Circular to Licensed Corporations and Associated Entities - Anti-Money Laundering / Counter-Terrorist Financing
Suspicious Transaction Report

11 Jan 2018



Circular to Licensed Corporations and Associated Entities

Anti-Money Laundering / Counter-Terrorist Financing

Suspicious Transaction Report

Further to our circular issued on 9 December 2015 Note 1 which reminds licensed corporations (“LCs”) and associated entities (“AEs”) to ensure that any suspicious transaction report submitted by them contains accurate, sufficient information of the transaction, person and entity involved, as well as a reasonably detailed analysis of the suspicion triggering the report, this circular draws the attention of LCs and AEs to a feedback report recently issued by the Joint Financial Intelligence Unit (“JFIU”) on the quality of suspicious transaction report (“STR”).

The feedback report (Feedback No. 191), which is set out in Annex A to the STR Quarterly Analysis - 3rd Issue 2017 available on the JFIU’s website Note 2, is reproduced in Appendix 1 to this circular.  LCs and AEs should have regard to the criteria identified therein which may assist them in filing better quality STRs.

LCs and AEs are also encouraged to make reference to the reporting methods and advice available on the JFIU website at http://www.jfiu.gov.hk/index.html on fulfilling their statutory obligations to file STRs, as well as to browse from time to time for relevant materials in the STR Quarterly Analysis published in the secure area of the JFIU website.

LCs and AEs who have not already registered for access to the secure area of the JFIU website are strongly advised to apply for a login name and password by completing the registration form in Appendix 2 to this circular.  The completed form should be submitted to the JFIU by fax to 2529 4013 or by email to jfiu@police.gov.hk.

Should you have any queries regarding the contents of this circular, please contact Ms Kiki Wong on 2231 1569.

Intermediaries Supervision Department
Intermediaries Division
Securities and Futures Commission

Enclosure

End

SFO/IS/001/2018


Note 1 The circular on Suspicious Transaction Report can be accessed at the SFC website (http://www.sfc.hk/edistributionWeb/gateway/EN/circular/aml/aml-regulations/doc?refNo=15EC62).

Note 2 The STR Quarterly Analysis can be accessed by logging into the secure area of the JFIU website (https://portalh2.police.gov.hk/my.logon.php3?check=1).


Click here to download the document

Supplementary document:
Appendix 1
Appendix 2


Page last updated : 11 Jan 2018

致持牌法團及有聯繫實體的通函 - 打擊洗錢/恐怖分子資金籌集
可疑交易報告

2018年1月11日



致持牌法團及有聯繫實體的通函

打擊洗錢/恐怖分子資金籌集

可疑交易報告

本會於2015年12月9日發出通函註1提醒持牌法團及有聯繫實體,須確保它們呈交的可疑交易報告,載有就有關交易及所涉及人士和實體而言均屬準確及足夠的資料,以及對觸發舉報責任的懷疑個案已作出合理地詳盡的分析。繼該通函後,本通函提醒持牌法團及有聯繫實體注意聯合財富情報組(“財富情報組")最近就可疑交易報告的質素所發出的報告書。

該報告書(第191號報告書)載於財富情報組網站上的2017年第3期《可疑交易報告季度分析》的附件A註2,現轉載於本通函的附錄1。持牌法團及有聯繫實體應注意報告書內識別的準則,有關準則可協助它們呈交較高質素的可疑交易報告。

本會亦鼓勵持牌法團及有聯繫實體應參考財富情報組於其網站(http://www.jfiu.gov.hk/index.html)提供的舉報方法及建議,以履行提交可疑交易報告的法定責任,並不時瀏覽財富情報組於其網站的登入限制區發表的《可疑交易報告季度分析》內所載的相關資料。

本會强烈建議持牌法團及有聯繫實體如未登記進入財富情報組的登入限制區,便應填妥本通函附錄2的申請表格以取得使用者名稱及密碼。已填妥的表格應以傳真(2529 4013)或電郵(jfiu@police.gov.hk)方式,呈交予財富情報組。

如對本通函內容有任何疑問,請致電2231 1569與王凱琪女士聯絡。

證券及期貨事務監察委員會
中介機構部
中介機構監察科

連附件

SFO/IS/001/2018


註1 有關可疑交易報告的通函,可於證監會網站(http://www.sfc.hk/edistributionWeb/gateway/TC/circular/aml/aml-regulations/doc?refNo=15EC62)取覽。

註2 《可疑交易報告季度分析》可透過登入財富情報組網站的登入限制區(https://portalh2.police.gov.hk/my.logon.php3?check=1)取覽。


按這裡下載文件

附錄文件:
附錄1
附錄2


最後更新日期 : 2018年1月11日