Circular to Licensed Corporations and Associated Entities - Anti-Money Laundering / Counter-Terrorist Financing
(1) United Nations Sanctions (Central African Republic) Regulation 2018
(2) United Nations Sanctions (Yemen) Regulation 2015 (Amendment) Regulation 2018

8 Jun 2018



Circular to Licensed Corporations and Associated Entities 

Anti-Money Laundering / Counter-Terrorist Financing 

(1)  United Nations Sanctions (Central African Republic) Regulation 2018 

(2)  United Nations Sanctions (Yemen) Regulation 2015 (Amendment) Regulation 2018 

(1)  United Nations Sanctions (Central African Republic) Regulation 2018 

The United Nations Sanctions (Central African Republic) Regulation 2018 ("the CAR Regulation"), made under the United Nations Sanctions Ordinance (Cap. 537) ("UNSO"), was published in the Gazette (L.N. 117 of 2018) on 8 June 2018 with immediate effect.

The CAR Regulation implements sanctions against the Central African Republic as renewed by the United Nations Security Council ("UNSC") under Resolution 2399.

We would like to draw licensed corporations’ ("LCs") and associated entities’ ("AEs") attention to section 5 of the CAR Regulation which provides for prohibition against making available funds or other financial assets or economic resources to relevant persons or entities, or dealing with funds or other financial assets or economic resources of relevant persons or entities, except with a licence.

The CAR Regulation can be found on the Government’s website (https://www.gld.gov.hk/egazette/pdf/20182223/es220182223117.pdf). 

(2)  United Nations Sanctions (Yemen) Regulation 2015 (Amendment) Regulation 2018 

The United Nations Sanctions (Yemen) Regulation 2015 (Amendment) Regulation 2018 ("the Yemen Amendment Regulation"), made under the UNSO, was published in the Gazette (L.N. 118 of 2018) on 8 June 2018 with immediate effect.

The Yemen Amendment Regulation implements sanctions against Yemen as renewed by the UNSC under Resolution 2402.

We would like to draw LCs’ and AEs’ attention to section 7 of the Yemen Amendment Regulation which adds the new section 5C to the United Nations Sanctions (Yemen) Regulation 2015 to provide for prohibition against making available funds or other financial assets or economic resources to relevant persons or entities, or dealing with funds or other financial assets or economic resources of relevant persons or entities, except with a licence.

The Yemen Amendment Regulation can be found on the Government’s website (https://www.gld.gov.hk/egazette/pdf/20182223/es220182223118.pdf).

Furthermore, LCs and AEs are reminded to refer to Chapter 6 of the Guideline on Anti-Money Laundering and Counter-Terrorist Financing ("AML Guideline") which contains guidance on the appropriate measures that LCs and AEs should take to ensure compliance with the regulations made under the UNSO Note 1.

Should you have any queries regarding the contents of this circular, please contact Ms Kiki Wong on 2231 1569.

Intermediaries Supervision Department
Intermediaries Division
Securities and Futures Commission

End

SFO/IS/032/2018

Note 1 Under paragraph 6 of the Prevention of Money Laundering and Terrorist Financing Guideline issued by the Securities and Futures Commission for Associated Entities, AEs that are not authorized financial institutions are expected to have regard to the provisions of the AML Guideline as if they were themselves LCs.


Click here to download the document


Page last updated : 8 Jun 2018

致持牌法團及有聯繫實體的通函 - 打擊洗錢/恐怖分子資金籌集
(1) 《2018年聯合國制裁(中非共和國)規例》
(2) 《2018年〈2015年聯合國制裁(也門)規例〉(修訂)規例》

2018年6月8日



致持牌法團及有聯繫實體的通函 

打擊洗錢/恐怖分子資金籌集 

(1)  2018年聯合國制裁(中非共和國)規例》 

(2)  2018年〈2015年聯合國制裁(也門)規例〉(修訂)規例 

(1)  2018年聯合國制裁(中非共和國)規例》 

《2018年聯合國制裁(中非共和國)規例》(“《中非共和國規例》”)已根據《聯合國制裁條例》(第537章)訂立,並於2018年6月8日在憲報刊登(2018年第117號法律公告),即時生效。

《中非共和國規例》實施聯合國安全理事會第2399號決議所延長的針對中非共和國的制裁措施。

持牌法團及有聯繫實體應注意《中非共和國規例》第5條,當中訂明除非獲批予特許,否則禁止向有關人士或實體提供資金或其他財務資產或經濟資源,或處理有關人士或實體的資金或其他財務資產或經濟資源。

《中非共和國規例》可於政府網站(https://www.gld.gov.hk/egazette/pdf/20182223/cs220182223117.pdf)取覽。 

(2)  2018年〈2015年聯合國制裁(也門)規例〉(修訂)規例》

《2018年〈2015年聯合國制裁(也門)規例〉(修訂)規例》(“《也門修訂規例》”)已根據《聯合國制裁條例》(第537章)訂立,並於2018年6月8日在憲報刊登(2018年第118號法律公告),即時生效。

《也門修訂規例》實施聯合國安全理事會第2402號決議所延長的針對也門的制裁措施。

持牌法團及有聯繫實體應注意《也門修訂規例》第7條,據此,《2015年聯合國制裁(也門)規例》會加入第5C條,訂明除非獲批予特許,否則禁止向有關人士或實體提供資金或其他財務資產或經濟資源,或處理有關人士或實體的資金或其他財務資產或經濟資源。

《也門修訂規例》可於政府網站(https://www.gld.gov.hk/egazette/pdf/20182223/cs220182223118.pdf)取覽。

此外,持牌法團及有聯繫實體應參閱《打擊洗錢及恐怖分子資金籌集指引》(“《打撃洗錢指引》”)第6章,其中載有持牌法團及有聯繫實體應採取的適當措施的指引,以確保遵從根據《聯合國制裁條例》制訂的有關規例註1

如對本通函內容有任何疑問,請致電2231 1569與王凱琪女士聯絡。

證券及期貨事務監察委員會
中介機構部
中介機構監察科

SFO/IS/032/2018


註1 根據《證券及期貨事務監察委員會發出適用於有聯繫實體的防止洗錢及恐怖分子資金籌集的指引》第6段,作為非認可財務機構的有聯繫實體應如持牌法團一樣符合《打撃洗錢指引》的條文。


按這裡下載文件


最後更新日期 : 2018年6月8日