Circular to licensed corporations on expected standards for sponsor work

26 Mar 2018



The Securities and Futures Commission (SFC) has identified a number of compliance failures primarily from a recent thematic inspection1. The SFC reminds licensed corporations to comply with the expected standards as set out in this circular in carrying out sponsor work.

Detailed findings are set out in a Report on the Thematic Review of Licensed Corporations Engaged in Sponsor Business, issued today by the SFC, which highlights a number of deficiencies and instances of non-compliance with relevant provisions in the Code of Conduct2, CFA Code3 and the Listing Rules4 (including the practice notes) in respect of due diligence practices and internal systems and controls.

In addition, 44 listing applications were returned or rejected5 as of the date of the report. In a number of cases, the sponsors’ work or the listing application materials were below the expected standard. It is also noteworthy that some individual sponsors handled a relatively large number of the listing applications which were returned or rejected.

Sponsors with a history of returned or rejected listing applications or serious deficiencies and instances of non-compliance may expect more frequent inspection visits and supervisory actions, as these factors may cast doubt on a sponsor’s capability to discharge its responsibilities as well as potential compliance risk. Future listing applications submitted by these sponsors may also be subject to closer scrutiny by the regulators.

Separately, the SFC notes that the sponsor population in Hong Kong grew from 75 as at 31 December 2012 to 107 as at 31 December 2017, with 17 sponsors joining the industry since January 2016. This raises concerns that some sponsors, particularly recent entrants, may not have sufficient experience in resolving difficult issues.

The SFC will not hesitate to take enforcement action against sponsors and their senior executives responsible for failure to comply with the expected standards in sponsor work.

The report also highlights practices observed during the thematic inspection which meet the expected standards.

I.      Due diligence

(a)  Exercising reasonable judgement and applying professional scepticism

Understanding the listing applicant  

-  obtain sales walkthrough documents to verify if the listing applicant’s business operations are accurately described in the listing application. Key issues are often identified in these documents, such as an apparently unrelated third party making payments on behalf of customers, contractual arrangements with customers that are outside the ordinary course of business or goods not being shipped to customers;

-  conduct reasonable due diligence on the listing applicant’s major retail or online customers. This is especially relevant where certain customers account for a materially larger portion of sales than others; and

-  conduct reasonable due diligence on the volume of business at the listing applicant’s major retail stores. This is especially relevant where particular stores account for a materially larger portion of sales than other stores or industry peers.

Due diligence plan and checklist

Relying on third parties

-  why they decided to rely on a particular third party to discharge their due diligence obligations, giving due consideration to the qualification and competence of the third party;

-  whether they communicated to the third party the scope and extent of the due diligence to be conducted;

-  whether the work of the third party provided a sufficient basis to determine that reasonable due diligence had been conducted and whether further due diligence was required, taking into consideration:

Relying on experts

Identifying and following up on red flags

(b)  Interview practices

-  sponsors should, as far as possible, conduct interviews at interviewees’ business premises and conduct further cross-reference checks of more than one type of proof of identity. If this protocol is not adopted, sponsors should ensure any irregularities are adequately explained and resolved.  Sponsors should also take reasonable alternative steps to verify the interviewee’s bona fides; and

-  where interviews are conducted by telephone, sponsors should verify the telephone numbers and identities of the interviewees. In particular, sponsors should not rely solely on telephone numbers provided by the listing applicant to verify an interviewee’s identity. For example, they could call the general line of the interviewee’s company obtained from a reliable public source (such as a telephone directory) to verify the interviewee’s position and confirm that the individual participated in the interview.

-  the criteria for selecting interviewees;

-  if any persons selected refused to attend the interview, what were the reasons and how this was followed up (for example by trying to fix another interview or performing other due diligence); and

-  the name and position of any other person present during the interview (this is especially relevant if representatives of the listing applicant insisted on attending the interview).

II.    Proper records

“The rules and principles of conduct within which sponsors work demand that they maintain records that are sufficiently exact and detailed to enable them, upon request by the SFC, to provide a ‘proper trail of work done’. Such a trail must include documentation of due diligence planning which itself demands a demonstration that sponsors have turned their minds to what enquiries are necessary by way of reasonable due diligence in the context and circumstances of an application. Importantly, sponsors are required to document the conclusions they reach regarding an applicant’s compliance with the listing rules.

Accordingly, a ‘bare bones’ outline setting out only broad and entirely expected areas of due diligence is insufficient.” 

-  the listing applicant’s major customers, suppliers, bankers and creditors as well as its directors and senior management;

-  material assets used or to be used in connection with the business;

-  contracts material to the business;

-  legal proceedings and other material disputes the listing applicant or its subsidiaries are involved or may be involved in; and

-  the existence, validity and business aspects of proprietary interests, intellectual property rights, licensing arrangements and other intangible rights.

III.   Resources, systems and controls

(a)  Corporate governance  

(b)  Other aspects

(c)  Annual assessment of systems and controls    

Sponsors should pay regard to the areas of concern discussed in this circular and the Report on the Thematic Review of Licensed Corporations Engaged in Sponsor Business, and critically review and enhance their systems and controls as needed to ensure that their conduct standards and control procedures meet the relevant regulatory and legal requirements. The SFC will continue to monitor market and regulatory developments and may take further measures where appropriate.

Should you have any queries regarding the contents of this circular, please contact Ms Seine Luk at 2231 1696.

Intermediaries Supervision Department
Intermediaries Division
Securities and Futures Commission

End

SFO/IS/018/2018

1 The inspection primarily reviewed the work undertaken by 31 sponsors from October 2013, when the new sponsor regulatory regime was introduced, to 31 December 2017.
2 This refers to the Code of Conduct for Persons Licensed by or Registered with the Securities and Futures Commission, with specific reference to Paragraph 17 on sponsors.
3
Corporate Finance Adviser Code of Conduct. 
4 Rules Governing the Listing of Securities on The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited (SEHK) (Main Board Listing Rules) and Rules Governing the Listing of Securities on GEM of the SEHK (GEM Listing Rules) (collectively, Listing Rules).
This refers to listing applications (excluding those relating to transfers of listings from GEM to the Main Board) returned by the SEHK or rejected by the SEHK or the SFC based on publicly available information.
6 As required under Paragraph 17.3(a) of the Code of Conduct.
7 As required under Paragraph 17.10(c)(ii)(A) of the Code of Conduct.
8 As required under Paragraphs 17.10(c)(ii)(C) and (D) of the Code of Conduct which states that "In respect of each listing assignment, a sponsor should keep records, including relevant supporting documents and correspondence, within its control relating to… the nature, timing and extent of due diligence procedures; and… the results of due diligence performed together with its assessment of these results".
9 As defined under Paragraph 17.15(s) of the Code of Conduct.
10 As required under Paragraph 17.6(g) of the Code of Conduct which states that "A third party’s work, in itself, would not be sufficient evidence that a sponsor has discharged its obligation to conduct reasonable due diligence."
11
As required under Paragraph 17.7(d) of the Code of Conduct.
12 As required under Note 1 to Paragraph 17.7(b) of the Code of Conduct.
13 As required under Paragraph 13(b) of Practice Note 21 of the Main Board Listing Rules or Practice Note 2 of the GEM Listing Rules.
14 For the avoidance of doubt, where an entity is assisting in connection with due diligence tasks as well as being responsible for an expert report for a particular listing application, footnote 5 to Paragraph 17.6(g) of the Code of Conduct states that guidance for sponsors in Paragraph 17.6(g) applies to the due diligence tasks and the guidance in Paragraph 17.7 to the work as an expert. As a result, where an expert is assisting with due diligence tasks, it functions as a third party when undertaking those due diligence tasks and the above guidance to sponsors on relying on third parties will apply.
15 Paragraphs 17.6(a), (b) and (c) of the Code of Conduct.
16 Paragraph 17.6(f)(iii) of the Code of Conduct.
17 Please refer to Paragraphs 236 and 241 in its Reasons for Determination dated 27 January 2014 in SFAT No 3/2013.
18
As defined under Paragraph 17.15(i) of the Code of Conduct.
19
As defined under Paragraph 17.15(l) of the Code of Conduct, “Principal” means an individual who meets the criteria stipulated under the Sponsor Guidelines appointed by a sponsor to act as a Principal; in respect of a listing assignment, a Principal means an individual appointed by a sponsor to supervise the Transaction Team.


Click here to download the document


Page last updated : 26 Mar 2018

致持牌法團有關保薦人工作的預期標準的通函

2018年3月26日



證券及期貨事務監察委員會(證監會)主要於近期進行的一次主題視察1中識別到多項合規缺失,故謹此提醒持牌法團,在進行保薦人工作時須達到本通函所載的預期標準。

有關的檢視結果詳情載於證監會在今天發出的《關於從事保薦人業務的持牌法團的主題檢視報告》內,當中重點講述在盡職審查手法以及內部系統和監控措施方面有關的缺失,及與《操守準則》2、《企業融資顧問操守準則》3及《上市規則》4(包括應用指引)內相關條文的不合規情況。

此外,截至該報告日期,有44宗上市申請遭發回或拒絕5。在多宗個案中,保薦人工作或上市申請材料未能達到預期標準。值得注意的是,某些個別保薦人曾處理相對較多遭發回或拒絕的上市申請。

保薦人若過往曾經有上市申請遭發回或拒絕或出現嚴重缺失及不合規情況,預期可能會受到更頻繁的視察及監管行動,因為這些因素可能令保薦人履行其責任的能力備受質疑及令人懷疑有潛在的合規風險。該等保薦人日後呈交的上市申請亦可能會受到較嚴格的監管審查。

此外,證監會注意到,保薦人數目由截至2012年12月31日的75家上升至截至2017年12月31日的107家,而當中有17家保薦人是在2016年1月以後才加入業界。這令我們關注到,部分保薦人(特別是近期加入的保薦人)可能沒有足夠經驗以解決難題。

證監會定必果斷地對須為保薦人工作沒有達到預期標準一事負責的保薦人及其高級人員採取執法行動。

該報告亦重點指出我們在主題視察期間觀察到的某些符合預期標準的作業手法。

I.    盡職審查

(a)  作出合理判斷及抱著專業的懷疑態度

解上市申請人      

-  取得銷售流程文件,以核實上市申請是否準確地描述上市申請人的業務運作。在這些文件中通常可識別到主要問題,例如由顯然無關的第三方代客付款、與客戶訂立不屬正常業務範圍的合約安排或貨物不是運送給客戶。

-  對上市申請人的主要零售或網上客戶進行合理的盡職審查。若某些客戶在銷售方面的比重遠較其他客戶為大時,這項工作尤其重要;及

-  對上市申請人的主要零售店的營業額進行合理的盡職審查。若某些店舖在銷售方面的比重遠較其他店舖或同業為大時,這項工作尤其重要。 

盡職審查計劃及清單

依賴第三方

-  他們在適當地考慮第三方的資格及勝任能力後,決定依賴某特定的第三方以履行其盡職審查責任的理由;

-  他們是否已將須進行的盡職審查的範圍及程度告知第三方;

-  經考慮以下事項後,第三方的工作是否能提供充分的基礎,以斷定已進行合理盡職審查,以及是否須作進一步盡職審查:

依賴專家

識別及跟進預警跡象

(b) 會見常規

-  保薦人應盡可能在接受會見者的營業處所進行會見,並交叉查閱多於一類可證明接受會見者身分的文件。若沒有這樣做,保薦人便應確保任何不尋常情況均獲得充分解釋及解決。保薦人亦應採取合理的其他步驟,以核實接受會見者的真實身分;及

-  若會見是以電話方式進行,保薦人應核實受訪者的電話號碼及身分。特別是,保薦人不應單單依賴上市申請人所提供的電話號碼來核實受訪者的身分。例如,他們可撥打受訪者所屬公司的總機電話號碼(取自電話簿等可靠的公共來源),以核實受訪者的職位及確認有關人士曾接受訪問。

-  揀選接受會見者的準則;

-  若任何獲揀選的人士拒絕出席會見,則記錄有關理由及如何作出跟進(例如嘗試安排另一次會見或進行其他盡職審查);及

-  在會見期間出席的任何人士的姓名及職位(若上市申請人的代表堅持出席會見,這工作尤其重要)。

II.   妥善紀錄 

"有關保薦人工作的規則和操守準則規定,他們須備存準確和詳盡的記錄,足以讓他們可應證監會的要求,‘就其工作提供適當的線索’。所指的線索必須包括詳細記錄盡職審查工作計劃的文件,當中須清楚顯示保薦人已因應申請的內容及情況,進行合理的盡職審查,藉此考慮應該把焦點放在哪些必須進行的查詢工作。此外,保薦人就申請人是否符合上市規則方面作出總結後,必須以文件記錄所作的總結,這點十分重要。

因此,如果只擬備大綱,概括地列出盡職審查可完全預測的範疇,並不足夠。"

-  上市申請人的主要客戶、供應商、銀行及債權人,以及其董事及高級管理層;

-  在關乎業務情況下已使用或將使用的重大資產;

-  對業務而言的重大合約;

-  上市申請人或其附屬公司所涉及或可能涉及的法律程序及其他重大糾紛;及

-  所有權權益、知識產權權利、牌照安排及其他無形權利的存在、有效性及業務範疇。

III.   資源、系統及監控措施

(a)  企業管治 

(b)  他方面

(c)  系統及監控措施的年度評估                                                                                       

保薦人應考慮本通函及《關於從事保薦人業務的持牌法團的主題檢視報告》內的關注範疇,並在有需要時慎重地檢視及改善其系統和監控措施,確保他們的操守標準及監控程序均符合相關的監管及法律規定。證監會將繼續監察市場及監管發展,並可能會在適當時採取進一步的措施。

如對本通函的內容有任何疑問,請致電2231 1696與陸燕梅女士聯絡。

證券及期貨事務監察委員會
中介機構部
中介機構監察科

SFO/IS/018/2018

1 有關視察主要是檢視31家保薦人在2013年10月(即在引入新的保薦人監管制度時)至2017年12月31日期間進行的工作。
2 指《證券及期貨事務監察委員會持牌人或註冊人操守準則》,具體來說指有關保薦人的第17段。
3 《企業融資顧問操守準則》(Corporate Finance Adviser Code of Conduct)。
4 《香港聯合交易所有限公司證券上市規則》(《主板上市規則》)及《香港聯合交易所有限公司GEM證券上市規則》(《GEM上市規則》)(統稱《上市規則》)。香港聯合交易所有限公司在本通函中簡稱為“聯交所”。
5
指根據公開資料遭聯交所發回或遭聯交所或證監會拒絕的上市申請(不包括與由GEM(前稱創業板)轉往主板上市有關的申請)。
6 按照《操守準則》第17.3(a)段的規定。
7 按照《操守準則》第17.10(c)(ii)(A)段的規定。
8 按照《操守準則》第17.10(c)(ii)(C)及(D)段的規定,當中述明“就每項上市任務而言,保薦人應在其監控下備存有關以下事項的紀錄(包括有關的證明文件及往來書信)……盡職審查程序的性質、時間及範圍;及……進行盡職審查的結果,連同保薦人對這些結果的評估”。
9 定義見《操守準則》第17.15(s)段。
10 按照《操守準則》第17.6(g)段的規定,當中述明“某第三方的工作本身並不構成充分證據,證明保薦人已履行其進行合理盡職審查的責任。"
11
按照《操守準則》第17.7(d)段的規定。
12 按照《操守準則》第17.7(b)段註釋1的規定。
13 按照《主板上市規則》第21項應用指引或《GEM上市規則》第2項應用指引第13(b)段的規定。
14 為免生疑問,在上市申請中,某實體可能會就盡職審查工作提供協助,以及負責某專家報告,在這情況下,《操守準則》第17.6(g)段註腳5述明,第17.6(g)段對保薦人的指引適用於盡職審查工作,而第17.7段的指引則用於專家的工作。因此,若某專家就盡職審查工作提供協助,其在進行有關盡職審查工作時便成為一個第三方,上述有關保薦人依賴第三方的指引將適用。
15 《操守準則》第17.6(a)、(b)及(c)段。
16 《操守準則》第17.6(f)(iii)段。
17 請參閱日期為2014年1月27日、上訴審裁處2013年第3號的裁定理由第236及241段。
18
定義見《操守準則》第17.15(i)段。
19
定義見《操守準則》第17.15(l)段,“主要人員”指符合《保薦人指引》所訂明的條件並獲保薦人委任充當主要人員的個人;就上市任務而言,主要人員指由保薦人委任負責監督交易小組的個人。


按這裡下載文件


最後更新日期 : 2018年3月26日