Securities & Futures Commission of Hong Kong

Market infrastructure & trading

This section provides the definitions of certain terms that appear on this site and some SFC codes and guidelines. It also contains the general definitions of some commonly-used financial terms.

Disclaimer: Terms and definitions in this section are for reference only. Please do NOT regard this as a legal tool.

Glossary terms are listed in alphabetical order.

Q1:
Which companies are “recognised exchange companies” under the Securities and Futures Ordinance (SFO)?
A:

Hong Kong has only two recognised exchange companies: 

  1. the Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited; and 
  2. Hong Kong Futures Exchange Limited.  

Both are deemed to be “recognized exchange companies” by virtue of section 5(a) of Part 1 of Schedule 10 to the SFO.  

Entities seeking to become recognised exchange companies should contact us for further information.

Q2:
Which markets are “recognised stock markets” under the SFO?
A:

A recognised stock market is any stock market operated by a recognised exchange company.  In Hong Kong, the only recognised stock market is the stock market operated by the Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited.

Q3:
Which markets are “recognised futures markets” under the SFO?
A:

A recognised futures market is any futures market operated by a recognised exchange company.  In Hong Kong, the only recognised futures market is the futures market operated by the Hong Kong Futures Exchange Limited.

Q4:
What do the terms "specified futures exchanges", "specified stock exchanges" and "specified exchanges" refer to?  
A:
  1. The term “specified futures exchanges” refers to those futures exchanges specified in Part 2 of Schedule 1 to the SFO. The term appears in the definition of “leveraged foreign exchange trading” – essentially, certain activities relating to contracts traded on a “specified futures exchange” are excluded from the definition of “leveraged foreign exchange trading”.  The term “specified futures exchange” is also used in the Securities and Futures (Recognized Counterparty) Rules to define which  institutions may be regarded as recognized counterparties.
  2. The term “specified stock exchanges” refers to those stock exchanges specified in Part 3 of Schedule 1 to the SFO.  It is used in connection with the definition of “leveraged foreign exchange trading” – again, certain activities relating to transactions executed on a “specified stock exchange” are excluded from the definition of “Leveraged foreign exchange trading”.  The term “specified stock exchange” is also used in connection with matters relating to disclosure of interests under Part XV of the SFO, and to price stabilizing under the Securities and Futures (Price Stabilizing) Rules.
  3. The term “specified exchanges” refer to those exchanges specified in Schedule 3 of the Securities and Futures (Financial Resources) Rules (FRR). By reference to the “specified exchanges,” the FRR prescribes treatments of assets and liabilities arising from, or related to, dealings in products traded on those exchanges.

For details, please click here.

Q5:

Which are the recognized clearing houses under the SFO?

A:

Hong Kong has four recognized clearing houses under the SFO. They are:

  1. Hong Kong Securities Clearing Company Limited;
  2. HKFE Clearing Corporation Limited;
  3. SEHK Options Clearing House Limited; and
  4. OTC Clearing Hong Kong Limited.

The first three are deemed to be “recognized clearing houses” by virtue of section 6 of Part 1 of Schedule 10 to the SFO. The fourth was recognized as a clearing house, pursuant to section 37(1) of the SFO, on 25 October 2013 and commenced operation on 25 November 2013.

Companies seeking to become recognized clearing houses under the SFO should contact us for further information.

Q6:

Hong Kong Futures Exchange (“HKFE”) will introduce an after-hours trading session (“AH Session”) after the close of the regular trading session. Under the Securities and Futures (Contracts Limits and Reportable Positions) Rules (“CLR”), any person who holds or controls a reportable position in futures contracts or stock options contracts must lodge a written notice of that position with HKFE or SEHK within one business day following the day on which the person holds or controls the position.  For reportable positions arising from trading in the AH Session, intermediaries may have operational difficulties in lodging notices of these positions (both for clients and for their own accounts) with HKFE within one business day.  As trades transacted in the AH Session will be registered by HKFE as the following day’s trades, can these trades be combined with trades transacted in the regular trading session on the following business day for reporting purposes?

A:

After considering the operational difficulties faced by intermediaries, the SFC will regard it as acceptable for trades transacted in the AH Session to be combined with trades transacted in the regular trading session on the following business day for the purpose of meeting the requirements for reportable positions under the CLR. Nevertheless, intermediaries should monitor the positions during the AH Session to ensure that they comply with the prescribed limits under the CLR and the position limits established by HKFE.

Intermediaries which provide after-hours futures trading services in HKFE products should inform their clients about this reporting arrangement.

To learn more about the functions and other matters related to market infrastructure and trading, please select topics from the “Regulatory functions” drop menu at the top.

3.9765 s

證監會

市場基礎設施及交易

本欄列出在證監會網站、守則及指引內出現的若干詞語的定義,當中亦包含部分常用財務用語的一般定義。

免責聲明:本詞彙僅供參考,非作法律用途。

詞彙以中文筆劃序排列。

問1:

香港有哪些在《證券及期貨條例》下所指的“認可交易所”?

答:

依據《證券及期貨條例》附表101部第5(a)條,香港只有兩家認可交易所

  1. 香港聯合交易所有限公司

  2. 香港期貨交易所有限公司

有意申請成為認可交易所的機構應向本會查詢詳情。



問2:

哪些市場是《證券及期貨條例》所指的“認可證券市場”?

答:

認可證券市場”指由認可交易所營辦的證券市場。香港唯一的認可證券市場,是由香港聯合交易所有限公司營辦。

問3:

哪些市場是《證券及期貨條例》所指的“認可期貨市場”?

答:

認可期貨市場”指由認可交易所營辦的期貨市場。香港唯一的認可期貨市場,是由香港期貨交易所有限公司營辦。

問4:

指明期貨交易所”、“指明證券交易所”及“指明交易所”所指的是甚麼?

答:
  1. “指明期貨交易所” 一詞指《證券及期貨條例》附表 1 第 2 部所列明的期貨交 易所。該詞在“槓桿式外匯交易”一詞的定義中亦有出現,當中述明在“指明期 貨交易所”上買賣的合約所關乎的某些活動,不包括在“槓桿式外匯交易”一詞 的定義範圍內。“指明期貨交易所”一詞亦載於《證券及期貨(認可對手方)規 則》,用以列明哪些機構可視作為認可交易對手。
  2. “指明證券交易所” 一詞指《證券及期貨條例》附表 1 第 3 部所列明的證券交 易所。該詞在“槓桿式外匯交易”一詞的定義中亦有出現,當中述明在“指明證 券交易所”上執行的交易所關乎的某些活動,不包括在“槓桿式外匯交易”一詞 的定義範圍內。“指明證券交易所”一詞亦有用於關乎《證券及期貨條例》第 XV 部的權益披露事宜及《證券及期貨(穩定價格)規則》指明穩定價格的情 況。
  3. “指明交易所” 一詞指《證券及期貨(財政資源)規則》附表 3 所列明的交易 所。 該規則參照“指明交易所”的定義,就在這些指明交易所上交易的產品, 訂明由這些交易所產生,或與這些交易有關聯的資產及負債的處理方法。

有關法規條文的詳情請按以下連結:
http://www.sfc.hk/web/TC/rule-book/laws/securities-and-futures-ordinance.html

問5:

哪些結算所是《證券及期貨條例》所指的“認可結算所”?

答:

根據《證券及期貨條例》,香港有以下四家認可結算所:

  1. 香港中央結算有限公司;
  2. 香港期貨結算有限公司;
  3. 香港聯合交易所期權結算所有限公司;及
  4. 香港場外結算有限公司。

憑藉《證券及期貨條例》附表 10 第 1 部第 6 條,上述頭三家公司當作為“認可結算所”。另外,根據《證券及期貨條例》第37(1)條,第四家公司亦於2013年10月25日被認可為結算所,並於2013年11月25日開始運作。

凡有公司打算成為《證券及期貨條例》下的認可結算所,應向本會查詢詳情。

問6:

香港期貨交易所(“期交所”)將於正常交易時段完結後開設收市後交易時段(“收市後時段”)。根據《證券及期貨(合約限量及須申報的持倉量)規則》(“該規則”),就期貨合約或股票期權合約持有或控制須申報持倉量的人,須在該人持有或控制該持倉量的日期後的一個營業日內,向期交所或聯交所提交關於該持倉量的書面通知。就在收市後時段內的買賣所產生的須申報持倉量而言,如要中介人在一個營業日內為客戶及其本身帳戶向期交所提交有關這些持倉量的通知,在執行上或有困難。由於在收市後時段內成交的買賣會被期交所登記為翌日的交易,這些交易可否連同在下一個營業日的正常交易時段內成交的買賣一併申報?

答:

經考慮中介人在執行上所面對的困難後,證監會認為將在收市後時段內成交的買賣與在下一個營業日的正常交易時段內成交的買賣合併處理是可接受的做法,以符合該規則下有關須申報持倉量的規定。不過,中介人應監察收市後時段期間的持倉量,以確保它們符合該規則下的訂明上限及由期交所制定的持倉限額。

就期交所產品提供收市後期貨交易服務的中介人應將此項申報安排告知其客戶。

如欲查閱證監會對投資產品的監管職能及其他相關事宜,請在頁首的監管職能一欄選擇項目。

免责声明 Disclaimer statement

香港证券及期货事务监察委员会(简称证监会)于本网站免费提供一套繁简字体转换软件(该软件)。证监会允许本网站的使用者利用该软件将本网站内容由繁体中文版转换成为简体中文版。证监会不会就该软件欠妥之处承担任何法律责任,亦不会就其品质及性能作出任何担保;尤其是在无损前述的一般性的原则下,证监会无需就该软件对某用途的恰当性、其品质或可商售性承担任何该等明示或隐含的、法定或非法定的法律责任。

证监会明确陈述,本会并无核准或认可本网站内容的简体中文版,以及对于本网站内容的简体中文版不承担任何责任或法律责任(不论是何种及如何引致的责任或法律责任)。证监会同时明确陈述,本网站的简体中文版纯粹是利用该软件将繁体中文版内的中文字体转换成简体中文字而得来的,当中并不涉及香港特区与内地的用词及语句的对应转换。对于该简体中文版的内容的恰当性,证监会不承担任何责任或法律责任。在任何情况下,使用者都不应视本网站内容的简体中文版为其繁体中文版的对应版本。使用者应该参照该简体中文版的已发布繁体中文版来核实该简体中文版的网站内容,并且应该在依赖本网站内容的简体中文版或根据其内容行事之前,就该版本的内容的法律效力、有效性和效果自费征询独立的法律意见。

如果你将证监会网站的简体中文版的内容或网址传送予第三者,你承诺会将本免责声明同时传送予该第三者,并保证该第三者在浏览本网站的简体中文版的内容之前同意接纳本免责声明。

The Securities and Futures Commission (SFC) provides a character-based conversion software (this Software) free of charge in this website. Permission is granted for users to use this Software to convert the web content from traditional Chinese character version to simplified Chinese character version. The SFC undertakes no liability for defects in this Software and gives no warranty in relation to its quality and performance and in particular, but without prejudice to the generality of the foregoing, the SFC shall have no such liability regarding the fitness for purpose, quality or merchantability of this Software, whether express or implied, statutory or otherwise.

The SFC expressly states that it has not approved or endorsed the simplified Chinese character version of the web content and the SFC accepts no responsibility or liability (whatsoever and howsoever caused) for such simplified Chinese character version of the web content. The SFC also expressly states that this simplified Chinese character version of the website is solely established by converting the characters in the traditional Chinese character version via this Software, which involves no corresponding conversion between the terms and expressions used in the Hong Kong SAR and Mainland China. The SFC accepts no responsibility or liability for the fitness of the content of the simplified Chinese character version. Under no circumstances should users treat the simplified Chinese character version of the web content as an equivalent of the traditional Chinese character version thereof. Users should verify the simplified Chinese character version of the web content by making reference to the published traditional Chinese character version thereof, and should at their own costs seek independent legal advice on the legal status, validity and effect of the simplified Chinese character version of the web content before relying or acting upon it.

If you transmit the content of this simplified Chinese character version website or its URL to any third party, you agree to forward this Disclaimer Statement at the same time to the third party and guarantee that the third party agrees to accept this Disclaimer Statement before browsing the content of the simplified Chinese character version of this website.

3.5006 s