Circular to all Licensed Corporations on Alternative Liquidity Pools

9 Apr 2018



The SFC recently conducted a thematic review to assess compliance with the regulatory requirements for Alternative Liquidity Pools (ALPs) by licensed corporations (LCs) and to gather information on the latest market developments. This was the first major thematic review of ALPs following the introduction of Paragraph 19 and Schedule 8 of the Code of Conduct1 on 1 December 2015, which set out requirements for the operation of ALPs in Hong Kong.

The review, conducted between 2016 and 2017, found that LCs had implemented measures to comply with the requirements, but also identified a number of deficiencies. In particular, these related to ensuring that ALP users are qualified investors, disclosing information to ALP users, routing orders to third-party ALPs and posting orders to both the ALP and the exchange.

The Report on the Thematic Review of Alternative Liquidity Pools in Hong Kong accompanying this circular provides an overview of the ALP landscape in Hong Kong, outlines the areas covered by the thematic review and summarises the findings and a number of good practices identified. LCs may consider implementing similar controls and mechanisms, where applicable, to enhance their ALP control frameworks.

The SFC would like to highlight the following key areas of concern:

LCs are also reminded to establish and implement effective controls to ensure all ALP users are qualified investors in accordance with paragraph 19.4 of the Code of Conduct3, provide sufficiently comprehensive information to users (eg, order priority, routing and execution methodology and opt-out arrangements) and ensure their ALP Guidelines have been brought to users’ attention in accordance with paragraph 19.7 of the Code of Conduct2.

The SFC will continue to monitor market and regulatory developments of ALPs both in Hong Kong and overseas, and in response may propose further measures.

Should you have any queries regarding the contents of this circular, please contact the case officers in charge.

Intermediaries Supervision Department
Intermediaries Division
Securities and Futures Commission

End

SFO/IS/021/2018


1 Code of Conduct for Persons Licensed by or Registered with the Securities and Futures Commission.
2 Paragraph 19.4 of the Code of Conduct requires that only qualified investors are permitted to access the ALPs.
3 Paragraph 19.7 of the Code of Conduct requires a licensed or registered person operating an ALP to:
(a)   By means of ALP Guidelines, provide sufficiently comprehensive information to users of ALP to ensure they are fully informed as to the manner in which the ALP operates; and
(b)   Prior to routing any order to an ALP on behalf of a client for the first time, a licensed or registered person should ensure the ALP Guidelines have been brought to the attention of the person placing or originating the order.


Click here to download the document

Supplementary document:
Report on the Thematic Review of Alternative Liquidity Pools in Hong Kong


Page last updated : 9 Apr 2018

致所有持牌法團有關另類交易平台的通函

2018年4月9日



證券及期貨事務監察委員會(證監會)近期進行了一項主題檢視,以評估持牌法團有否符合適用於另類交易平台的監管規定,以及收集有關最新市場發展的資料。這是自2015年12月1日引入《操守準則》1第19段及附表8關於另類交易平台在香港的運作的規定以來,首次就另類交易平台進行重大的主題檢視。

證監會在2016年至2017年期間進行上述檢視,發現持牌法團雖然已落實措施以符合有關規定,但仍存在多項缺失。這些缺失尤其與確保另類交易平台用戶是否為合資格投資者、向另類交易平台用戶披露資料、向第三方另類交易平台傳遞買賣指示,以及向另類交易平台和交易所同時發送買賣指示有關。

隨本通函刊發的《關於香港另類交易平台的主題檢視報告》不但載列另類交易平台在香港的概況,還概述主題檢視所涵蓋的範圍,以及有關的檢視結果和所識別到的一些良好作業手法。持牌法團可在適用的情況下考慮實施類似的監控措施及機制,以改善其另類交易平台的監控框架。

證監會擬重點講述以下的主要關注範疇:

持牌法團亦應制定及實施有效的措施,確保根據《操守準則》第19.4段2所有另類交易平台用戶均為合資格投資者,並應向用戶提供足夠詳盡的資訊(例如,買賣指示優先權、傳遞和執行方法,以及選擇不參與的安排),以及確保根據《操守準則》第19.7段3用戶知悉其另類交易平台指引 。

證監會將繼續監察本港和海外的另類交易平台的市場及監管發展,並可能會因應有關發展而建議採取進一步的措施。

如對本通函內容有任何疑問,請聯絡負責的相關個案主任。

SFO/IS/021/2018

1  《證券及期貨事務監察委員會持牌人或註冊人操守準則》。
2 《操守準則》第19.4段規定,只有合資格投資者獲准進入另類交易平台。
3 《操守準則》第19.7段規定,經營另類交易平台的持牌人或註冊人應:
(a)   透過另類交易平台指引向另類交易平台的用戶提供足夠詳盡的資訊,確保用戶充分知悉另類交易平台的運作形式;及
(b)   首次代客戶向另類交易平台轉發任何買賣指示前,應確保發出買賣指示或最初負責發出買賣指示的人士已知悉另類交易平台指引。


按這裡下載文件

附錄文件:
關於香港另類交易平台的主題檢視報告


最後更新日期 : 2018年4月9日