Securities & Futures Commission of Hong Kong

Privacy policy statement

1. Statement of policy

We respect personal data privacy and are committed to complying with the requirements of the Personal Data (Privacy) Ordinance (PDPO).  In doing so, we strive to ensure compliance by our staff with the strictest standards of security and confidentiality.

2. Statement of practice on personal data held by us

We may collect and hold personal data as an employer, a financial regulator and in performing our statutory functions under the relevant laws and regulations.  When we collect personal data from individuals, we will provide them with a Personal Information Collection Statement (PICS) on or before the collection in an appropriate format and manner.  The PICS will state (among other matters) the purpose of the collection.

The broad categories of personal data held by us, and the main purposes of use are:

(a) personnel records, used for recruitment and human resources management purposes;

(b) licensing / registration application records and related returns and notifications, and submissions in response to public consultation papers, used for the purposes set out in the PICS for the relevant document;

(c) enquiry, complaint, inspection, supervisory, investigation and enforcement records, used for responding to enquiries and complaints, and performing our statutory and administrative functions and activities;

(d) records collected via our websites, used for the purposes stated in section 3 below;

(e) other administration and operational records, used for various purposes depending on the nature of the record (e.g. for administration of functions and activities, organizing and delivering promotional, educational and training activities, subscription of publications etc.).

Such personal data may include sensitive personal data (e.g. health information).  The provision of personal data is generally voluntary unless otherwise specified.  A failure to provide the requested personal data, or the provision of inaccurate or incomplete information may result in us not being able to process your request, application, submission, enquiry, complaint or matter (as the case may be), or for us to perform our statutory and administrative functions under the relevant laws and regulations.

In performing our statutory and administrative functions under the relevant laws and regulations, personal data held by us may be disclosed to relevant courts, panels, tribunals and committees, and/or other local and/or overseas regulatory / government / judicial bodies as permitted or required under the law, pursuant to any regulatory / supervisory / investigatory assistance arrangements between us and other regulators (local / overseas), or persons engaged by us to assist us in the performance of our statutory functions.  Information collected in response to public consultation papers may be disclosed to members of the public in Hong Kong or elsewhere.

Where personal data is transferred to place(s) outside of Hong Kong in connection with such purposes, such place(s) may or may not offer the same or a similar level of personal data protection as in Hong Kong.

3. Personal data collected via forms / sections of our website

Without prejudice to our statement of practice on personal data held by us as mentioned above, generally:

(a) The information you provide in the "Contact us" section, the "Fintech Contact Point" or other similar section / function on this website is used by us to respond to or handle your enquiries, comments, suggestions or matter.  The personal data will not be used for any other purposes, disclosed or transferred without your consent, unless such use, disclosure or transfer is permitted or required by law.

(b) Personal data collected from subscribers of the subscription service is used by us to alert you, to send you copies of the requested information and to compile statistics of our readership.  The personal data will not be used for any other purposes, disclosed or transferred without your consent unless such use, disclosure or transfer is permitted or required by law.

(c) Personal data collected through online forms (including applications for licence, statement of personal information, annual return, notification of change of information) is used, disclosed or transferred for the purposes as set out in the PICS for the relevant forms.

(d) Personal data collected through submissions in response to public consultation papers is used, disclosed or transferred for the purposes as set out in the PICS for the relevant consultation paper.

(e) Personal data provided in the "Complaint form" will be used, disclosed or transferred only for those purposes related to the complaint (for example, it may need to be disclosed to the person / company against whom a complaint has been made), for discharging our statutory functions or where permitted or required by law.  If the information provided is inaccurate or incomplete, consideration of the complaint may be affected.

If necessary, we will request a complainant to provide written authority to allow us to release information provided in his/her complaint, by sending him/her an "Authorization to the SFC to release information" Form for signature and return to us.  If no response is received from the complainant, it may not be possible for any further action to be taken to process the complaint (see Note below).

A complainant must inform us by writing to the Data Privacy Officer, at the address set out below, if he/she would like to keep his/her identity confidential or if he/she does not want his/her personal data used for purposes related to the complaint.  In such a case, it is possible that no further action may be taken to process the complaint (see Note below).

(f) Personal data collected from job applicants who respond to a recruitment advertisement posted on our website is used for consideration of the applicants' job application, and for recruitment related purposes, and will not be used for any other purposes, disclosed or transferred without your consent, unless such use, disclosure or transfer is permitted or required by law.

4. Information collected when you visit our website

(a) When you visit our website, a record of your visit is made as a "hit", which may show your Internet Protocol (IP) address and the pages you have visited.  No personally identifiable information is collected under this circumstance.  We use such information for statistical purposes, and for the purposes of maintaining and improving our website.

(b) When you browse our website, you should be aware that cookies are used.  Cookies are data files stored on your computer's hard drive.  Our website automatically installs and uses cookies on your browser when you access it.  The types of cookies used on our website are session cookies and persistent cookies.  The purpose of using cookies is to help us improve website performance and user's experience.

The cookies used in connection with our website does not collect or store personally identifiable information.  You may refuse to accept cookies on your browser by modifying the settings in your browser or internet security software.  However, if you do so, you may not be able to utilize or activate certain functions available on our website (e.g. user surveys).

5. Retention

Different retention periods apply to the various kinds of personal data collected and held by us.  We take all reasonably practicable steps to ensure that personal data will not be kept longer than is necessary for the fulfilment of the purposes (or any directly related purpose) for which the data is or is to be used, unless the retention is otherwise permitted or required by law.

In relation to the personal data collected via this website:

(a) Personal data provided under the "Contact us" section will be automatically deleted 90 days after any follow-up action has been completed, unless it is a complaint to us, in which case it will be retained for such period as may be necessary for the proper discharge of our functions.  Personal data provided under the "Fintech Contact Point" or other section / function on this website similar to the "Contact us" section or "Fintech Contact Point" is retained for such period as may be necessary for the proper discharge of our functions.

(b) Personal data provided when you sign up for the subscription service will automatically be deleted 90 days after you unsubscribe from the service.

(c) Personal data provided (whether submitted electronically or physically via forms available on this website) in any licensing application form, statement of personal information, annual return, notification on change of information and any other form of request for information is retained for such period as may be necessary for the proper discharge of our functions.

(d) Personal data provided in submissions in response to public consultation papers is retained for such period as may be necessary for the proper discharge of our functions.

(e) Personal data provided in the "Complaint Form" is retained for such period as may be necessary for the proper discharge of our functions.

(f) In relation to personal data collected from job applicants who respond to a recruitment advertisement posted on our website, where the application is unsuccessful, all such personal data will be destroyed after six months from the date of the application deadline.

6. Public registers

We are required to maintain public registers containing specified data relating to licensed or registered persons and to publish such specified data in the Gazette (or in such manner as we consider appropriate), pursuant to the relevant provisions of the Securities and Futures Ordinance or any rules or regulations made thereunder.  In this connection, such public registers may contain certain personal data of licensed or registered persons, and the public in Hong Kong or elsewhere may inspect such public registers.  Please see "Important legal information about the Public Register of Licensed Persons and Registered Institutions".

7. Security

We take appropriate steps to protect personal data we hold against loss, unauthorized access, use, modification or disclosure.  All personal data you provide to us on this website is secured on our website.

8. Access and correction / enquiries

You have the right to request access to and correction of your personal data held by us about you in accordance with the provisions of the PDPO.  Please note that all data access requests should be made using the form specified by the Privacy Commissioner for Personal Data which is accessible from the following link "Data Access Request Form".

When handling a data access or correction request, we will check the identity of the requestor to ensure that he/she is the person legally entitled to make the data access or correction request.  We have the right to charge a fee for processing of any data access request.

We do not provide online facilities for you to delete or correct personal data held by us.

Any enquiries regarding personal data, or requests for access to personal data or correction of personal data, should be addressed in writing to:

The Data Privacy Officer
Securities and Futures Commission
35th Floor, Cheung Kong Center
2 Queen's Road Central
Hong Kong

Note: Please note however, that where a complainant discloses information to us, and notwithstanding our policy that wherever possible the identity of complainants should not be revealed to outside parties, if the information is held or used for certain purposes related to law enforcement and regulation, we are exempt from the application of data protection principles 3 and 6 (use of personal data and access to personal data) by section 58 of the PDPO.  The information can then be used for these purposes whether or not a complainant gives authority.  The purposes include the prevention, preclusion or remedying (including punishment) of unlawful or seriously improper conduct, and protecting the public from financial loss arising from dishonesty, incompetence, malpractice or seriously improper conduct by persons concerned in the provision of financial services.

3.3346 s

證監會

私隱政策聲明

1. 政策聲明

我們尊重個人資料私隱,並承諾遵守《個人資料(私隱)條例》的規定。為此,我們致力確保本會職員遵守最嚴格的保安及保密標準。

2. 我們所持有的個人資料的實務聲明

我們可能以僱主和金融監管機構的身分,以及在根據相關法例及法規履行本會的法定職能時,收集及持有個人資料。我們在向個別人士收集個人資料之時或之前,會以適當的形式及方法向他們提供《個人資料收集聲明》。《個人資料收集聲明》會述明(除其他事項外)收集資料的目的。

我們所持有的個人資料的大致類別及主要用途如下:

(a) 人事紀錄,用於招聘及人力資源管理的用途;

(b) 牌照/註冊申請紀錄及相關申報表和通知書,以及回應公眾諮詢文件的意見書,用於相關文件的《個人資料收集聲明》所列明的用途;

(c) 查詢、投訴、視察、監督、調查及執法紀錄,用於回覆查詢和投訴,以及履行本會的法定和行政職能和進行相關活動;

(d) 透過本會網站所收集的紀錄,用於下文第3節所述的用途;

(e) 其他行政及營運紀錄,視乎紀錄的性質而用於不同的用途(例如,供執行職能和進行相關活動,組織和舉辦推廣、教育及培訓活動,訂閱刊物等)。

有關個人資料可能包括敏感的個人資料(例如健康資料)。除非另有指明,否則提供個人資料一般屬自願性質。如所要求的個人資料未獲提供,或所提供的資料屬不準確或不齊全,可能導致我們未能處理你的請求、申請、意見書、查詢、投訴或其他事宜(視情況而定),或令我們未能根據相關法例及法規履行本會的法定及行政職能。

在根據相關法例及法規履行本會的法定及行政職能時,我們所持有的個人資料可能會披露予相關法庭、審裁處和委員會,及/或(在法例容許或有所規定的情況下)依據我們與其他監管機構(本地/海外)之間的任何監管/監督/調查協助安排,披露予其他本地及/或海外監管/政府/司法機構,或由我們委聘協助本會履行法定職能的人士。為回應公眾諮詢文件而提供的資料可能會披露予香港或其他地區的公眾人士。

當個人資料在與該等目的有關的情況下被轉移至香港以外地區時,該等地區可能或可能不會提供與香港相同或水平相若的個人資料保障。

3. 透過本會網站內的表格/欄目收集的個人資料

一般而言,在不影響本會就我們持有的個人資料所發表的上述實務聲明的前提下:

(a) 我們會將你在"聯絡我們"、"金融科技聯絡辦事處"或本會網站其他類似的欄目/功能內提供的資料,用於回覆或處理你的查詢、意見、建議或其他事宜。除非法例容許或有所規定,否則有關個人資料不會未經你的同意而用作其他用途、予以披露或轉移。

(b) 在訂閱服務一欄收集的個人資料,將用於向訂戶發出提示及傳送訂閱資訊,並用作編製讀者統計資料。除非法例容許或有所規定,否則有關個人資料不會未經你的同意而用作其他用途、予以披露或轉移。

(c) 透過網上表格(包括牌照申請表格、個人資料聲明、周年申報表及更改資料通知書)收集的個人資料,將為相關表格內的《個人資料收集聲明》所列明的目的而予以使用、披露或轉移。

(d) 透過對公眾諮詢文件作出回應的意見而收集的個人資料,將為相關諮詢文件內的《個人資料收集聲明》所列明的目的而予以使用、披露或轉移。

(e) 在"投訴表格"內提供的個人資料,只會在與投訴有關(例如可能需要向被投訴人士/公司披露資料)、為了履行我們的法定職能,或法例容許或有所規定的情況下使用、披露或轉移。如投訴人提供的資料不準確或不齊全,有關投訴的處理可能會受到影響。

如有需要,本會將向投訴人寄發"授權證監會披露資料的授權書",要求投訴人以書面授權本會披露其在投訴內所提供的資料,而投訴人須簽署該授權書並交回本會。如沒有接獲投訴人的回覆,本會可能無法採取進一步行動處理有關投訴(見下文的備註)。

投訴人如欲將身分保密或不希望其個人資料用於與投訴有關的用途,必須致函下述地址通知本會的個人資料私隱主任。在此情況下,本會可能無法採取進一步行動處理有關投訴(見下文的備註)。

(f) 回應刊登在本會網站上的招聘廣告的求職者所提供的個人資料,用於處理該求職者的工作申請及與招聘有關的用途,以及除非法例容許或有所規定,否則有關個人資料不會未經你的同意而用作其他用途、予以披露或轉移。

4. 瀏覽本會網站時收集的資料

(a) 當你瀏覽本會網站時,有關你到訪的資料將以一項"點擊紀錄"的形式記下,而該項紀錄可能會顯示你的互聯網規約(IP)地址及曾瀏覽的網頁,但不會收集任何可辨識你身分的個人資料。我們會將有關資料用作統計用途,以及用來維護和改良本會網站。

(b) 請注意,我們會在你瀏覽本會網站時使用曲奇檔案(Cookies)。曲奇檔案是儲存於你的電腦硬碟上的數據檔案。當你瀏覽本會網站時,我們會在你的瀏覽器上自動安裝及使用曲奇檔案。在本會網站上使用的曲奇檔案類型有工作階段曲奇檔案(Session cookies)和持久曲奇檔案(Persistent cookies)。使用曲奇檔案的目的是幫助我們提升網站的性能和用戶體驗。

本會網站所使用的曲奇檔案不會收集或儲存可識別的個人資料。你可以更改你的瀏覽器或互聯網安全軟件的設定,以拒絕接受曲奇檔案。不過,如果你拒絕接受曲奇檔案,便可能無法使用或啟動本會網站上的某些功能(例如用戶調查)。

5. 保留資料

本會收集及持有的不同類型個人資料都有不同的保留期限。我們會採取一切合理可行的措施,確保個人資料不會保留超過為達致使用或擬使用有關資料的目的(或任何直接相關目的)所需的時間,惟法例容許或有所規定者除外。

關於透過本會網站收集的個人資料:

(a) 在"聯絡我們"一欄內提供的個人資料,將於任何跟進行動結束後第90天自動刪除,但如屬投訴個案,所提供的資料則會按本會為妥善履行職能的需要而保留一段適當時間。在"金融科技聯絡辦事處"或本會網站其他與"聯絡我們"或"金融科技聯絡辦事處"類似的欄目/功能內提供的資料,將按本會為妥善履行職能的需要而保留一段適當時間。

(b) 在登記使用訂閱服務時提供的個人資料,將於取消使用該項服務後第90天自動刪除。

(c) 在任何牌照申請表格、個人資料聲明、周年申報表、更改資料通知書及任何其他要求提供資料的表格(透過本網站上的表格以電子方式或以紙張形式提交)內提供的個人資料,均會按本會為妥善履行職能的需要而保留一段適當時間。

(d) 在回應公眾諮詢文件的意見書內提供的個人資料,將按本會為妥善履行職能的需要而保留一段適當時間。

(e) 在"投訴表格"內提供的個人資料,將按本會為妥善履行職能的需要而保留一段適當時間。

(f) 回應刊登在本會網站上的招聘廣告的求職者所提供的個人資料,在有關申請不成功的情況下,會在申請截止日期起計六個月後銷毀。

6. 公眾紀錄冊

依據《證券及期貨條例》的有關條文或任何根據該條例制訂的規則或規例,本會須備存載有持牌人或註冊人的指明資料的公眾紀錄冊,以及將該等指明資料於憲報(或以本會認為適當的方式)刊登。就此而言,該等公眾紀錄冊可能載有持牌人或註冊人的若干個人資料,而香港或其他地區的公眾人士可查閱該等公眾紀錄冊。請參閱"有關持牌人及註冊機構的公眾紀錄冊的重要法律資料"。

7. 保護個人資料

本會採取適當步驟保護本會持有的個人資料,以免該等資料有所遺失、在未經授權的情況下被查閱、使用、修改或披露。你在本網站向本會提供的所有個人資料均受到保護。

8. 查閱及更正個人資料/查詢

根據《個人資料(私隱)條例》的條文,你有權要求查閱及更正本會所持有關於你的個人資料。請注意,所有查閱資料的要求均應以香港個人資料私隱專員公署指明的表格提出,有關表格可透過以下連結取得:"查閱資料要求表格"。

本會在處理查閱或更正資料的要求時,會檢查提出要求者的身分,以確保該人有合法權力提出查閱或更正資料的要求。本會有權就處理任何查閱資料的要求收取費用。

本會並沒有提供網上設施讓你刪除或更正本會持有的個人資料。

有關個人資料的任何查詢,或查閱或更正個人資料的要求,均應以書面形式向以下人士提出:

個人資料私隱主任
證券及期貨事務監察委員會
香港
皇后大道中2號
長江集團中心35樓

備註:然而,請留意,凡有投訴人向本會披露資料,即使本會的政策是在任何可行的情況下均不應向外界透露投訴人的身分,但如該項資料是為某些與執法及規管有關的目的而持有或使用的話,本會根據《個人資料(私隱)條例》第58條獲豁免而不受第3及6項保障資料原則(使用及查閱個人資料)所管限。因此,不論投訴人有否作出授權,本會仍可為該等目的而使用有關資料。該等目的包括防止、排除或糾正(包括懲處)不合法或嚴重不當的行為,以及保障公眾免受因提供財經服務的人的不誠實行為、不勝任、不良行為或嚴重不當的行為而導致的財政損失。

免责声明 Disclaimer statement

香港证券及期货事务监察委员会(简称证监会)于本网站免费提供一套繁简字体转换软件(该软件)。证监会允许本网站的使用者利用该软件将本网站内容由繁体中文版转换成为简体中文版。证监会不会就该软件欠妥之处承担任何法律责任,亦不会就其品质及性能作出任何担保;尤其是在无损前述的一般性的原则下,证监会无需就该软件对某用途的恰当性、其品质或可商售性承担任何该等明示或隐含的、法定或非法定的法律责任。

证监会明确陈述,本会并无核准或认可本网站内容的简体中文版,以及对于本网站内容的简体中文版不承担任何责任或法律责任(不论是何种及如何引致的责任或法律责任)。证监会同时明确陈述,本网站的简体中文版纯粹是利用该软件将繁体中文版内的中文字体转换成简体中文字而得来的,当中并不涉及香港特区与内地的用词及语句的对应转换。对于该简体中文版的内容的恰当性,证监会不承担任何责任或法律责任。在任何情况下,使用者都不应视本网站内容的简体中文版为其繁体中文版的对应版本。使用者应该参照该简体中文版的已发布繁体中文版来核实该简体中文版的网站内容,并且应该在依赖本网站内容的简体中文版或根据其内容行事之前,就该版本的内容的法律效力、有效性和效果自费征询独立的法律意见。

如果你将证监会网站的简体中文版的内容或网址传送予第三者,你承诺会将本免责声明同时传送予该第三者,并保证该第三者在浏览本网站的简体中文版的内容之前同意接纳本免责声明。

The Securities and Futures Commission (SFC) provides a character-based conversion software (this Software) free of charge in this website. Permission is granted for users to use this Software to convert the web content from traditional Chinese character version to simplified Chinese character version. The SFC undertakes no liability for defects in this Software and gives no warranty in relation to its quality and performance and in particular, but without prejudice to the generality of the foregoing, the SFC shall have no such liability regarding the fitness for purpose, quality or merchantability of this Software, whether express or implied, statutory or otherwise.

The SFC expressly states that it has not approved or endorsed the simplified Chinese character version of the web content and the SFC accepts no responsibility or liability (whatsoever and howsoever caused) for such simplified Chinese character version of the web content. The SFC also expressly states that this simplified Chinese character version of the website is solely established by converting the characters in the traditional Chinese character version via this Software, which involves no corresponding conversion between the terms and expressions used in the Hong Kong SAR and Mainland China. The SFC accepts no responsibility or liability for the fitness of the content of the simplified Chinese character version. Under no circumstances should users treat the simplified Chinese character version of the web content as an equivalent of the traditional Chinese character version thereof. Users should verify the simplified Chinese character version of the web content by making reference to the published traditional Chinese character version thereof, and should at their own costs seek independent legal advice on the legal status, validity and effect of the simplified Chinese character version of the web content before relying or acting upon it.

If you transmit the content of this simplified Chinese character version website or its URL to any third party, you agree to forward this Disclaimer Statement at the same time to the third party and guarantee that the third party agrees to accept this Disclaimer Statement before browsing the content of the simplified Chinese character version of this website.

3.2422 s