Circular to licensed corporations on liquidity risk management

18 Dec 2017



The purpose of this circular is to provide additional guidance to licensed corporations (“LCs”) on establishing and maintaining prudential risk management practices for client money, liquidity and the concentration risks of funding sources within group-affiliated entities.

Hong Kong is an international financial center and Asia trading hub, and as such the securities market is vulnerable to large fluctuations in global market conditions. A sharp swing in market sentiment may cause a widespread liquidity crunch. To ensure financial stability, preventive measures should be implemented to address these risks as far as possible.

The Securities and Futures Commission (“SFC”) remains focused on whether LCs have rigorously evaluated their liquidity needs and developed contingency plans to weather market-wide or idiosyncratic stress. LCs are expected to proactively manage liquidity risks, including concentration limits for counterparties[1]. In addition, General Principle 8 and paragraph 11 of the Code of Conduct[2] require LCs to ensure that client assets are adequately safeguarded. Additional risk management should be considered with respect to the deposit locations of client money and sources of funding.

To better safeguard client assets, many regulators globally have tightened the requirements for client money protection. For example, some regulators require financial institutions to report the amount of client money deposited with different entities, and some require that the amount of client money deposited with an individual financial institution be less than a certain portion of total client money or that cash deposits held with any particular bank be limited to the net capital value of the firm’s normal day-to-day operating balances.

Results of fact-finding exercise

The SFC recently conducted a fact-finding exercise[3] on selected LCs with group-affiliated entities. Two major risk areas were: (i) protection of client money kept with affiliated banks, and (ii) reliance on funding from affiliated group entities.

This circular sets out the SFC’s regulatory concerns and the measures it expects of LCs. Examples of good practices are provided.

1.  Safeguard client money

LCs should keep client money in segregated accounts at all times. However, client money maintained at the LC’s affiliated financial institutions (“FIs”) may be subject to the discretion of the affiliated banking group when any one or more of the connected FIs encounter financial difficulties. Placing and segregating client money with non-affiliated FIs would better safeguard client money.   

In the fact-finding exercise, we noted cases where LCs predominantly deposited client money at affiliated FIs in Hong Kong.

To ensure client assets are adequately safeguarded, the SFC would like to remind LCs to establish, maintain and adhere to prudential risk management practices to safeguard client money, and in particular to set and enforce concentration limits for affiliated FIs.  

LCs should safeguard client money by:

Examples of good practice:

    • Deposit more than 50% of client money in non-affiliated FIs in Hong Kong.

    • Regularly review and diversify client money into FIs affiliated with different banking groups to reduce concentration risk.

    • Deposit client money with FIs or their affiliates which are in good financial standing and promptly respond to any change in market conditions.

    • Formulate a risk assessment framework and stress testing policy to regularly assess overall risks including the credit ratings of the FIs and their affiliates where client money is deposited.

To fulfill the expectations in this guidance, LCs may consider similar practices to ensure sufficient diversification of client money for liquidity risk management.

2.  Funding sources

Abrupt changes in market conditions may trigger a crisis which quickly soaks up liquidity and these conditions may last for an extended period of time. An LC would be adversely affected when it relies on a single or limited funding source.

Our fact-finding exercise found that although many of the LCs had at least one credit facility with multiple FIs, some LCs might obtain funding solely or predominantly from group-affiliated entities.

To properly manage the risks associated with the LCs’ businesses[4] and to ensure the contingent funds available to LCs are adequate to address liquidity shortfalls in a volatile market situation, LCs should not rely on a single source of funding from within their group. LCs should formulate a diversification strategy which provides for more than one source of funding, conduct regular reviews of existing funding sources including external sources and intragroup support and, where appropriate, obtain additional sources of contingent liquidity from non-affiliated FIs.

Examples of good practice:

    • Obtain multiple credit facilities from non-affiliated FIs to limit reliance on the parent group.

    • Secure committed lines of credit from more than one banking group to ensure the availability of stable contingency funds under adverse situations.

    • Review the reliability of existing funding sources and arrange credit lines with multiple sources to avoid the idiosyncratic risk of relying on a single source.

    • Regularly review independent funding available from non-affiliated FIs and formulate a liquidity contingency plan in the event of a credit rating downgrade or a material adverse event affecting the liquidity of the parent or an affiliate.

LCs may consider similar approaches to ensure independent funding sources are available to enhance liquidity under various market conditions.

Should you wish to clarify any aspects of this circular or in case of doubt, please contact the relevant case officers in charge.

Intermediaries Supervision Department
Intermediaries Division
Securities and Futures Commission

End

SFO/IS/049/2017


[1] Paragraphs 32-34 in the Appendix of the Management, Supervision and Internal Control Guidelines For Persons Licensed by or Registered with the Securities and Futures Commission.
[2] Code of Conduct for Persons Licensed by or Registered with the Securities and Futures Commission.
[3] The exercise was conducted on selected LCs with affiliated entities within a banking group to collect information about the deposit locations of client money and the availability of independent funding sources.
[4] Paragraph 14.1 of the Code of Conduct.


Click here to download the document


Page last updated : 18 Dec 2017

致持牌法團有關流動資金風險管理的通函

2017年12月18日



本通函旨在向持牌法團就其在集團內聯屬公司的客戶款項、流動資金以及資金來源的集中風險,提供有關建立及維持審慎風險管理作業手法的額外指引。

香港是國際金融中心及亞洲的貿易樞紐,因此其證券市場容易受全球市場環境的大幅波動所影響。市場情緒的急劇波動可能會引致大規模的流動資金緊縮。持牌法團應盡量實施預防措施來應對這些風險,以確保財政穩定。

證券及期貨事務監察委員會(“證監會”)依然關注持牌法團是否已嚴格評估其流動資金的需要及制訂應急計劃,以承受來自市場各方面的壓力或特殊壓力。持牌法團應主動管理流動資金風險,包括交易對手的集中風險限額[1]。此外,《操守準則》[2]第8項一般原則及第11段規定,持牌法團須確保客戶的資產獲得充分的保障。持牌法團亦應就客戶款項的存放地點和資金來源,考慮進行額外的風險管理。

為了更妥善地保障客戶資產,全球多個監管機構都已收緊客戶款項保障方面的規定。例如,有些監管機構規定金融機構須匯報其存放於不同機構的客戶款項的數額,而有些則要求存放於個別金融機構的客戶款項的數額須低於客戶款項總額的某個特定比例,或者在任何一間銀行持有的現金存款不得超過該機構一般日常營運結餘的資本淨值。

實況調查的結果

證監會近期對集團內有聯屬公司的選定持牌法團展開實況調查[3]。兩大主要風險範圍是:(1)對存放於聯屬銀行的客戶款項的保障;及(2)對集團內聯屬公司提供資金的依賴。

本通函闡述證監會關注的監管事項以及本會期望持牌法團應採取的措施,當中亦提供了一些良好作業手法的例子。

1.  對客戶款項的保障

持牌法團必須時刻將客戶款項存放於獨立帳戶中。然而,當關聯金融機構中的任何一家或多家機構遭遇財困時,聯屬銀行集團可能對於存放在持牌法團的聯屬金融機構的客戶款項擁有酌情決定權。若將客戶款項分散存放在不同的非聯屬金融機構,將會令客戶款項獲得更妥善的保障。

在實況調查中,我們注意到持牌法團主要將客戶款項存放在香港的聯屬金融機構。

為確保客戶資產獲得充分保障,證監會謹提醒持牌法團建立、維持並遵循有關審慎風險管理的作業手法,特別是制定及執行針對聯屬金融機構的集中風險限額,以確保客戶款項獲得充分保障。

持牌法團應透過以下方式來保障客戶的款項:

良好作業手法的例子:

      • 將50%以上的客戶款項存於香港的非聯屬金融機構。

      • 定期檢視及把客戶款項分散存入不同銀行集團的聯屬金融機構,以減低集中風險。

      • 將客戶款項存放在財政狀況良好的金融機構或其聯屬公司,並迅速應對市場情況的轉變。

      • 制訂風險評估框架及壓力測試政策,以定期評估整體風險,包括存放客戶款項的金融機構及其聯屬公司的信貸評級。

為達到本指引內的期望,持牌法團可考慮採用類似的作業手法確保客戶款項得以充分地分散存放,以管理流動資金風險。

2.  資金來源

市場狀況突如其來的變化可能會觸發危機,導致流動資金被迅速吸走,而有關情況或會維持一段長時間。如果持牌法團倚賴單一或有限的資金來源,便會受到負面的影響。

我們在實況調查中發現,雖然很多持牌法團已在多家金融機構設立最少一項信貸融通,但某些持牌法團可能純粹或主要從集團聯屬公司取得資金。

為了妥善管理與持牌法團業務相關的風險[4],並確保持牌法團可取得足夠的應急資金以應付在波動不穩的市況下流動資金短缺的情況,持牌法團不應倚賴來自集團內的單一資金來源。持牌法團應制訂一個含多個資金來源的多元化策略,並對現有資金來源(包括外來的資金及集團內的支援)進行定期檢討,以及從非聯屬金融機構取得額外應急流動資金的來源(如適用)。

良好作業手法的例子:

      • 在非聯屬金融機構取得多項信貸融通以減低對母集團的倚賴。

      • 取得多於一個銀行集團承諾提供信貸額度以確保在市況惡化時可獲得穩定的應急資金。

      • 檢查現有資金來源是否可靠,並從多個來源分別取得信貸額度,避免因倚賴單一來源而引致特殊風險。

      • 定期檢視非聯屬金融機構可提供的獨立資金,並在信貸評級下調或發生影響母公司或聯屬公司的流動資金的重大不利事件時制定流動資金應變方案。

持牌法團可考慮以類似的方法確保有可用的獨立資金來源,以在不同的市況下增加流動資金。

如閣下希望清楚了解本通函的任何方面或如有疑問,請聯絡負責的相關個案主任。

 

證券及期貨事務監察委員會
中介機構部
中介機構監察科

SFO/IS/049/2017

 

[1] 《適用於證券及期貨事務監察委員會持牌人或註冊人的管理、監督及內部監控指引》附錄第32至34段。
[2]
《證券及期貨事務監察委員會持牌人或註冊人操守準則》。
[3]
  是次調查的對象是在銀行集團內有聯屬公司的選定持牌法團,目的是收集有關客戶款項的存放地點以及是否有獨立資金來源的資料。
[4]
《操守準則》第14.1段。


按這裡下載文件


最後更新日期 : 2017年12月18日