Circular to Licensed Corporations Engaged in Internet Trading
Good Industry Practices for IT Risk Management and Cybersecurity

27 Oct 2017



Licensed corporations engaged in internet trading (“internet brokers”) are advised that the Guidelines for Reducing and Mitigating Hacking Risks Associated with Internet Trading (“Guidelines”) are only minimum standards. Senior management, with the help of solution providers or technical consultants if needed, should ensure that all systems and controls are commensurate with the firm’s business needs and operations, and implement additional cybersecurity controls as necessary.

As additional guidance, the Appendix includes a list of good industry practices which internet brokers may wish to consider incorporating into their information technology (IT) and cybersecurity risk management frameworks. This list builds on the controls suggested in past circulars1 and supplements them with recommendations from an external cybersecurity expert2 based on the latest technological developments.

Internet brokers should note that the Guidelines, together with the list of good industry practices, supersede the suggested controls mentioned in past circulars. For the avoidance of doubt, internet brokers are still expected to complete the internet trading self-assessment checklist3 as part of their regular reviews of their internet trading systems.

The SFC would like to point out that the list of good practices is by no means exhaustive and internet brokers should always take into consideration their own circumstances as well as current and emerging cybersecurity threats when adopting these practices or their equivalent.

If you have any queries regarding the contents of this circular, please contact Ms Remy Cheung at 2231 1186.

Intermediaries Supervision Department
Intermediaries Division
Securities and Futures Commission

Enclosure

End

SFO/IS/042/2017


These include (i) Alert for Cybersecurity Threats dated 26 January 2017; (ii) Cybersecurity dated 23 March 2016; (iii) Tips on Protection of Online Trading Accounts dated 29 January 2016; (iv) Mitigating Cybersecurity Risks dated 27 November 2014; (v) Internet Trading – Information Security Management and System Adequacy dated 26 November 2014; and (vi) Internet Trading - Reducing Internet Hacking Risks dated 27 January 2014.
2 A multinational professional services firm, appointed by the SFC for its 2016 cybersecurity review, with many years of experience advising regulators and the financial services industry on cybersecurity issues. 
3
 Circular on Internet Trading – Internet Trading Self-Assessment Checklist dated 11 June 2015.


Click here to download the document

Supplementary document:
Appendix


Page last updated : 30 Oct 2017

致從事互聯網交易的持牌法團的通函
有關資訊科技風險管理及網絡保安的良好業界作業方式

2017年10月27日



從事互聯網交易的持牌法團(“互聯網經紀行”)務請注意,《降低及紓減與互聯網交易相關的黑客入侵風險指引》(“《指引》”)僅屬最低標準。高級管理層應確保所有系統及監控措施與公司的業務需及營運相稱,並視乎需要實施額外的網絡保安監控措施。如有需要,可尋求解決方案提供者或技術顧問的協助。

附錄載有一份良好業界作業方式的清單作為額外指引。互聯網經紀行可考慮將當中所列的良好作業方式納入其資訊科技及網絡保安風險管理框架內。該份清單是本會根據過往發出的通函1所提議的監控措施,並輔以外部網路保安專家2參照最新的科技發展所提供的建議所編製。

互聯網經紀行應留意,《指引》連同良好業界作業方式清單將會取代過往的通函所述的建議監控措施。為免生疑問,互聯網經紀行仍要填妥互聯網交易自我評估查檢表3,作為定期檢視其互聯網交易系統工作的一部分。

證監會謹此重申,該份良好作業方式清單並非鉅細無遺。互聯網經紀行在採納有關作業方式或同等措施時,應同時考慮其本身的情況和當前及新冒起的網絡保安威脅。

如對本通函內容有任何疑問,請致電2231 1186與張月芬女士聯絡。

證券及期貨事務監察委員會
中介機構部
中介機構監察科

連附件

SFO/IS/042/2017


1 有關通函包括:(i) 日期為2017年1月26日的《網絡保安威脅警報》;(ii) 日期為2016年3月23日的《網絡保安》;(iii) 日期為2016年1月29日的《有關保障網上交易帳戶安全的提示》;(iv) 日期為2014年11月27日的《緩解網絡保安風險》;(v) 日期為2014年11月26日的《互聯網交易-資訊保安管理及系統的充足性》;及(vi) 日期為2014年1月27日的《互聯網交易-減低互聯網遭黑客入侵的風險》。
2
證監會就2016年網絡保安檢視而委任的外部網絡保安專家是一家跨國專業服務公司,在向金融服務業及監管機構提供網絡保安相關事宜的意見方面擁有多年經驗。
3
日期為2015年6月11日的《有關互聯網交易的通函-互聯網交易自我評估查檢表》。


按這裡下載文件

附錄文件:
附錄


最後更新日期 : 2017年10月30日