Securities & Futures Commission of Hong Kong

Public consultation

Why we consult the public

We advocate regulatory transparency. One way of achieving this is through the process of public consultation on regulatory proposals.

Public consultation helps market participants understand the goals of our proposals and enables them to contribute to creating and maintaining an effective regulatory regime. It also assists us in our decision-making process, ensures that our proposals meet the needs of the market and the investing public, and enhances our accountability.

Our public consultation procedures were fully vetted in 2002-2003 by the Process Review Panel, an independent body appointed by the Chief Executive of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region to review the SFC's internal procedures.

Our ongoing and completed consultations are available in the "Consultations and conclusions" section of our website.

 What we are required to do 

The SFC has the power to make rules under various provisions of the SFO. Section 398 of the SFO requires us to consult the public (and also the Hong Kong Monetary Authority (HKMA) in certain circumstances) if we propose to make such rules. We are required to publish:

  • a draft of the proposed rules for consideration by the public;
  • an account setting out in general terms the public's representations on the draft rules and our response to the representations; and
  • details of rule amendments which in our opinion may result in the rules being significantly different from the draft.

The SFO also specifies certain limited circumstances when public consultation is not required, ie, if it is inappropriate or unnecessary or if the delay involved in consulting the public would not be in the interest of the investing public or in the public interest.

 What we do in addition 

We consistently exceed statutory requirements for consulting the public on rules we propose to make under the SFO by consulting both on proposed non-statutory codes and guidelines and on amendments to them. Our consultation documents are readily accessible to the public on our website and we arrange for comments to be received by mail, fax, email, and via the website. 
 
During the consultation process, our practice is to conduct various rounds of both formal and informal consultations with relevant stakeholders to seek their views on our proposals. We carefully consider all feedback received. To ensure transparency, we summarise the suggestions in the consultation conclusions paper and provide our comments on them (including reasons why particular suggestions are not adopted). 

 Consultation procedures 

The main features of our procedures are set out below:

1. Pre-consultation

Depending on the nature of the proposal, the SFC will consider whether it should hold joint discussions with other agencies, such as the Financial Services and the Treasury Bureau and the Hong Kong Monetary Authority. 
 
The SFC may meet with relevant industry representatives and working groups to discuss proposals. Before finalising a consultation paper. We solicit views from a mix of industry participants as well as advice from other bodies1 . The SFC also holds regular meetings with industry bodies2 at which proposals may be discussed.
 
The SFC also considers whether or not a proposal requires public consultation. Only in very limited circumstances will we dispense with public consultation in favour of a proxy form of public consultation (eg, a focused consultation of interested parties). Such circumstances might include where the proposed changes are minor and uncontroversial or where a delay in implementing a proposal would not be in the interest of the investing public or the public interest.

2. Consultation

The SFC prepares a consultation paper containing a detailed description of the proposal and the reasons for introducing it; the draft text of any new or revised rules, codes or guidelines related to the proposal; and contact details where comments may be sent. 
 
Consultation papers are available in Chinese and English on our website. Printed copies are also available from our office. 
 
The SFC tries to allow sufficient time for the public to comment on our proposals. In setting the duration of the consultation period, we take into account factors such as the urgency and complexity of the proposals and whether they are likely to be controversial. During the consultation period, the SFC may hold seminars and meetings with selected stakeholders and working groups to explain our proposals and to seek feedback.

3. Analysis

The SFC carefully considers all representations received during the consultation process and assesses the level of market support for the proposal. We then consider whether or not the proposal needs to be amended in light of representations received from the public. If so, the rules, codes or guidelines in question are amended accordingly.

4. Conclusions

Depending on the subject matter, the SFC may consult relevant industry working groups prior to finalising a conclusions paper.  
  
After we complete our analysis, we prepare a consultation conclusions paper summarising the main comments received from the public and setting out our responses and conclusions (including whether the comments are accepted, the reasons for any non-acceptance and details of additional amendments to the proposals). 
 
We also issue press releases to inform the public about consultation conclusions.

Copies of conclusions papers, in Chinese and English, are available from our office and are posted on our website. In many cases, copies of the actual submissions received from members of the public are also featured on the website (except where a respondent has withheld permission to do so). 

1 Eg, the SFC's Advisory Committee or Public Shareholders Group or the Consumer Council.
2 Eg, brokers' associations.

 

3.5193 s

證監會

公眾諮詢

為何諮詢公眾

本會主張監管工作應具備透明度,而公布各項重大的監管建議,並諮詢公眾意見,是達致此目標的方法之一。

進行公眾諮詢有助市場人士了解各項監管建議的目標,而公眾可提出意見,為建立及維持有效的監管制度作出貢獻。此舉亦有助我們作出決策,確保我們的建議切合市場及投資者的需要,並有助加強問責。

程序覆檢委員會是香港特別行政區行政長官所委任的獨立團體,負責覆檢證監會的內部程序。該委員會在2002-2003年曾就我們的公眾諮詢程序加以考慮及予以通過。

證監會網站〈諮詢文件及諮詢總結〉一欄載有關於正在進行及已結束的諮詢的資料。

 我們須符合的要求 

證監會有權根據《證券及期貨條例》(該條例)多項條文訂立規則。根據該條例第398條,如證監會擬訂立任何規則,必須徵詢公眾意見(在某些情況下,亦須徵詢香港金融管理局(金管局)的意見)。我們須發表:

  • 規則草擬本供公眾考慮;
  • 報告並以概括字句列出公眾就該草擬本所作的申述,以及我們對該等申述的回應;及
  • 我們認為可能導致該等規則與草擬本有重大差異的規則修訂的詳情。

該條例亦指明了一些無須進行公眾諮詢的情況,例如作出諮詢是不適當或不必要的做法,或諮詢公眾意見所導致的延誤並不符合投資大眾的利益或公眾利益,便毋須進行公眾諮詢。

 我們的額外舉措 

證監會一貫以來都會就擬根據《證券及期貨條例》訂立的規則徵詢公眾意見,比有關的法定要求做得更多,縱使是擬訂立非法定規則、指引及有關的修訂,我們仍會進行公眾諮詢。公眾可以透過證監會網站輕易取覽我們的諮詢文件,亦可以郵寄、傳真、電郵及網上呈交方式提交意見書。

在進行諮詢的過程中,我們的慣例是就建議向相關持份者同時作出多輪正式及非正式的諮詢,以便搜集其意見。我們會仔細考慮所接獲的所有回應。為了確保諮詢的透明度,我們會在諮詢總結文件中概述接獲的意見並作出回應(包括解釋某些提議不獲接納的原因)。

 諮詢程序 

我們的諮詢程序的主要特點如下:

1. 諮詢前期

證監會將會視乎某項建議的性質,考慮應否與其他機構(例如財經事務及庫務局與香港金融管理局)共同商議。

證監會可能會與相關的業界代表及工作小組會面及商討建議。在落實諮詢文件的建議之前,我們會向不同市場參與者徵詢意見,亦會尋求其他團體1的意見。證監會亦可能會在其與業界團體2的定期會面中討論建議。

證監會亦會考慮是否須就建議徵詢公眾意見。我們只會在極少數情況下選擇進行具代表性的公眾諮詢(例如集中諮詢相關的團體),而放棄全面的公眾諮詢。這些情況或包括擬作出的修訂並不重大或無爭議性,或延遲落實建議的做法並不符合投資大眾的利益或公眾利益。

2. 諮詢

證監會編製的諮詢文件內容包括建議的詳細描述及提出建議的理據;與建議有關的新訂或經修訂規則、守則或指引的草擬本;以及證監會的詳細聯絡資料,讓公眾可以透過不同途徑呈交意見書。

中/英文版本的諮詢文件在證監會網站可供下載,印刷本亦會在本會辦事處派發。

證監會盡量給予公眾足夠時間就建議發表意見。在釐定諮詢期長短時,我們會顧及若干因素,例如建議的迫切性及複雜程度以及會否引起爭議等。諮詢期間,證監會可能會為若干相關持份者及工作小組舉辦研討會及與其會面,以解釋本會的建議及聽取回應。

3. 分析

證監會將會仔細考慮在諮詢期接獲的所有申述意見,並評估市場對該建議的支持程度。然後,我們會考慮是否需要就所接獲的公眾申述而對有關建議作出修改。如果有此需要,有關的規則、守則或指引便會作出相應的修訂。

4. 總結

證監會在編製諮詢總結文件的定稿前,可能會視乎有關建議的主題事宜而諮詢相關的業界工作小組的意見。

經過分析後,我們會編製諮詢總結文件,概述接獲的主要公眾意見,並詳述我們的回應和結論(包括有關的意見是否獲得接納、不接納有關意見的原因,以及建議的新增修訂詳情等)。證監會亦會發出新聞稿,通知公眾有關的諮詢總結。

中/英文版本的諮詢總結文件會在證監會辦事處派發及在證監會網站登載。除非回應者拒絕公開其意見書的內容,在多數情況下,公眾人士實際呈交的意見書亦會登載於證監會網站。

1 例如證監會的諮詢委員會或公眾股東權益小組,或消費者委員會。
例如各經紀協會。

免责声明 Disclaimer statement

香港证券及期货事务监察委员会(简称证监会)于本网站免费提供一套繁简字体转换软件(该软件)。证监会允许本网站的使用者利用该软件将本网站内容由繁体中文版转换成为简体中文版。证监会不会就该软件欠妥之处承担任何法律责任,亦不会就其品质及性能作出任何担保;尤其是在无损前述的一般性的原则下,证监会无需就该软件对某用途的恰当性、其品质或可商售性承担任何该等明示或隐含的、法定或非法定的法律责任。

证监会明确陈述,本会并无核准或认可本网站内容的简体中文版,以及对于本网站内容的简体中文版不承担任何责任或法律责任(不论是何种及如何引致的责任或法律责任)。证监会同时明确陈述,本网站的简体中文版纯粹是利用该软件将繁体中文版内的中文字体转换成简体中文字而得来的,当中并不涉及香港特区与内地的用词及语句的对应转换。对于该简体中文版的内容的恰当性,证监会不承担任何责任或法律责任。在任何情况下,使用者都不应视本网站内容的简体中文版为其繁体中文版的对应版本。使用者应该参照该简体中文版的已发布繁体中文版来核实该简体中文版的网站内容,并且应该在依赖本网站内容的简体中文版或根据其内容行事之前,就该版本的内容的法律效力、有效性和效果自费征询独立的法律意见。

如果你将证监会网站的简体中文版的内容或网址传送予第三者,你承诺会将本免责声明同时传送予该第三者,并保证该第三者在浏览本网站的简体中文版的内容之前同意接纳本免责声明。

The Securities and Futures Commission (SFC) provides a character-based conversion software (this Software) free of charge in this website. Permission is granted for users to use this Software to convert the web content from traditional Chinese character version to simplified Chinese character version. The SFC undertakes no liability for defects in this Software and gives no warranty in relation to its quality and performance and in particular, but without prejudice to the generality of the foregoing, the SFC shall have no such liability regarding the fitness for purpose, quality or merchantability of this Software, whether express or implied, statutory or otherwise.

The SFC expressly states that it has not approved or endorsed the simplified Chinese character version of the web content and the SFC accepts no responsibility or liability (whatsoever and howsoever caused) for such simplified Chinese character version of the web content. The SFC also expressly states that this simplified Chinese character version of the website is solely established by converting the characters in the traditional Chinese character version via this Software, which involves no corresponding conversion between the terms and expressions used in the Hong Kong SAR and Mainland China. The SFC accepts no responsibility or liability for the fitness of the content of the simplified Chinese character version. Under no circumstances should users treat the simplified Chinese character version of the web content as an equivalent of the traditional Chinese character version thereof. Users should verify the simplified Chinese character version of the web content by making reference to the published traditional Chinese character version thereof, and should at their own costs seek independent legal advice on the legal status, validity and effect of the simplified Chinese character version of the web content before relying or acting upon it.

If you transmit the content of this simplified Chinese character version website or its URL to any third party, you agree to forward this Disclaimer Statement at the same time to the third party and guarantee that the third party agrees to accept this Disclaimer Statement before browsing the content of the simplified Chinese character version of this website.

3.7430 s