Circular to Licensed Corporations and Associated Entities - Anti-Money Laundering / Counter-Terrorist Financing
United Nations Sanctions (Mali) Regulation

26 Jan 2018



Circular to Licensed Corporations and Associated Entities 

Anti-Money Laundering / Counter-Terrorist Financing 

United Nations Sanctions (Mali) Regulation

The United Nations Sanctions (Mali) Regulation ("the Mali Regulation"), made under the United Nations Sanctions Ordinance (Cap. 537) ("UNSO"), was published in the Gazette (L.N. 12 of 2018) on 26 January 2018 with immediate effect.

The Mali Regulation implements sanctions against Mali imposed by the United Nations Security Council under Resolution 2374.

We would like to draw licensed corporations’ ("LCs") and associated entities’ ("AEs") attention to section 2 of the Mali Regulation which provides for the prohibition against making available funds or other financial assets or economic resources to relevant persons or entities, or dealing with funds or other financial assets or economic resources of relevant persons or entities, except with a licence.

The aforesaid regulation can be found on the Government’s website (http://www.gld.gov.hk/egazette/pdf/20182204/es22018220412.pdf).

Furthermore, LCs and AEs are reminded to refer to Chapter 6 of the Guideline on Anti-Money Laundering and Counter-Terrorist Financing ("AML Guideline") which contains guidance on the appropriate measures that LCs and AEs should take to ensure compliance with the regulations made under the UNSO Note 1.

Should you have any queries regarding the contents of this circular, please contact Ms Kiki Wong on 2231 1569.

Intermediaries Supervision Department
Intermediaries Division
Securities and Futures Commission

End

SFO/IS/004/2018

Note 1 Under paragraph 6 of the Prevention of Money Laundering and Terrorist Financing Guideline issued by the Securities and Futures Commission for Associated Entities, AEs that are not authorized financial institutions are expected to have regard to the provisions of the AML Guideline as if they were themselves LCs.


Click here to download the document


Page last updated : 26 Jan 2018

致持牌法團及有聯繫實體的通函 - 打擊洗錢/恐怖分子資金籌集
《聯合國制裁(馬里)規例》

2018年1月26日



致持牌法團及有聯繫實體的通函 

打擊洗錢/恐怖分子資金籌集 

《聯合國制裁(馬里)規例》 

《聯合國制裁(馬里)規例》(“《馬里規例》”)已根據《聯合國制裁條例》(第537章)訂立,並於2018年1月26日在憲報刊登(2018年第12號法律公告),即時生效。 

《馬里規例》實施聯合國安全理事會第2374號決議對馬里施加的制裁。 

持牌法團及有聯繫實體應注意《馬里規例》第2條,當中訂明除非獲批予特許,否則禁止向有關人士或實體提供資金或其他財務資產或經濟資源,或處理有關人士或實體的資金或其他財務資產或經濟資源。 

上述規例可於政府網站(http://www.gld.gov.hk/egazette/pdf/20182204/cs22018220412.pdf)取覽。 

此外,持牌法團及有聯繫實體應參閱《打擊洗錢及恐怖分子資金籌集指引》(“《打撃洗錢指引》”)第6章,其中載有持牌法團及有聯繫實體應採取的適當措施的指引,以確保遵從根據《聯合國制裁條例》制訂的有關規例註1

如對本通函內容有任何疑問,請致電2231 1569與王凱琪女士聯絡。

證券及期貨事務監察委員會
中介機構部
中介機構監察科

SFO/IS/004/2018

註1 根據《證券及期貨事務監察委員會發出適用於有聯繫實體的防止洗錢及恐怖分子資金籌集的指引》第6段,作為非認可財務機構的有聯繫實體應如持牌法團一樣符合《打撃洗錢指引》的條文。


按這裡下載文件


最後更新日期 : 2018年1月26日