Securities & Futures Commission of Hong Kong

Investor compensation

Q1:

What are the investor compensation arrangements under the SFO?

A:

The SFO provided for the establishment of the Investor Compensation Fund to compensate investors who suffer pecuniary losses as a result of defaults of licensed intermediaries or authorized financial institutions occurring on or after 1 April 2003. The Fund is administered by the Investor Compensation Company Limited (ICC), an independent company responsible for receiving, assessing and determining claims against the Investor Compensation Fund, making payments to claimants and pursuing recoveries against defaulting licensed intermediaries or authorized financial institutions.

The compensation limit is $150,000 per investor for trading in securities and futures contracts, respectively. For joint accounts, each account holder is subject to a maximum compensation limit of $150,000.

Q2:

Who is eligible to make a claim for compensation?

A:

The Investor Compensation Fund aims to provide a safety net for retail investors who suffer pecuniary losses as a result of defaults of licensed intermediaries or authorized financial institutions in relation to exchange-traded products in Hong Kong. Defaults cover insolvency, bankruptcy or winding up, breach of trust, defalcation, fraud or misfeasance.

The following investors are not eligible to claim against the Fund:

  • a licensed corporation;
  • an authorized financial institution;
  • a recognized exchange company, a recognized exchange controller, or a recognized clearing house;
  • an authorized automated trading services provider;
  • an authorized insurer;
  • a manager or operator of an authorized collective investment scheme;
  • an associate of the defaulting intermediary which is a corporation;
  • an employee of the defaulting intermediary who has committed breach of trust, defalcation, fraud or misfeasance;
  • the Government or an overseas government; and
  • a person acting as a trustee or custodian of the above persons, schemes or arrangement.

The ICC will determine whether there has been a default and whether the claimant is entitled to compensation from the compensation fund.

Q3:

How does the per-investor compensation limit work?

A:

Example 1: If Mr A holds shares of $280,000 with Blue Company and has deposited $100,000 with the firm for trading futures contracts, what is the compensation limit for Mr A if Blue Company defaults?

Based on the per-investor compensation limit of $150,000 for trading in securities and futures contracts respectively, the maximum payments for Mr A’s claim would be $150,000 for shares and $100,000 for futures contracts, totalling $250,000.



Example 2: If Ms B has two accounts with White Company holding shares of $120,000 and $140,000 respectively, what is the maximum compensation for Ms B if White Company defaults?

Ms B would be entitled to a maximum payment of $150,000 as the compensation limit is applied on a per-investor basis regardless of how many accounts a person has at the defaulting intermediary.



Example 3: If Mr and Mrs C have a joint account with Red Company holding shares of $1 million, what is the maximum compensation for each of them if Red Company defaults?

Mr and Mrs C could each claim a maximum of $150,000 compensation as the compensation limit is applied on a per-investor, rather than a per-account, basis.

Q4:

How can I make a claim?

A:

You may lodge a claim with the ICC by completing a relevant claim form, which can be downloaded from the ICC’s website or obtained from the venues specified in the Notice Inviting Claims published in local newspapers pursuant to a default, or from the offices of the ICC or the SFC. The completed form should be submitted to the offices of the ICC or the SFC or, if applicable, to the address as specified in the Notice Inviting Claims published in local newspapers pursuant to a default.

To substantiate your claim initially, you have to submit copies of documents that the defaulting intermediary has given or sent you about your investments and account position. These might include your:

  • account agreement;
  • monthly account statements;
  • contract notes;
  • proof of payment such as pay-in slips and bank statements; 
  • deposit receipts for securities;
  • dishonoured cheque; and 
  • Hong Kong identity card or passport, or business registration.

You can lodge your claim with the ICC by the deadline (usually three months from the date of the notice calling for claims) published by the ICC. If no such notice is issued, you may lodge your claim within six months after the day you first became aware of the default. The ICC will issue a notice of determination to you. If the claim is disallowed, the reasons will be given in the notice.

Q5:

What if I disagree with the determination of claim?

A:

If you are dissatisfied with the determination of claim, you may resubmit your case to the ICC for further consideration either in writing or in person to explain any further evidence it should consider. If you are still not satisfied with the revised amount of compensation, you have the right to lodge an appeal with the Securities and Futures Appeals Tribunal within 21 days after the service of the revised Notice of Determination.

3.6114 s

證監會

投資者賠償

問1:

《證券及期貨條例》下有哪些投資者賠償安排?

答:

《證券及期貨條例》就成立投資者賠償基金作出規定,以便向因在2003年4月1日或之後發生的持牌中介機構或認可財務機構違責而蒙受金錢損失的投資者作出賠償。基金由投資者賠償有限公司負責管理。該公司是一家獨立的公司,負責接收、評核及裁定向投資者賠償基金提出的申索,向申索人支付賠償金額,以及向違責的持牌中介機構或認可財務機構追討賠償。

每名投資者就買賣證券及期貨合約的賠償上限分別為150,000元。至於聯名帳戶,每名帳戶持有人的最高賠償上限為150,000元。

問2:

誰符合資格提出賠償申索?

答:

投資者賠償基金旨在為因與在香港交易所買賣的產品有關的持牌中介機構或認可財務機構違責,而蒙受金錢損失的散戶投資者提供一個安全網。"違責"所涵蓋的範圍包括無償債能力、破產或清盤、違反信託、虧空、欺詐或不當行為。

以下投資者不符合資格向基金提出申索:

  • 持牌法團;
  • 認可財務機構;
  • 認可交易所、認可交易所控制人或認可結算所;
  • 認可自動化交易服務提供者;
  • 獲授權保險人;
  • 認可集體投資計劃的經理人或營辦人;
  • 違責中介機構的有聯繫者,而該有聯繫者是法團;
  • 違責中介機構中違反信託、虧空、欺詐或犯有不當行為的僱員;
  • 香港特區政府或境外地區政府;及
  • 以上述人士、計劃或安排的受託人或保管人身分行事的人士。

投資者賠償有限公司會裁定是否曾發生違責事件,以及申索人是否有權獲得賠償基金的賠償。

問3:

如何計算每名投資者的賠償上限?

答:

例子1A先生透過藍天公司持有價值280,000元的股份,並將100,000元存放於該公司用來買賣期貨合約。一旦藍天公司違責,A先生最高可獲多少賠償?

以每名投資者計算,買賣證券及期貨合約的賠償上限分別為150,000元,所以A先生就股份可獲的最高賠償額為150,000元,而就期貨合約可獲的最高賠償額為100,000元,合共250,000元。



例子2B女士在白雲公司開立了兩個帳戶,分別持有價值120,000元和140,000元的股份。一旦白雲公司違責,B女士最高可獲多少賠償?

B女士最高可獲150,000元賠償,因為不論投資者在違責的中介機構開立了多少個帳戶,賠償上限是以每名投資者計算。



例子3:C先生夫婦二人在紅太陽公司開立了聯名帳戶,持有價值100萬元的股份。一旦紅太陽公司違責,他們每人最高可獲多少賠償?

賠償上限是以每名投資者而非每個帳戶計算,所以C先生夫婦二人可分別索償最多150,000港元。

問4:

我應如何提出申索?

答:

你可填妥相關申索表格,以提交申索。申索表格可透過以下方式索取:從投資者賠償有限公司網站下載,或在依據某項違責而在本地報章刊登的《邀請提出申索的公告》上指明的地點或投資者賠償有限公司或證監會的辦事處索取。填妥的表格應遞交至投資者賠償有限公司或證監會的辦事處,或(如適用)遞交至依據某項違責而在本地報章刊登的《邀請提出申索的公告》上指明的地點。

你必須呈交違責中介機構向你提供或發出有關你的投資及帳戶狀況的文件副本,以初步確立你的申索。有關文件可能包括你的:

  • 帳戶協議書;
  • 帳戶月結單;
  • 成交單據;
  • 付款證明,例如付款收據及銀行結單;
  • 存入證券收據;
  • 無法兌現的支票;及
  • 香港身份證或護照,或商業登記證。

你可於投資者賠償有限公司指定的限期前(通常是邀請提出申索的有關公告發出當日起計三個月內)向投資者賠償有限公司提交申索。如沒有發出該公告,你可在首度察覺違責事件當日起計六個月內提交申索。投資者賠償有限公司會向你發出裁定通知。如申索不獲批准,便會在通知內向你說明理由。

問5:

假如我不同意對申索的裁定,該怎麼辦?

答:

如果你不滿意對申索的裁定,可以將你的個案再次提交給投資者賠償有限公司作進一步考慮。你可以書面方式或親身向投資者賠償有限公司解釋其應考慮的任何進一步證據。如果你仍然不滿意經修訂的賠償金額,你有權在經修訂的裁定通知送達後21日內向證券及期貨事務上訴審裁處提出上訴。

免责声明 Disclaimer statement

香港证券及期货事务监察委员会(简称证监会)于本网站免费提供一套繁简字体转换软件(该软件)。证监会允许本网站的使用者利用该软件将本网站内容由繁体中文版转换成为简体中文版。证监会不会就该软件欠妥之处承担任何法律责任,亦不会就其品质及性能作出任何担保;尤其是在无损前述的一般性的原则下,证监会无需就该软件对某用途的恰当性、其品质或可商售性承担任何该等明示或隐含的、法定或非法定的法律责任。

证监会明确陈述,本会并无核准或认可本网站内容的简体中文版,以及对于本网站内容的简体中文版不承担任何责任或法律责任(不论是何种及如何引致的责任或法律责任)。证监会同时明确陈述,本网站的简体中文版纯粹是利用该软件将繁体中文版内的中文字体转换成简体中文字而得来的,当中并不涉及香港特区与内地的用词及语句的对应转换。对于该简体中文版的内容的恰当性,证监会不承担任何责任或法律责任。在任何情况下,使用者都不应视本网站内容的简体中文版为其繁体中文版的对应版本。使用者应该参照该简体中文版的已发布繁体中文版来核实该简体中文版的网站内容,并且应该在依赖本网站内容的简体中文版或根据其内容行事之前,就该版本的内容的法律效力、有效性和效果自费征询独立的法律意见。

如果你将证监会网站的简体中文版的内容或网址传送予第三者,你承诺会将本免责声明同时传送予该第三者,并保证该第三者在浏览本网站的简体中文版的内容之前同意接纳本免责声明。

The Securities and Futures Commission (SFC) provides a character-based conversion software (this Software) free of charge in this website. Permission is granted for users to use this Software to convert the web content from traditional Chinese character version to simplified Chinese character version. The SFC undertakes no liability for defects in this Software and gives no warranty in relation to its quality and performance and in particular, but without prejudice to the generality of the foregoing, the SFC shall have no such liability regarding the fitness for purpose, quality or merchantability of this Software, whether express or implied, statutory or otherwise.

The SFC expressly states that it has not approved or endorsed the simplified Chinese character version of the web content and the SFC accepts no responsibility or liability (whatsoever and howsoever caused) for such simplified Chinese character version of the web content. The SFC also expressly states that this simplified Chinese character version of the website is solely established by converting the characters in the traditional Chinese character version via this Software, which involves no corresponding conversion between the terms and expressions used in the Hong Kong SAR and Mainland China. The SFC accepts no responsibility or liability for the fitness of the content of the simplified Chinese character version. Under no circumstances should users treat the simplified Chinese character version of the web content as an equivalent of the traditional Chinese character version thereof. Users should verify the simplified Chinese character version of the web content by making reference to the published traditional Chinese character version thereof, and should at their own costs seek independent legal advice on the legal status, validity and effect of the simplified Chinese character version of the web content before relying or acting upon it.

If you transmit the content of this simplified Chinese character version website or its URL to any third party, you agree to forward this Disclaimer Statement at the same time to the third party and guarantee that the third party agrees to accept this Disclaimer Statement before browsing the content of the simplified Chinese character version of this website.

3.3135 s