戶身分規則)的規定。


按這裡下載文件

附錄文件:
附錄


最後更新日期 : 2017年10月11日