Circular to licensed corporations on best execution

30 Jan 2018



This circular sets out guidance on the standards of conduct and internal controls the Securities and Futures Commission (SFC) expects of licensed corporations (LCs) in delivering best execution.

The Code of Conduct for Persons Licensed by or Registered with the Securities and Futures Commission (Code of Conduct) requires that a licensed or registered person executes client orders on the best available terms[1] to deliver best execution. The SFC expects LCs to have in place arrangements, including controls, monitoring and management supervision, to obtain the best available terms. Such arrangements should be subject to periodic review to ensure best execution is achieved consistently.

The SFC recently conducted a thematic review[2] of selected LCs to assess the effectiveness and adequacy of their arrangements for delivering best execution. In the Report on the Thematic Review of Best Execution, issued today, the SFC shares detailed observations from the review and points out good industry practices for LCs to take into consideration.

The speed and complexity of trading have increased and execution is now mainly automated and electronic. LCs offer multifaceted products and services, including many products with unique features. In light of these developments and the results of the thematic review, the SFC provides further guidance on best execution as set out below.

1.    Governance and management supervision

Sufficient management oversight should be in place to ensure that trade exceptions and other matters related to best execution are brought to management’s attention for timely review.

Policies and procedures regarding best execution should be established to cover different types of financial instruments, including both listed and over-the-counter products, and should be reviewed and updated on a regular basis.

At a minimum, these policies and procedures should address the following areas:

 Where applicable, these policies and procedures should also address:

All relevant staff should be provided with periodic training on best execution as well as updates on internal policies and regulatory and technological developments.

2.    Best execution factors

Sufficient steps should be taken to obtain the best available terms when executing client orders, taking into account price, cost, speed of execution, likelihood of execution, speed of settlement, likelihood of settlement, size and nature of the order and any other relevant considerations.

The relative importance of each best execution factor may vary from case to case and best execution of certain types of instructions should be assessed against multiple factors. Where a client has given specific instructions which cover one part or aspect of an order, this should not be treated as releasing LCs from their best execution obligations for other parts or aspects of the order.

3.    Applicability of best execution

When LCs enter into agency or back-to-back principal transactions[3] with clients, the obligation to deliver best execution remains with LCs where clients rely on LCs to protect their interests in order execution.

When LCs enter into principal transactions with clients, other than those which are back-to-back in nature, LCs should carry out their own assessments to determine whether clients are relying on LCs to protect their interests, and whether the best execution obligation is owed, before applying any carve outs. 

4.    Responsibilities of execution staff

Execution staff and their supervisors form an important first line of defence in the trade execution process. Reasonable diligence should be demonstrated in handling client instructions, monitoring execution outcomes and, where applicable, taking steps to obtain multiple quotes. In the absence of multiple quotes, execution staff should obtain sufficient pricing information on a best-effort basis to validate quotes provided to clients. 

5.    Controls and monitoring

Controls and monitoring carried out by second and third lines of defence, such as compliance and internal audit functions, should be in place to review the quality of execution and to detect and address anomalies. Based on the characteristics of different financial instruments and the complexity and scale of the LCs operations, it should determine appropriate metrics and reference benchmarks to assess execution quality.   

6.    
Arrangements with affiliates, connected parties and third parties

Due diligence should be carried out on affiliates, connected parties or third parties engaged for execution, and a systematic process should be in place to continuously monitor execution outcomes. LCs should take action to ensure that execution arrangements with affiliates, connected parties and third parties do not undermine the delivery of best execution. Regardless of whether orders are executed through affiliates, connected parties or third parties, the obligation to deliver best execution remains with LCs.

The SFC will continue to monitor market and regulatory developments and may propose further measures.

Should you have any questions regarding the content of this circular, please contact the relevant case officers in charge.

Intermediaries Supervision Department
Intermediaries Division
Securities and Futures Commission

End

SFO/IS/005/2018


[1] Paragraph 3.2 of the Code of Conduct. Also see paragraph 3.2 of the Fund Manager Code of Conduct.
[2] The SFC announced the thematic review in the “Circular to Licensed Corporations – SFC notifies the industry of review on best execution and client facilitation” issued on 4 November 2016.
[3] Under paragraph 8.3 part A of the Code of Conduct, back-to-back transactions refer to those transactions where a licensed or registered person, after receiving –
(a) a purchase order from an investor, purchases an investment product from a third party and then sells the same investment product to the investor; or
(b) a sell order from an investor, purchases an investment product from the investor and then sells the same investment product to a third party,
and no market risk is taken by the licensed or registered person.


Click here to download the document

Supplementary document:
Report on the Thematic Review of Best Execution
30 January 2018


Page last updated : 30 Jan 2018

致持牌法團有關以最佳條件執行交易指示的通函

2018年1月30日



本通函旨在提供指引,以闡明證券及期貨事務監察委員會(證監會)期望持牌法團在以最佳條件執行交易指示時應達到的操守及內部監控標準。

《證券及期貨事務監察委員會持牌人或註冊人操守準則》(《操守準則》)規定,持牌人或註冊人須基於其所能取得的最佳條件[1],替客戶執行交易指示。證監會期望持牌法團作出安排(包括監控、監察及管理層監督),從而以其所能取得的最佳條件執行交易指示。有關安排應定期加以檢討,確保持續以最佳條件執行交易指示。

證監會近期對選定的持牌法團進行主題檢視[2] ,以評估它們有關以最佳條件執行交易指示的安排是否具有成效及充足。在今天發出的《關於以最佳條件執行交易指示的主題檢視報告》中,證監會詳細闡明在檢視中的觀察所得,並列出良好的業界作業手法,以供持牌法團參考。

由於現時主要以自動化及電子方式執行交易,因此交易的速度及複雜程度有所增加。持牌法團亦提供多元化的產品及服務,包括不少具獨有特點的產品。鑑於上述的發展及主題檢視的結果,證監會在下文載有關於以最佳條件執行交易指示的額外指引。

1.    管治及管理層的監督

持牌法團應制訂足夠的管理層監督措施,以確保將例外交易情況及其他有關以最佳條件執行交易指示的事宜提請管理層注意,以便作出適時的審核。

持牌法團應制訂有關以最佳條件執行交易指示的政策及程序,以涵蓋各類金融工具(包括上市及場外交易產品),以及應定期進行檢討及更新。

該等政策及程序至少應處理以下範疇:

在適用的情況下,該等政策及程序亦應處理下列事宜:

持牌法團應向所有相關職員定期提供有關以最佳條件執行交易指示的培訓,並通知職員有關內部政策的最新情況以及監管和科技發展。

2.    以最佳條件執行交易指示的元素

持牌法團在執行客戶的交易指示時,經考慮價格、成本、交易獲執行的速度、交易獲執行的可能性、交收的速度、交收的可能性、交易指示所涉及的數量及其性質,以及任何其他相關考慮因素後,應採取足夠的措施以取得其所能取得的最佳條件。

就以最佳條件執行交易指示的各項元素而言,其相對重要性可視乎情況而有所不同,而且持牌法團應該按照不同的元素去評估某些交易指示是否以最佳的條件執行。若客戶作出的特定指示只涵蓋某交易指示的其中某部分或方面,這不應視為持牌法團對有關指示的其他部分或方面並無負有以最佳條件執行交易指示的責任。

3.    以最佳條件執行交易指示的適用範圍

當持牌法團為客戶進行代客執行的交易或背對背主事人交易[3]時,由於客戶依賴持牌法團在執行交易指示時保障其權益,故該持牌法團仍負有以最佳條件執行交易指示的責任。

當持牌法團為客戶進行除背對背性質外的主事人交易時,持牌法團應自行作出評估以釐定客戶是否依賴持牌法團來保障其權益,及它們是否負有以最佳條件執行交易指示的責任,才決定是否應用任何豁免。

4.    執行交易指示的職員的責任

執行交易指示的職員及其主管在交易執行過程中是重要的第一道防線。持牌法團在處理客戶的指示時,應作出合理的盡職審查,監察執行結果,及在適當的情況下設法取得多個報價。在無法取得多個報價的情況下,執行交易指示的職員應盡力取得足夠的定價資料,以驗證向客戶提供的報價。

5.    監控及監察

持牌法團應制訂由第二和第三道防線(如合規和內部審核職能)所進行的監控及監察措施,藉此檢討執行質素以及偵測及處理異常情況。持牌法團應按照不同金融工具的特徵及其業務的規模和複雜程度,釐定適當的標準及參考基準,以評估執行質素。

6.    與聯屬公司、關連方及第三方的安排

持牌法團應對僱用作執行交易指示的聯屬公司、關連方或第三方進行盡職審查,並且應設立有系統的程序以持續監察執行結果。持牌法團應採取措施,確保與聯屬公司、關連方及第三方的執行安排不會對以最佳條件執行交易指示構成影響。不論交易指示是否透過聯屬公司、關連方及第三方執行,以最佳條件執行交易指示的責任仍然屬於持牌法團。

證監會將繼續監察市場及監管發展,並可能會提出進一步的措施。

如對本通函內容有任何疑問,請聯絡負責的相關個案主任。

證券及期貨事務監察委員會
中介機構部
中介機構監察科

[SFO/IS/005/2018]


[1] 《操守準則》第3.2段。亦見《基金經理操守準則 》第3.2段。
[2] 證監會在2016年11月4日發出的《致持牌法團的通函-證監會通知業界有關對以最佳條件執行交易指示及利便客戶服務進行的檢視》內公布進行有關主題檢視。
[3] 根據《操守準則》第8.3段A部,背對背交易是指那些持牌人或註冊人在接獲 ─
(a) 投資者的認購指示後,向第三方購入投資產品,然後再將同一投資產品轉售予該投資者的交易;或
(b) 投資者的認沽指示後,向投資者購入投資產品,然後再將同一投資產品轉售予第三方的交易,
當中持牌人或註冊人無須承擔市場風險。


按這裡下載文件

附錄文件:
關於以最佳條件執行交易指示的主題檢視報告
2018年1月30日


最後更新日期 : 2018年1月30日