SFC notifies the industry of a thematic review on
prime services and related equity derivatives activities

30 Oct 2017



The SFC commenced a thematic review on prime services1 and related equity derivatives activities in Hong Kong with key objectives to identify potential conduct issues arising from the practice adopted by prime brokers, to assess the internal controls in place, and to provide guidance on how the risks are managed.

Prime services have become a key revenue stream for financial institutions amid the growth of the hedge fund industry as well as the asset management business in Hong Kong.  Major prime brokers have strong presence in Hong Kong to provide services to hedge funds and other institutional clients, including Asian clients and global clients trading through the Stock Connect and access products.  Many of the client servicing activities and related internal control functions and risk management activities related to prime services are carried out in Hong Kong. 

In light of this development, the SFC decided to conduct the thematic review focusing on the following areas:

As the operating model of prime services is unique, the SFC has engaged an external consultant to assist in conducting this thematic review.  The thematic review will be conducted through a combination of industry survey, meetings and on-site inspections.  As part of the thematic review, the SFC will work together with the external consultant to:

The findings of the review would form the basis for the SFC to issue further guidance to the market.  SFC will also share the findings of the thematic review with the industry, where appropriate. 

Should you have any queries regarding the contents of this circular, please contact Ms. Denise Chan on 2231 1188.  

Intermediaries Supervision Department
Intermediaries Division
Securities and Futures Commission

End

SFO/IS/044/2017

  

1 Prime services refer to one-stop-shop services, including trade execution and clearing, securities borrowing and lending, custody, financing solutions, reporting, capital introduction, consulting etc., provided to institutional clients such as hedge fund managers. Financial institutions that offer prime services are referred to as prime brokers.

 


Click here to download the document


Page last updated : 30 Oct 2017

證監會通知業界有關主要經紀服務及
相關股票衍生工具活動的主題檢視事宜

2017年10月30日



證監會就本港的主要經紀服務1及相關股票衍生工具活動展開了主題檢視。是次檢視重點目標在於識別可能因主要經紀商的經營手法而產生的操守問題;評估現有內部監控;及對相關風險的管理情況提供指引。

隨著近年對沖基金業與資產管理活動的擴展,主要經紀服務已成為金融機構的主要收入之一。據我們了解,各大主要經紀商均在香港建立了穩固的業務基礎,以服務對沖基金及其他機構客戶,當中包括亞洲客戶及在亞洲區透過滬港通及深港通或其他連接產品進行交易的環球客戶。此外,與主要經紀服務有關的客戶服務,以至相關的內部監控職能及風險管理活動大多都是在香港執行的。

鑑於上述的市場發展,證監會決定針對以下各範疇進行主題檢視:

由於主要經紀服務的營運模式獨特,證監會已委聘一家外部顧問去協助是次主題檢視。是次主題檢視將透過問卷調查、會面及現場視察等方式進行。在進行主題檢視的過程中,證監會將聯同外部顧問:

是次檢視的結果將成為本會對市場提供進一步指引的基礎。本會亦將會在適當時候與業界分享是次主題檢視的結果。

如對本通函的內容有任何疑問,請致電2231 1188與陳麗明女士聯絡。

證券及期貨事務監察委員會
中介機構部
中介機構監察科

SFO/IS/044/2017

  

1 主要經紀服務指向機構客戶(例如對沖基金經理)提供的一站式服務,包括交易執行及結算、證券借貸、託管、融資解決方案、匯報、引入資金、諮詢服務等。提供主要經紀服務的金融機構稱為主要經紀商。

 


按這裡下載文件


最後更新日期 : 2017年10月30日