Directors of the Commission



Executive
Directors
(seated, left to
right):
Mark Dickens,
Laura M Cha,
Andrew L T Sheng,
David White
(standing, left to
right):
Andrew Procter,
David Stannard

Executive Directors

Andrew L T Sheng, SBS, Chairman (from 1 October 1998) Chartered Accountant, Deputy Chief Executive, Hong Kong Monetary Authority, 1993-98; Career with Central Bank of Malaysia, 1976-89; Seconded to the World Bank, Washington, D.C., 1989-93.

Anthony Neoh, SC, JP, Chairman (to 30 September 1998) Senior Counsel, 1990; Vice-Chairman, Council of the Chinese University of Hong Kong, 1995; Member of the Council, The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong, 1991-94; Practice at the Hong Kong Bar, 1979-95 and California Bar, 1984-95; Administrative Officer, Hong Kong Government 1969-79.

Laura M Cha, JP, Deputy Chairman and Chief Operating Officer Executive Director and Senior Director of Corporate Finance Division, 1991-97; Council Member, Hong Kong University of Science and Technology; Attorney, Coudert Brothers, Hong Kong, 1985-90; Pillsbury, Madison and Sutro, San Francisco, 1982-84.

Mark Dickens, Executive Director, Enforcement Division Senior Director of Corporate Finance Division, 1991-96; Various positions with Australian National Companies and Securities Commission, including General Counsel and Senior Director, Market Supervision, 1980-91. **David White,** JP, Executive Director, Supervision of Markets Division Director, Derivatives and Market Development, Australian Stock Exchange, 1992-95; Executive Director, Operations and various positions with County NatWest, 1986-92; Director and Group General Manager, Dominguez Barry Samuel Montagu, 1983-86; General Manager, Citicorp Australia Group, 1977-83.

Andrew Procter, Executive Director, Intermediaries and Investment Products Division

Senior Policy Advisor to the Commission, 1997; National Enforcement Coordinator and Acting Commission Member, Australian Securities Commission, 1992-96.

David Stannard, Executive Director, Corporate Finance Division (from 1 January 1999)

Norton Rose, 1979-98, Partner 1987-98, located in Hong Kong Office, 1983-98; Chairman, Sub-committee on Securities Law of the Hong Kong Law Society, 1996-98.



Non-Executive Directors

The Hon Ronald Arculli, JP

Member, Legislative Council since 1988 and representing the Real Estate and Construction Functional Constituency since 1991; a partner of a firm of solicitors in Hong Kong and holds a number of the directorships in the listed companies in Hong Kong.

Henry H L Fan, JP

Managing Director, CITIC Pacific Limited; Deputy Chairman, Cathay Pacific Airways Limited; Director, CLP Holdings Limited; Member, Services Promotion Strategy Group; Member, Advisory Committee on Corruption; Member, Standing Committee on Company Law Reform.

Robert Kotewall, SC (to 31 December 1998)

Senior Counsel, 1989; Chairman, Occupational Retirement Schemes Appeal Board; Member, Standing Committee on Company Law Reform; Member, Subcommittee on Civil Evidence of Law Reform Commission.

Raymond P L Kwok (from 1 August 1998)

Vice Chairman and Managing Director, Sun Hung Kai Properties Limited; Chairman, SmarTone Telecommunications Holdings Limited; Vice Chairman, the Kowloon Motor Bus Holdings Limited; Director, Route 3 (CPS) Company Limited and Airport Freight Forwarding Centre Company Limited.

Brian Stevenson, SBS (from 1 January 1999)

Chartered Accountant; Chairman and Managing Partner, Ernst & Young Hong Kong and China; Member, General Committee of the Hong Kong General Chamber of Commerce; Member, Hong Kong Government's Services Promotion Strategy Group.

Anna H Y Wu, JP (from 1 January 1999)

Chairman, Consumer Council; Chairman, Operations Review Committee of the Independent Commission Against Corruption; Cochairperson, Provisional Council on Reproductive Technology; Member, Equal Opportunities Commission; Member, Legislative Council, 1993-95.

Daniel R Fung, QC,SC (from 1 January 1999)

Queen's Counsel 1990; Senior Counsel 1997; Former Solicitor General, 1994-98; Member, Central Policy Unit, 1993-94; Member, Basic Law Consultative Committee 1985-90; Board member, Airport Authority 1999; President, China Law Council; Chairman, Hong Kong Advocacy Institute.

Roderick Chalmers (to 31 December 1998)

Chartered Accountant; Managing Partner, PriceWaterhouseCoopers, Hong Kong.

Ronnie C Chan (to 31 July 1998)

Chairman, Hang Lung Development Group; Director, Morningside/ Springfield Group. Non-Executive
Directors
(seated, left to right):
Henry H L Fan,
Raymond P L Kwok,
Anna H Y Wu,
Brian Stevenson,
(standing, left to right):
Hon Ronald Arculli,
Robert Kotewall,
Daniel R Fung