Circular to Licensed Corporations and Associated Entities - Anti-Money Laundering / Counter-Terrorist Financing
(1) FATF Statement on Democratic People’s Republic of Korea and Iran
(2) FATF Statement on Improving Global AML/CFT Compliance: On-Going Process
(3) Outcomes from the Meeting of the FATF Plenary, 1-3 November 2017
(4) United Nations (Anti-Terrorism Measures) Ordinance

1 Dec 2017



Circular to Licensed Corporations and Associated Entities 

Anti-Money Laundering / Counter-Terrorist Financing 

(1)  FATF Statement on Democratic People’s Republic of Korea and Iran

(2)  FATF Statement on Improving Global AML/CFT Compliance: On-Going Process

(3)  Outcomes from the Meeting of the FATF Plenary, 1-3 November 2017

(4)  United Nations (Anti-Terrorism Measures) Ordinance

(1)  FATF Statement on Democratic People’s Republic of Korea and Iran

Further to our circular issued on 30 June 2017, this is to inform you that the Financial Action Task Force (“FATF”) issued an updated statement on 3 November 2017 identifying jurisdictions that have strategic deficiencies in their anti-money laundering and combating the financing of terrorism (“AML/CFT”) regimes.

The statement Note 1 has been separated into two sections.

(i)   Jurisdiction subject to a call on its members and other jurisdictions to apply counter-measures

Democratic People’s Republic of Korea (“DPRK”)

The FATF remains concerned by the DPRK’s failure to address the significant deficiencies in its AML/CFT regime and the serious threat this poses to the integrity of the international financial system.  Further, the FATF has serious concerns with the threat posed by the DPRK’s illicit activities related to the proliferation of weapons of mass destruction (“WMDs”) and its financing.  The FATF calls on its members and other jurisdictions to continue to apply counter-measures and targeted financial sanctions in accordance with applicable United Nations Security Council (“UNSC”) Resolutions to protect the international financial system from the on-going and substantial money laundering, terrorist financing and WMD proliferation financing risks emanating from the jurisdiction.

Licensed corporations (“LCs”) and associated entities (“AEs”) should give special attention to business relationships and transactions with the DPRK, including DPRK companies, financial institutions and those acting on their behalf, and subject them to increased scrutiny and enhanced due diligence measures.

In addition, LCs and AEs are reminded that it is an offence under section 4 of the Weapons of Mass Destruction (Control of Provision of Services) Ordinance (Cap. 526) for a person to provide any services where he believes or suspects, on reasonable grounds, that those services may be connected to WMD proliferation.

(ii)  Jurisdiction subject to a call on its members and other jurisdictions to apply enhanced due diligence measures proportionate to the risks arising from the jurisdiction

Iran

In June 2016, the FATF welcomed Iran’s adoption of an action plan to address its strategic AML/CFT deficiencies and suspended counter-measures for twelve months accordingly. In light of Iran’s demonstration of its political commitment and the relevant steps it took, the FATF decided in June 2017 to continue the suspension of counter-measures. The action plan will expire in January 2018 and FATF will assess progress made by Iran and take all appropriate actions.

Until Iran fully implements the measures required to address the deficiencies identified in the action plan, the FATF remains concerned with the risk of terrorist financing emanating from Iran and the threat this poses to the international financial system.  The FATF calls on its members and other jurisdictions to continue to apply enhanced due diligence measures proportionate to the risks arising from the jurisdiction.

LCs and AEs should apply enhanced due diligence measures to business relationships and transactions with natural and legal persons from Iran. LCs and AEs are further advised that the type of enhanced due diligence measures applied should be effective and proportionate to the risks, and in line with the standards as specified in the FATF statement Note 1 .

(2)  FATF Statement on Improving Global AML/CFT Compliance: On-Going Process

In addition, please be informed that as part of the on-going process to improve global AML/CFT compliance, the FATF has set out in a separate statement an updated list of jurisdictions that have strategic AML/CFT deficiencies for which they have developed an action plan with the FATF.  The FATF will closely monitor the implementation of those action plans and encourage its members to consider the information presented in the statement which can be found on the website of the FATF (http://www.fatf-gafi.org/publications/high-riskandnon-cooperativejurisdictions/documents/fatf-compliance-november-2017.html).

As the FATF will continue to assess the progress made by these jurisdictions in addressing the deficiencies in their AML/CFT systems and issue updated statements from time to time, LCs and AEs are reminded to browse the website of the FATF for the latest information.

(3)  Outcomes from the Meeting of the FATF Plenary, 1-3 November 2017 

In addition to the statements in (1) and (2) above, the FATF has also published various other outcomes of its recent Plenary Meeting which may be of interest to LCs and AEs. They include, for example, (i) a statement about the proliferation financing risk emanating from the DPRK, stressing global obligations and the importance of robust implementation of the FATF standards and relevant UNSC Resolutions, and reiterating FATF’s relevant international standards related to proliferation financing as well as FATF’s call upon its members and appeal to all jurisdictions to effectively implement the relevant FATF recommendations and UNSC Resolutions and (ii) work on combatting terrorist financing, including the adoption of a report on the financing of recruitment for terrorist purposes. Further information can be found on the website of FATF (http://www.fatf-gafi.org/publications/fatfgeneral/documents/outcomes-plenary-november-2017.html).

(4)  United Nations (Anti-Terrorism Measures) Ordinance

Further to our circular issued on 20 October 2017, an updated list specifying terrorists and terrorist associates designated by the UNSC was published under section 4 of the United Nations (Anti-Terrorism Measures) Ordinance (“the UNATMO”) (Cap. 575) in the Gazette on 1 December 2017 (G.N. 8956 of 2017).  A relevant press release issued by the UNSC, reflecting the updates since the previous list was published in the Gazette (G.N. 7654 of 2017), is attached in Attachment 1.

The aforesaid list can be found on the Government’s website (http://www.gld.gov.hk/egazette/pdf/20172148/egn201721488956.pdf).

LCs and AEs should check the names in the above list against their records, and report any transactions or relationships they have or have had with the named persons or entities to the Joint Financial Intelligence Unit.

Furthermore, LCs and AEs are reminded to refer to Chapter 6 of the Guideline on Anti-Money Laundering and Counter-Terrorist Financing (“AML Guideline”) which contains guidance on the appropriate measures that LCs and AEs should take to ensure compliance with the UNATMO Note 2.

Should you have any queries regarding the contents of this circular, please contact Ms Kiki Wong on 2231 1569.

Intermediaries Supervision Department
Intermediaries Division
Securities and Futures Commission

Enclosure

End

SFO/IS/046/2017

Note 1 The statement can be found on the website of the FATF (http://www.fatf-gafi.org/publications/high-riskandnon-cooperativejurisdictions/documents/public-statement-november-2017.html).
Note 2
Under paragraph 6 of the Prevention of Money Laundering and Terrorist Financing Guideline issued by the Securities and Futures Commission for Associated Entities, AEs that are not authorized financial institutions are expected to have regard to the provisions of the AML Guideline as if they were themselves LCs.


Click here to download the document

Supplementary document:
Attachment 1


Page last updated : 1 Dec 2017

致持牌法團及有聯繫實體的通函 - 打擊洗錢/恐怖分子資金籌集
(1) 財務特別行動組織有關朝鮮民主主義人民共和國及伊朗的聲明
(2) 財務特別行動組織有關改善全球打擊洗錢/恐怖分子資金籌集的合規情況的聲明:持續進展
(3) 財務特別行動組織2017年11月1至3日全體會議所取得的成果
(4) 《聯合國(反恐怖主義措施)條例》

2017年12月1日



致持牌法團及有聯繫實體的通函 

打擊洗錢/恐怖分子資金籌集 

(1) 財務特別行動組織有關朝鮮民主主義人民共和國及伊朗的聲明

(2) 財務特別行動組織有關改善全球打擊洗錢/恐怖分子資金籌集的合規情況的聲明:持續進展

(3) 財務特別行動組織2017年11月1至3日全體會議所取得的成果

(4) 《聯合國(反恐怖主義措施)條例》

(1)  財務特別行動組織有關朝鮮民主主義人民共和國及伊朗的聲明

繼本會在2017年6月30日發出相關通函後,現通知持牌法團及有聯繫實體,財務特別行動組織(“特別組織”)已在2017年11月3日發出一份最新聲明,識別出其打擊洗錢及恐怖分子資金籌集制度存在策略性缺失的司法管轄區。

該份聲明註1分為兩部分。

(i)   因特別組織對其成員及其他司法管轄區的呼籲而面臨被採取針對措施的司法管轄區

朝鮮民主主義人民共和國

特別組織對於朝鮮民主主義人民共和國未能處理其打擊洗錢/恐怖分子資金籌集制度內的重大缺失,以及這情況對國際金融體系的健全性所構成的嚴重威脅,仍表示關注。此外,特別組織對於朝鮮民主主義人民共和國有關大規模毀滅武器擴散的非法活動及其資金籌集所構成的威脅,表示嚴重關注。特別組織呼籲其成員及其他司法管轄區繼續採取針對措施,和根據適用的聯合國安全理事會(“聯合國安理會”)決議繼續採取針對性金融制裁,保障國際金融體系,以免因朝鮮民主主義人民共和國持續出現重大的洗錢、恐怖分子資金籌集及大規模毀滅武器擴散資金籌集的風險而受損。

持牌法團及有聯繫實體應特別留意與朝鮮民主主義人民共和國(包括其公司、金融機構及代表該等公司及金融機構行事的人士)之間的業務關係及交易,並對該等公司、機構及人士加強審察和採取更嚴格的盡職審查措施。

此外,持牌法團及有聯繫實體應注意,根據《大規模毀滅武器(提供服務的管制)條例》(第526章)第4條,如某人向他人提供任何服務,而該人基於合理理由相信或懷疑該等服務可能與大規模毀滅武器擴散有關,該人即屬犯罪。

(ii)  因特別組織對其成員及其他司法管轄區的呼籲而面臨被採取更嚴格的盡職審查措施的司法管轄區,而有關措施與該司法管轄區所產生的風險相稱

伊朗

2016年6月,特別組織歡迎伊朗採納了行動計劃,以處理其在打擊洗錢/恐怖分子資金籌集方面的策略性缺失,故此暫停對伊朗的針對措施,為期十二個月。鑑於伊朗顯示出政治決心,並已採取相關步驟,特別組織故在2017年6月決定繼續暫停針對措施。行動計劃將於2018年1月屆滿,特別組織將會評估伊朗所取得的進展,並採取一切適當行動。

直至伊朗全面執行所需措施以處理行動計劃所識別的缺失為止,特別組織對於伊朗出現恐怖分子資金籌集的風險,以及這情況對國際金融體系所構成的威脅,仍表示關注。特別組織呼籲其成員及其他司法管轄區,對於伊朗所產生的風險,繼續採取與風險相稱的更嚴格的盡職審查措施。

持牌法團及有聯繫實體應對與來自伊朗的自然人及法人之間的業務關係及交易,採取更嚴格的盡職審查措施,並應注意所採取的更嚴格的盡職審查措施應具有成效及與風險相稱,及符合特別組織的聲明註1所列明的標準。

(2)  財務特別行動組織有關改善全球打擊洗錢/恐怖分子資金籌集的合規情況的聲明:持續進展

此外,為了持續改善全球打擊洗錢/恐怖分子資金籌集的合規情況,特別組織在另一份聲明內提供最新名單,列出在打擊洗錢/恐怖分子資金籌集方面出現策略性缺失,但已就此與特別組織制訂行動計劃的司法管轄區。特別組織將會密切監察有關行動計劃的實施情況,並促請其成員參考載於特別組織的網站(http://www.fatf-gafi.org/publications/high-riskandnon-cooperativejurisdictions/documents/fatf-compliance-november-2017.html)的聲明所提述的資料。

特別組織將會繼續評估這些司法管轄區在處理其打擊洗錢/恐怖分子資金籌集制度缺失方面的進展,並會不時發表最新聲明,因此持牌法團及有聯繫實體應瀏覽特別組織的網站,以查閱最新資料。

(3)  財務特別行動組織20171113日全體會議所取得的成果 

除了上文(1)及(2)中的聲明外,特別組織亦發表了在近期舉行的全體會議上取得,而持牌法團及有聯繫實體可能有興趣知道的多項其他成果,當中包括(舉例說)(i)關於來自朝鮮民主主義人民共和國的擴散資金籌集風險的聲明,當中強調全球嚴格執行特別組織標準和聯合國安理會決議的責任和重要性,重申特別組織有關擴散資金籌集的國際標準,及特別組織對其成員和所有司法管轄區的呼籲,要求它們切實執行特別組織的相關建議和聯合國安理會決議;及(ii)打擊恐怖分子資金籌集的工作,包括採納一份有關如何提供資金以招募恐怖分子的報告。進一步資料可於特別組織的網站(http://www.fatf-gafi.org/publications/fatfgeneral/documents/outcomes-plenary-november-2017.html)取覽。

(4)  聯合國(反恐怖主義措施)條例》

繼本會於2017年10月20日發出相關通函後,一份由聯合國安理會所指定的恐怖分子及恐怖分子的有聯繫者的最新名單,已於2017年12月1日根據《聯合國(反恐怖主義措施)條例》(“《反恐條例》”)(第575章)第4條在憲報刊登(2017年第8956號政府公告)。聯合國安理會會發出的一份相關新聞公告載於附件1,該新聞公告反映了自上次的名單在憲報刊登(2017年第7654號政府公告)後出現的更新。

上述名單可於政府網站(http://www.gld.gov.hk/egazette/pdf/20172148/cgn201721488956.pdf)取覽。

持牌法團及有聯繫實體應查核其紀錄中有否出現上述名單內的姓名或名稱,並向聯合財富情報組報告其現時或過往與該等被指名人士或實體的任何交易或關係。

此外,持牌法團及有聯繫實體應參閱《打擊洗錢及恐怖分子資金籌集指引》(“《打撃洗錢指引》”)第6章,其中載有持牌法團及有聯繫實體應採取的適當措施的指引,以確保遵從《反恐條例》註2

如對本通函內容有任何疑問,請致電2231 1569與王凱琪女士聯絡。

證券及期貨事務監察委員會
中介機構部
中介機構監察科

連附件

SFO/IS/046/2017

註1 該份聲明可於特別組織的網站(http://www.fatf-gafi.org/publications/high-riskandnon-cooperativejurisdictions/documents/public-statement-november-2017.html)取覽。
註2 根據《證券及期貨事務監察委員會發出適用於有聯繫實體的防止洗錢及恐怖分子資金籌集的指引》第6段,作為非認可財務機構的有聯繫實體應如持牌法團一樣符合《打撃洗錢指引》的條文。


按這裡下載文件

附錄文件:
附件1(只供英文版)


最後更新日期 : 2017年12月1日