Circular to intermediaries
Receiving client orders through instant messaging

4 May 2018



The Securities and Futures Commission (SFC) received a number of enquiries from the securities industry about the receipt of client orders through instant messaging1 (IM). This circular provides guidance on the key controls and procedures which intermediaries are expected to put in place when using IM applications to receive client orders.

The use of IM technology poses new supervisory and record-keeping challenges. Most IM service providers do not provide users with tools to save, retrieve or monitor IM communications. Before allowing the use of IM applications to receive client orders, intermediaries should properly understand their features and limitations and carefully assess the risks involved.

Intermediaries which introduce IM technology into their business practices should put in place adequate measures and controls to ensure compliance with statutory and regulatory requirements, including the requirement to keep proper records of client orders2. Complete and accurate records are an integral part of the audit trail. They ensure that reliable evidence is available to assess disputes with clients about the particulars of a trade order, and this protects the interests of both the intermediary and the client. For both the SFC and intermediaries, proper records also serve as a useful supervisory tool to detect irregularities and potential malpractices.

Intermediaries which allow the use of IM applications to receive client orders should implement appropriate measures which cover the following areas.

1.    Centralised record keeping

a)    Messages relating to client orders (order messages) and the IM accounts and devices for storing and processing them should be properly maintained and centrally managed to reduce the possibility of error and minimise the risk of record tampering.

b)    Appropriate arrangements should be in place and sufficient capacity should be available to store and back up order messages in a form which could not be inappropriately modified or erased.

c)    All order messages should be fully recorded and properly maintained for a period of not less than two years3.

2.    Security and reliability

a)    The identities of clients who send order messages should be properly authenticated and validated4. In case of doubt, direct confirmation should be obtained by calling clients at their registered phone numbers. Where appropriate, intermediaries should obtain a written acknowledgement from the client that order messages received via his mobile phone number originate from the client.

b)    Intermediaries should keep abreast of threat intelligence and fraud trends relating to IM applications and ensure that adequate and appropriate security safeguards5 are implemented to prevent unauthorised access or security attack. These safeguards should cover end-to-end data transmission as well as the IM accounts and devices used for storing and processing the order messages. The highest level of security available in the IM applications should be activated where appropriate.

c)    Client instructions received through IM applications for fund transfers to a third party account should only be approved on an exceptional basis after authentication of the identities of clients such as by making proper enquiries with clients through a different communication channel.

d)    A written contingency plan should be established to cope with emergencies and disruptions relating to IM applications. The contingency plan should be appropriately tested, regularly updated and communicated to clients.

3.    Compliance monitoring

a)    All order messages should be readily accessible and appropriate equipment and facilities should be available for compliance monitoring and audit purposes.

b)    Regular compliance reviews should be performed to compare order messages against their clients’ account activities to detect irregularities and potential malpractice.

c)    Intermediaries should ensure proper monitoring of unusual or questionable transactions, such as changes in trading patterns or trading large volumes of low turnover stocks, and verify them with clients where appropriate.

4.    Internal policies and procedures

a)    Intermediaries should put in place written policies and procedures for the use of IM applications to receive client orders and these should be clearly communicated to staff. Monitoring procedures should be put in place to ensure that client orders received through IM applications are executed promptly.

b)    Staff members should be prohibited from making, sending or receiving electronic communications relating to client orders unless the intermediary has full control over the recording and retention of order messages.

c)    Appropriate and adequate training should be provided to staff regarding internal policies and procedures, regulatory requirements and security precautions5 for using IM applications for receiving client orders.

5.    Client awareness

a)    Intermediaries should take appropriate steps to raise the security awareness of their clients and ensure that they fully understand all the potential security risks5, such as phishing, malware, account theft and impersonation, as well as operational risks6, before allowing them to use IM applications to place orders. It may not be suitable for clients with inadequate security awareness to place orders through IM applications.

b)    The terms and conditions7 for using IM applications to place orders should be fully communicated and agreed with clients.

For reference, an example illustrating the use of IM applications to receive client orders is provided in the Appendix. Intermediaries may deploy other appropriate solutions according to their specific circumstances.

Intermediaries should prohibit their staff members from receiving client orders through IM applications if the above requirements are not fully met. The SFC will not hesitate to take regulatory action against intermediaries which use IM applications to receive client orders without putting in place sufficient measures to ensure compliance with the regulatory requirements.

Should you have any questions regarding the contents of this circular, please contact Ms Denise Chan at 2231 1188 or the case officers in charge.

Intermediaries Supervision Department
Intermediaries Division
Securities and Futures Commission

Enclosure

End

SFO/IS/025/2018


1       IM is a form of electronic communication which allows two or more users to immediately transfer text messages and electronic files, such as images, audio, video and textual documents, across a network connection of mobile devices or computer platforms. Examples of major IM tools include WhatsApp and WeChat.

2    The Code of Conduct for Persons Licensed by or Registered with the Securities and Futures Commission (Code of Conduct) and the Securities and Futures (Keeping of Records) Rules (Keeping of Records Rules).

3    Under Sections 3(1) and 10(b) and Section 1(d) of the Schedule to the Keeping of Records Rules, intermediaries are required to keep records showing the particulars of all orders or instructions which they received or initiated for no less than two years.

    For example, intermediaries may authenticate a client’s identity by requiring him to provide correct answers to some dynamic questions relating to his account and previous transactions, and not only to static questions.

5     Please refer to the guidelines published by the Hong Kong Computer Emergency Response Team Coordination Centre (www.hkcert.org/my_url/guideline/15033101), the Government of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region (www.infosec.gov.hk/english/yourself/instant.html) and the Hong Kong Police Force (www.police.gov.hk/ppp_en/04_crime_matters/adcc/alert_180403_01.html) for reference.

6     For example, the risks that order messages may not be delivered to the recipient in a timely manner and the IM applications may be out of service due to system or network problem.

7     For example, how to deal with situations which may give rise to potential disputes with clients; whether to require clients not to delete or recall delivered order messages; whether to acknowledge receipt of clients’ order messages in a specific manner (eg, by copying and repeating clients’ original order messages in the reply); the liabilities and responsibilities of clients and intermediaries in the event of fraud or unauthorised transactions; and specific contingency measures to deal with emergencies and disruptions relating to IM applications.


Click here to download the document

Supplementary document:
Appendix


Page last updated : 4 May 2018

致中介人的通函
透過即時通訊收取客戶交易指示

2018年5月4日



證券及期貨事務監察委員會(證監會)收到證券業界不少有關透過即時通訊1收取客戶交易指示的查詢。本通函就中介人使用即時通訊應用程式來收取客戶交易指示時應實施的主要監控措施及程序提供指引。

即時通訊科技的應用為監督及備存紀錄工作帶來了新的挑戰。大部分即時通訊服務供應商沒有為用戶提供儲存、檢索或監察即時通訊內容的工具。中介人在允許使用即時通訊應用程式來收取客戶交易指示前,應適當地了解應用程式的功能及限制,並審慎評估所涉及的風險。

中介人如在其業務中引入即時通訊科技,便須制定充足的監控措施和系統,以確保合乎法例和監管規定,包括對備存客戶交易指示的妥善紀錄的規定2。完整及準確的紀錄是審計線索不可或缺的部分。在中介人與其客戶就某項交易指示的細節存在爭議時,有關紀錄便能確保有可靠的證據,以對爭議進行評估,這保障了中介人及客戶的權益。對證監會及中介人而言,妥善的紀錄亦可作為一種有用的監督工具,以偵測不合常規的情況及潛在的不當行為。

中介人如允許使用即時通訊應用程式來收取客戶交易指示,便應實施涵蓋以下範疇的合適措施。

1.    的備存紀錄

a)    應妥善保存及集中管理與客戶交易指示有關的訊息(交易指示訊息)以及用來儲存和處理交易指示訊息的即時通訊帳戶和裝置,以減少出錯的機會及盡量減低紀錄被竄改的風險。

b)    應制定合適的安排及準備足夠的容量,以能夠防止被不適當地修改或刪除的形式,將交易指示訊息儲存及備份。

c)    應將所有交易指示訊息整全地記錄,並妥善地保存不少於兩年3

                       

2.    安全可靠性

a)    應妥善地認證及核實發送交易指示訊息的客戶的身分4。如有疑問,應致電客戶的登記電話號碼聯絡客戶,直接取得確認。在適當的情況下,中介人應取得客戶的書面確認,通過該客戶的流動電話號碼所收到的交易指示訊息,是源於該客戶本人的。

b)    中介人應密切留意與即時通訊應用程式有關的風險情報及騙案趨勢,並確保實施充分而合適的保安措施5,以防止系統被他人入侵或安全性遭到攻擊。有關保安措施應涵蓋端對端的數據傳輸以及用來儲存和處理交易指示訊息的即時通訊帳戶及裝置。在適當的情況下,中介人應啟動即時通訊應用程式所提供最高水平的安全設定。

c)    當透過即時通訊應用程式接獲客戶要求向第三方帳戶轉移資金的指示時,只應在特殊的情況下,並經過客戶的身分認證,如以即時通訊應用程式以外的通訊渠道向客戶作出恰當的查詢後,才予以批准。

d)    應制定書面的應變計劃,以應付與即時通訊應用程式有關的緊急情況及中斷事故。該應變計劃應經過適當的測試及定期更新,並傳達給客戶。

3.    合規監察

a)    應可便捷地取覽所有交易指示訊息,並已安排合適的裝備和設施,以進行合規監察和審計。

b)    應定期進行合規檢視,將交易指示訊息與有關客戶的帳戶活動進行對照,以偵測不合常規的情況及潛在的不當行為。

c)    中介人應確保適當地監察不尋常或有問題的交易,如交易模式的改變及大手買賣成交量低的股票,並在適當情況下向客戶核實有關交易。

4.    內部政策及程序

a)    中介人應就使用即時通訊應用程式來收取客戶交易指示制定書面政策及程序,並應清楚地向職員傳達有關政策和程序。中介人應制定監察程序,確保透過即時通訊應用程式收到的客戶交易指示能盡快地被執行。

b)    除非中介人可全面控制交易指示訊息的記錄及備存,否則便應禁止其職員作出、發送或接收與客戶交易指示有關的電子通訊。

c)    應就與使用即時通訊應用程式來收取客戶交易指示相關的內部政策及程序、監管規定及保安預防措施5,為職員提供合適和充足的培訓。

5.    客戶認知

a)    中介人應採取合適的步驟以提高客戶對系統保安的意識,並確保在允許客戶使用即時通訊應用程式來發出交易指示前,該客戶已完全了解所有潛在的保安風險5,如仿冒詐騙、惡意程式、帳戶盜竊和被冒充身分及系統操作風險6。對系統的保安意識不足的客戶可能不適合透過即時通訊應用程式發出交易指示。

b)    應充分地向客戶傳達及商定使用即時通訊應用程式來發出交易指示的條款和條件7

附錄載有參考例子,以舉例說明如何運用即時通訊應用程式收取客戶交易指示。中介人可根據特定情況採用其他合適的解決方案。

如未能完全符合上述規定,中介人便應禁止其職員透過即時通訊應用程式收取客戶的交易指示。若中介人在沒有制定足夠的措施以確保合乎監管規定的情況下,使用即時通訊應用程式收取客戶交易指示,證監會將會毫不猶疑地對該中介人採取監管行動。

如對本通函內容有任何疑問,請致電2231 1188與陳麗明女士聯絡,或聯絡負責的個案主任。

證券及期貨事務監察委員會
中介機構部
中介機構監察科

連附件

SFO/IS/025/2018


1       即時通訊是一種電子通訊模式,讓兩名或以上用戶經流動裝置或電腦平台的網絡連接,即時傳輸文字訊息及電子檔案,如圖像、語音、影片及文檔。主要的即時通訊工具例子包括WhatsApp及微信。

2     《證券及期貨事務監察委員會持牌人或註冊人操守準則》(《操守準則》)及《證券及期貨(備存紀錄)規則》(《備存紀錄規則》)。

3     根據《備存紀錄規則》第3(1)和10(b)條及附表第1(d)條,中介人必須備存顯示它所收到或主動作出的所有命令或指示的詳情的紀錄不少於兩年。

4     例如,除了有固定答案的問題外,中介人亦可透過不設固定答案的問題,要求客戶就一些關於其帳戶及過往交易的情況提供正確答案,以認證客戶的身分。

5     請參閱香港電腦保安事故協調中心(www.hkcert.org/my_url/zh/guideline/15033101)、香港特別行政區政府(www.infosec.gov.hk/tc_chi/yourself/instant.html)及香港警務處(www.police.gov.hk/ppp_tc/04_crime_matters/adcc/alert_180403_01.html)刊登的指引。

6     例如,交易指示訊息可能無法及時傳送至接收人,及即時通訊應用程式可能會因系統或網絡問題而暫停運作。

7     例如,如何處理可能引致與客戶產生潛在爭議的情況;是否需要要求客戶不要刪除或收回已發送的交易指示訊息;是否需要以特定方式確認收到客戶的交易指示訊息(例如,在回覆訊息時複製及重複載述客戶原本的交易指示訊息);在發生詐騙或未經授權的交易事件時,客戶及中介人的法律責任及其他責任;及特定的應變措施,以處理與即時通訊應用程式有關的緊急情況及中斷事故。


按這裡下載文件

附錄文件:
附錄


最後更新日期 : 2018年5月4日