Circular to Licensed Corporations and Associated Entities - Anti-Money Laundering / Counter-Terrorist Financing
Publication of Hong Kong’s Money Laundering and Terrorist Financing Risk Assessment Report

30 Apr 2018



Circular to Licensed Corporations and Associated Entities 

Anti-Money Laundering / Counter-Terrorist Financing 

Publication of Hong Kong’s Money Laundering and Terrorist Financing Risk Assessment Report

The Government published today Hong Kong’s Money Laundering and Terrorist Financing (“ML/TF”) Risk Assessment Report (“the Report”).  Having regard to the recommendation of the Financial Action Task Force for jurisdictions to identify and assess their ML/TF risks and to apply corresponding mitigating measures, the Report examines the ML/TF threats and vulnerabilities faced by various sectors in Hong Kong and the city as a whole. 

The Report can be found on the Government’s website (https://www.fstb.gov.hk/fsb/aml/en/risk-assessment.htm).

Licensed corporations (“LCs”) and associated entities (“AEs”) are required to identify and assess ML/TF risks to which the firms are exposed, so as to determine the adequate and appropriate anti-money laundering and counter-financing of terrorism (“AML/CFT”) policies, procedures and controls (“AML/CFT systems”) that should be implemented to mitigate the risks of ML/TF identified Note 1

LCs and AEs should give due consideration to the ML/TF threats and vulnerabilities identified in the Report, in particular its Chapter 5.3 on the assessment of ML risks of securities sector, that are relevant to their own circumstances Note 2 in their risk assessment process.  LCs and AEs should review as appropriate their customer risk assessment schemes and suspicious transaction monitoring systems, or take other measures to ensure that they properly manage and mitigate the risks which are applicable to them.  Some related guidance is set out in the Appendix to this circular. 

Should you have any queries regarding the contents of this circular, please contact Ms Kiki Wong on 2231 1569.

Intermediaries Supervision Department
Intermediaries Division
Securities and Futures Commission

Enclosure

End

SFO/IS/024/2018

Note 1 Please see Chapter 2 of the Guideline on Anti-Money Laundering and Counter-Terrorist Financing (“AML Guideline”) and our circular issued on 26 January 2017 on Compliance with AML/CFT Requirements.
Note 2
Taking into account all relevant risk factors such as those in respect of products and services offered, delivery and distribution channels, types of customers, countries and geographical locations involved.


Click here to download the document

Supplementary document:
Appendix


Page last updated : 30 Apr 2018

致持牌法團及有聯繫實體的通函 - 打擊洗錢/恐怖分子資金籌集
公布《香港的洗錢及恐怖分子資金籌集風險評估報告》

2018年4月30日



致持牌法團及有聯繫實體的通函 

打擊洗錢/恐怖分子資金籌集 

公布《香港的洗錢及恐怖分子資金籌集風險評估報告》

政府今天公布《香港的洗錢及恐怖分子資金籌集風險評估報告》(“該報告”)。該報告因應財務行動特別組織就各司法管轄區在識別及評估其洗錢/恐怖分子資金籌集風險和採取相應的緩減措施方面所提出的建議,評估各行各業以至香港整體面對的洗錢/恐怖分子資金籌集威脅及脆弱度。 

該報告可於政府網站(https://www.fstb.gov.hk/fsb/aml/tc/risk-assessment.htm)取覽。

持牌法團及有聯繫實體須識別及評估其所面對的洗錢/恐怖分子資金籌集風險,藉此釐定應執行的充分而適當的打擊洗錢及恐怖分子資金籌集政策、程序及管控措施(“打擊洗錢/恐怖分子資金籌集制度”),從而減低已識別的洗錢/恐怖分子資金籌集風險註1。 

持牌法團及有聯繫實體在評估風險的過程中,應審慎考慮該報告所識別出並與它們本身的情況註2相關的洗錢/恐怖分子資金籌集威脅及漏洞,尤其是該報告第5.3章內有關證券業洗錢風險的評估。持牌法團及有聯繫實體應在適當情況下,覆核其客戶風險評估計劃及可疑交易監察系統,或採取其他措施以確保它們有妥善管理及減低適用於它們的風險。本通函的附錄載有一些相關指引。

如對本通函內容有任何疑問,請致電2231 1569與王凱琪女士聯絡。

證券及期貨事務監察委員會
中介機構部
中介機構監察科

連附件

SFO/IS/024/2018

註1 請參閱《打擊洗錢及恐怖分子資金籌集指引》(“《打擊洗錢指引》”)第2章及本會於2017年1月26日發出有關遵從打擊洗錢/恐怖分子資金籌集規定的通函。
註2
應顧及所有相關風險因素,例如與所提供的產品及服務、交付及分銷渠道、客戶的類別、國家及地理位置相關的風險因素。


按這裡下載文件

附錄文件:
附錄


最後更新日期 : 2018年4月30日