Joint reviews by HKMA and SFC on managing conflicts of interest in financial groups

24 Nov 2017



This circular shares with intermediaries1 some key observations and good practices in relation to potential conflicts of interest that may arise from the sale of in-house products2

Conflicts of interest are a major regulatory focus for both the Hong Kong Monetary Authority (HKMA) and the Securities and Futures Commission (SFC).  In Hong Kong, the business conducted by conglomerate financial institutions through their Registered Institutions (RI) and Licensed Corporations (LC) ranges from manufacturing and managing financial products to distributing them to clients.  Conflicts of interest may arise during the day-to-day operations of the intermediaries3.  It is therefore fundamental for protecting the interests of clients that conflicts of interest are identified and managed.  In essence, intermediaries should act in the best interests of clients4, disclose the potential conflicts and take all reasonable steps to ensure fair treatment of clients, if the conflicts of interest cannot be avoided5.  In particular, intermediaries should take into account clients’ interests when recommending or soliciting in-house products to the clients or making discretionary investment decisions on clients’ behalf. 

To assess the effectiveness of controls in respect of conflicts of interest, the HKMA and the SFC have jointly conducted thematic reviews on the sale of in-house products by intermediaries within the same financial group.  The scope of the joint thematic reviews included order execution, product due diligence, selling processes, the management of discretionary accounts, management supervision, and controls and monitoring.  The reviews revealed that, while intermediaries in general had put in place policies and procedures in respect of conflicts of interest, some key areas warrant further attention by intermediaries. Details are set out in the Annex.  In respect of the issues identified, the intermediaries concerned have been required to undertake remedial actions.

Senior management of intermediaries are reminded that they bear the primary responsibility for ensuring the maintenance of appropriate standards of conduct and adherence to proper policies and procedures.  They should holistically review the robustness and effectiveness of the controls relating to the identification and management of potential conflicts of interest arising from the sale of in-house products, and ensure that intermediaries comply with relevant regulatory requirements pursuant to General Principle 9 of the Code of Conduct and Part I of the Internal Control Guidelines6.  Intermediaries are also encouraged to adopt the good practices, as applicable, to manage potential conflicts of interest in carrying out regulated activities on a group basis.  

Should you have any queries regarding the contents of this circular, please contact Ms Eloise Pun at the Banking Conduct Department of the HKMA on 2878 1903 or Ms Lorraine Chan at the Intermediaries Supervision Department of the SFC on 2231 1751.

Banking Conduct Department            Intermediaries Supervision Department, Intermediaries Division
Hong Kong Monetary Authority          Securities and Futures Commission

Enclosure

End

SFO/IS/045/2017


1 As defined in Schedule 1 to the Securities and Futures Ordinance (Cap.571), “intermediary” means a licensed corporation or a registered institution.
2  In-house products refer to various investment products that are manufactured and distributed by different entities within the same financial group, including but not limited to, structured products and investment funds.
3  For example, RI and/or related entities provide wealth management and/or private banking related services to their clients, while LC and/or related entities provide asset management related services as well as execution and investment banking services to RI and/or related entities.
4 General Principle 1 of the Code of Conduct for Persons Licensed by or Registered with the Securities and Futures Commission (“Code of Conduct”).
5 General Principle 6 and Paragraph 10.1 of the Code of Conduct.
6  Management, Supervision and Internal Control Guidelines for Persons Licensed by or Registered with the Securities and Futures Commission.


Click here to download the document

Supplementary document:
Annex


Page last updated : 24 Nov 2017

金管局與證監會就金融集團的利益衝突管理進行聯合檢視

2017年11月24日



本通函就同一金融集團銷售自家產品1可能產生的潛在利益衝突,與中介人2分享所觀察到的主要事項及良好手法。

利益衝突是香港金融管理局(金管局)和證券及期貨事務監察委員會(證監會)的主要監管重點。在香港,金融集團透過其轄下的註冊機構及持牌法團經營的業務,由研發及管理金融產品到向客戶分銷這些產品等。利益衝突可能在中介人的日常運作中產生3。因此,識別和管理利益衝突對保障客戶利益至為重要。主要來說,就算利益衝突無法避免,中介人亦應以維護客戶最佳利益的方式行事4,披露潛在的衝突,及採取一切合理步驟確保客戶獲得公平對待5。具體而言,中介人在就自家產品向客戶作出推介、招攬或代表客戶作出委託投資決策時,應考慮客戶的利益。

為了評估與利益衝突有關的管控措施的有效性,金管局與證監會對同一金融集團內的中介人的自家產品銷售活動進行聯合主題檢視。該聯合主題檢視的範圍包括交易指示的執行、產品盡職審查、銷售過程、委託帳戶的管理、管理層的監察、管控及監督。檢視結果顯示,雖然中介人普遍已設立處理利益衝突的政策和程序,但亦有一些主要範疇仍值得中介人進一步關注。詳情載於附件。我們已要求有關的中介人就所識別的問題進行糾正。

中介人的高級管理層應注意,他們在確保維持適當的操守標準及遵守恰當的政策和程序方面,承擔首要責任。他們應就識別和管理自家產品銷售可能產生的潛在利益衝突,對有關的管控措施的穩健性和有效性作出全面檢討,並確保中介人遵守《操守準則》第9項一般原則及《內部監控指引》6第I部的相關監管規定。我們亦鼓勵中介人採納良好而適用的手法,以便在進行受規管活動時,於集團的整體層面管理潛在利益衝突。

如對本通函的內容有任何疑問,請致電2878 1903聯絡金管局銀行操守部的潘寶儀女士,或2231 1751聯絡證監會中介機構監察科的陳義羲女士。

香港金融管理局                                              證券及期貨事務監察委員會
銀行操守部                                                   中介機構部中介機構監察科

連附件

SFO/IS/045/2017


1 自家產品是指由同一金融集團內不同公司研發及分銷的各類投資產品,包括但不限於結構性產品和投資基金。
2 按照《證券及期貨條例》(第571章)附表1的定義,“中介人”指持牌法團或註冊機構。
3 例如,註冊機構及/或相關公司向其客戶提供財富管理及/或私人銀行相關服務,而持牌法團及/或相關公司向註冊機構及/或相關公司提供資產管理相關服務以及執行交易指示和投資銀行方面的服務。
4《證券及期貨事務監察委員會持牌人或註冊人操守準則》(“《操守準則》”)第1項一般原則。
5《操守準則》第6項一般原則及第10.1段。
6《適用於證券及期貨事務監察委員會持牌人或註冊人的管理、監督及內部監控指引》。


按這裡下載文件

附錄文件:
附件


最後更新日期 : 2017年11月24日