Circular to intermediaries on compliance with notification requirements

1 Jun 2018



This circular serves to remind intermediaries of the notification requirements under the Securities and Futures (Licensing and Registration) (Information) Rules (Information Rules) under which intermediaries are required to notify the Securities and Futures Commission (SFC) of any significant changes in the nature of their business and the types of service they provide1.

Intermediaries are expected to fully comply with the Information Rules regardless of the nature of the significant change in their business. Moreover, they are encouraged to discuss their plans with the SFC at an early stage to avoid adverse regulatory consequences.

Robo-advisory services and crypto-assets2

Along with the development of new financial technologies (Fintech), the SFC has noticed a growing trend of intermediaries introducing changes to their business activities to provide trading and asset management services involving crypto-assets as well as robo-advisory financial services. The SFC views these activities as significant changes which trigger the notification requirement.

Intermediaries are advised to discuss these activities with the SFC before engaging in them. In addition, where crypto-assets business is conducted in Hong Kong by other entities in the same group as an intermediary, the intermediary is encouraged to inform the SFC as soon as reasonably practicable so that the SFC may assess the potential impact of the group’s crypto-assets business on the intermediary.


Licensing Department
Intermediaries Division
Securities and Futures Commission


[1]  Section 4 and Schedule 3 to the Information Rules. Please also refer to our circular dated 11 May 2015 entitled “Circular to Intermediaries Regarding Compliance with Notification Requirements”. (http://www.sfc.hk/edistributionWeb/gateway/EN/circular/intermediaries/licensing/openFile?refNo=15EC27).

[2] Crypto-assets include cryptocurrencies, funds investing in cryptocurrencies and related products, cryptocurrency futures contracts and structured products. 


Click here to download the document


Page last updated : 1 Jun 2018

致中介人有關遵守通知規定的通函

2018年6月1日



本通函旨在提醒中介人有關《證券及期貨(發牌及註冊)(資料)規則》(《資料規則》)下的通知規定。根據有關規定,中介人須將任何有關其業務性質和提供的服務類別的重大改變1,通知證券及期貨事務監察委員會(證監會)。

無論中介人在其業務上的重大改變的性質為何,中介人都應全面遵從《資料規則》。此外,證監會亦鼓勵中介人於早期便與本會討論其計劃,以免引致負面監管後果。

機械理財建議服務及加密資產2

證監會注意到,隨著新金融科技的發展,中介人改變其業務活動以提供涉及加密資產的交易和資產管理服務及機械理財金融服務的情況有上升趨勢。證監會認為,這些活動均屬於觸發通知規定的重大改變。

中介人在從事這些活動前,應諮詢證監會意見。此外,如某中介人的同一集團內有其他公司在香港進行加密資產業務,證監會鼓勵該中介人在合理地切實可行的範圍內盡快知會本會,讓本會可評估該集團的加密資產業務對該中介人的潛在影響。


證券及期貨事務監察委員會
中介機構部
發牌科


[1]《資料規則》第4條及附表3。請同時參閱本會日期為2015年5月11日的通函,標題為“致中介人有關遵守通知規定的通函”(http://www.sfc.hk/edistributionWeb/gateway/TC/circular/intermediaries/licensing/openFile?refNo=15EC27)。

[2]  加密資產包括加密貨幣、投資於加密貨幣和相關產品的的基金、加密貨幣期貨合約及結構性產品。


按這裡下載文件


最後更新日期 : 2018年6月1日