Circular to Licensed Corporations Engaged in Internet Trading
Implementation of the Guidelines for Reducing and Mitigating Hacking Risks Associated with Internet Trading

27 Oct 2017



The Securities and Futures Commission (SFC) today released Guidelines to Reduce and Mitigate Hacking Risks Associated with Internet Trading (Guidelines) issued under section 399 of the Securities Futures Ordinance. The Guidelines set out 20 baseline preventive, detective and other control requirements for the industry to improve cybersecurity resiliency1. One key control, the implementation of two-factor authentication for clients to login to their internet trading accounts, will take effect on 27 April 2018, while all other requirements will take effect on 27 July 2018.

The SFC also published Frequently Asked Questions to provide further guidance on the implementation of the Guidelines.

In addition, the SFC has worked with the Investor Education Centre (IEC), a subsidiary of the SFC, to launch a cybersecurity awareness campaign to promote good cybersecurity practices for clients to safeguard themselves from online trading threats. 

As part of the campaign, IEC has prepared online banners promoting two-factor authentication (2FA) for internet brokers to download and install on their websites as appropriate. Educational articles on 2FA and cybersecurity tips are also available on The Chin Family website.

If you have any queries regarding the contents of this circular, please contact Ms Remy Cheung at 2231 1186.

Please refer to the below for details:

Press release:

http://www.sfc.hk/edistributionWeb/gateway/EN/news-and-announcements/news/doc?refNo=17PR133

Consultation conclusions paper:

http://www.sfc.hk/edistributionWeb/gateway/EN/consultation/conclusion?refNo=17CP4

Frequently Asked Questions

http://www.sfc.hk/web/EN/faqs/intermediaries/supervision/cybersecurity/cybersecurity.html

Online 2FA banner:

https://goo.gl/pqas8w


Intermediaries Supervision Department
Intermediaries Division
Securities and Futures Commission

End

SFO/IS/041/2017

1 In Consultation Conclusions on Proposals to Reduce and Mitigate Hacking Risks Associated with Internet Trading, also issued by the SFC today, the application of Paragraph 18 and Schedule 7 of the Code of Conduct for Persons Licensed by or Registered with the SFC is expanded to cover intermediaries which conduct internet trading of securities that are not listed or traded on an exchange.


Click here to download the document


Page last updated : 27 Oct 2017

致從事互聯網交易的持牌法團的通函
實施《降低及紓減與互聯網交易相關的黑客入侵風險指引》

2017年10月27日



證券及期貨事務監察委員會(證監會)今天發布《降低及紓減與互聯網交易相關的黑客入侵風險指引》。該指引是根據《證券及期貨條例》第399條而發表,當中載列了20項預防性、偵測性及其他的基本監控規定,藉此加強業界在網絡保安方面的抵禦能力1。就客戶登入其互聯網交易帳戶實施雙重認證的這項關鍵監控措施,將於2018年4月27日生效;至於所有其他規定,則會於2018年7月27日生效。

證監會同時發表了常見問題,就實施該指引提供更多的指導。

此外,證監會與其附屬機構投資者教育中心合作,推出一系列提升網絡保安意識的活動,藉以推廣良好的網絡保安作業方式,保障客戶以免成為網上交易威脅的對象。

為配合該活動,投資者教育中心已製作推廣雙重認證的網上橫幅,供互聯網經紀行下載並張貼至它們的網站。有關雙重認證和網絡保安提示的教育文章亦已載於錢家有道網站。

如對本通函內容有任何疑問,請致電2231 1186與張月芬女士聯絡。

有關詳情請參閱以下連結:

新聞稿:

http://www.sfc.hk/edistributionWeb/gateway/TC/news-and-announcements/news/doc?refNo=17PR133

諮詢總結文件:

http://www.sfc.hk/edistributionWeb/gateway/TC/consultation/conclusion?refNo=17CP4

常見問題:

http://www.sfc.hk/web/TC/faqs/intemediaries/supervision/cybersecurity/cybersecurity.html

雙重認證網上橫幅:

https://goo.gl/57MS2r

證券及期貨事務監察委員會
中介機構部
中介機構監察科

SFO/IS/041/2017

1 在證監會今天同時發表的《有關建議降低及紓減與互聯網交易相關的黑客入侵風險的諮詢總結》內,《證券及期貨事務監察委員會持牌人或註冊人操守準則》第18段及附表7的適用範圍將擴大至涵蓋就並非在交易所上市或買賣的證券進行互聯網交易的中介人。


按這裡下載文件


最後更新日期 : 2017年10月27日