Securities & Futures Commission of Hong Kong

Secrecy provisions

Introduction

This section aims to clarify the application of the secrecy provisions under the Securities and Futures Ordinance (SFO) and to provide guidance from the SFC’s perspective on certain practical aspects of the secrecy obligation.

Please note, however, that the  information is general in nature; it is also not exhaustive and does not take into account your specific circumstances. The views expressed by the SFC in here are not binding on either the courts or the Department of Justice. The information should not be regarded as a substitute for professional advice. You should seek independent legal advice if you have any doubt about how section 378 of the SFO applies to you.

It should be noted that in relation to events that occurred and regulatory processes (such as investigations and disciplinary proceedings) that began before 1 April 2003 (when the SFO came into effect), the secrecy provisions set out in section 59 of the repealed Securities and Futures Commission Ordinance still apply.

Application of the secrecy provisions is clarified in the sub-sections below.

 Secrecy provisions and obligation 

The secrecy provisions, which are set out in section 378 of the SFO, create the secrecy obligation, the exceptions to it and the consequences for breaching it.
 
The secrecy obligation, which is contained in section 378(1) of the SFO, is the legal requirement that – except in the performance of a function under the SFO or for the purpose of carrying into effect or doing anything authorized under any of the provisions of the SFO - a “specified person” (see "Persons to whom the secrecy provision applies") must –

  1. not disclose (i.e. preserve and aid in preserving secrecy) any matter coming to  his knowledge –
    1. by virtue of his appointment under the SFO;
    2. in performing any function or exercising any power under the SFO;
    3. in carrying into effect or doing anything required or authorized under any of the provisions of the SFO; or
    4. in the course of assisting a person who falls within (b) or (c);
  2. not communicate any such matter referred to in (i) to any other person; and
  3. not suffer or permit any person to have access to any –
    1. record of information, however compiled or stored; or
    2. any document, which is in his possession by virtue of (i)(a), (b) or (c).

In addition, where information is disclosed under (i)(b) or (c) to any person –

  1. that person; and
  2. anyone who receives such information directly or indirectly from him, is also bound by the secrecy obligation (see, section 378(7)).

 Examples of information that might typically be disclosed under relevant provisions of the SFO 

Examples of such information include the fact (if it has not been made public) –

  1. that the SFC is exercising any of its powers under the SFO – this would be disclosed, eg, to a person who receives a direction under section 179; a requirement under section 180; a request under section 181 or an investigator’s notice under section 183;
  2. that the SFC has a regulatory interest in information being sought in the  performance of the SFC’s functions – this would be disclosed, eg, to a person who receives an informal request for information relating to transactions in securities; and
  3. that the SFC is taking disciplinary action against a regulated person – this would be disclosed, eg, to a person who receives a Notice of Proposed Disciplinary Action or a Decision Notice under section 198.

 Persons to whom the secrecy obligation applies 

In addition to applying to the persons described in (iv) and (v) of "Secrecy provision and obligation," the secrecy obligation applies to any “specified person”, namely –

  1. the SFC (including executive and non-executive directors);
  2. any person who performs work for the SFC (e.g. any of its employees or consultants);
  3. a person appointed under any of the provisions of the SFO (eg, a member of the Takeovers and Mergers Panel or the Market Misconduct Tribunal or an auditor appointed under section 159);
  4. a person performing a function under or carrying into effect any of the provisions of the SFO (eg, a person who conducts an inspection of an intermediary under section 180 or who carries out an investigation under sections 182 and 183); or
  5. a person assisting a person referred to in (iv) (by e.g. providing a record or document required under section 179, providing information required under section 181 or providing information and/or attending an interview with an investigator under section 183).

 Exceptions to the secrecy obligation 

The first, contained in section 378(1), excludes the disclosure of information by a person (e.g. a person authorized by the SFC under section 179 or 182) in the course of performing a function under the SFO or for the purpose of carrying into effect or doing anything authorized under any of the provisions of the SFO. For example, an investigator does not breach the secrecy obligation by disclosing to a witness during - and for the purposes of - an interview, information such as the details of trades in securities that are suspected to be related to an offence which is under investigation. However, the person receiving such information (in this example, the witness) is bound by the secrecy obligation (see (iv) of "Secrecy provision and obligation" and "Examples of information that might typically be disclosed under relevant provisions of the SFO").

In addition, section 378(2) lists seven forms of disclosure of information that do not attract secrecy at all. These pertain to disclosure of information -

  1. which has already been made available to the public;
  2. (with a view to the institution of, or otherwise for the purposes of, any criminal proceedings or any investigation carried out in Hong Kong under its laws;
  3. for the purpose of seeking professional advice from or giving advice by a counsel or solicitor, or other professional adviser acting or proposing to act in a professional capacity in relation to any matter arising under the SFO;
  4. in connection with any judicial or other proceedings to which the person making disclosure is a party;
  5. in accordance with a court order or other legal requirement;
  6. to the Hong Kong Deposit Protection Board for the purpose of enabling or assisting it to perform its statutory functions; and
  7. by the auditors of a listed corporation to the SFC, the Hong Kong Monetary Authority or the Insurance Authority under section 381. 

There are other gateways through which confidential information may be disclosed pursuant to section 378(3), but these only apply to the SFC.

 Person regarded as “other professional adviser”  

The SFC’s view is that the sort of person envisaged as falling within the category of “other professional adviser” is someone who is qualified to advise on the issues relevant to the matter that has arisen under the SFO (eg, a forensic accountant, a trading specialist or a listing agent) and who is acting in a professional capacity towards the person being advised.

 Other exceptions 

The only circumstance under which a person may disclose information to which the secrecy obligation applies without breaching that obligation is with the SFC’s consent for onward disclosure under section 378(7). Application for such consent should be made in writing, stating the full extent of the information sought to be disclosed, the persons to whom it is proposed to be disclosed and the reasons for the proposed disclosure. Where the SFC grants consent, it does so in writing, setting out the information to which the consent relates, the persons to whom disclosure may be made and any conditions to which the consent is subject.

Unless the person (whether an individual, a firm or a corporation) has been asked by the SFC to keep the matter completely secret (or, secret from an individual, corporation, partnership or organisation, etc, named by the SFC), the SFC’s consent to the following notifications (and only these) can be assumed without the need to make a formal application:

  1. the fact that he (or it, in the case of a firm, etc) is bound by the secrecy obligation
  2. the general nature of the matter (but without revealing anything specific about it), which has given rise to the secrecy obligation;
  3. the means by which he or it came to be bound by the secrecy obligation (e.g. upon receiving an investigator’s notice under section183);
  4. the date, time and place at which he or it is required to provide information or documents to the SFC or attend an interview by an investigator, if disclosed to the following persons only -
    1. in the case of an individual bound by the secrecy obligation, to his employer, spouse or partner and, where the individual is a regulated person, his firm’s responsible officer or executive officer, compliance officer or in-house lawyer;
    2. in the case of a corporation bound by the secrecy obligation, to its board of directors, its holding company or indemnity insurers.

 Penalty for breach 

A person who breaches the secrecy obligation is liable to prosecution and upon conviction on indictment to a maximum fine of $1 million and imprisonment for up to two years or upon summary conviction, to a maximum fine of $100,000 and imprisonment for up to six months. A regulated person may, in addition, be disciplined.

 Importance of maintaining secrecy by relevant persons 

In the SFC’s view, it is because the secrecy obligation exists as a safeguard –

  1. of the public interest that the SFC should not be compromised in its operations and the pursuit of its regulatory objectives by the leakage of confidential information;
  2. of the right of all persons, whether individuals or corporations, to be presumed innocent until proven guilty;
  3. of the reputation of individuals and the goodwill of firms investigated by the SFC or undergoing disciplinary proceedings;
  4. of commercially sensitive information that intermediaries, and others cooperating with the SFC, would be unwilling to disclose to the SFC if there were danger that the information would be misused;
  5. of the integrity of the market, for example by keeping price-sensitive information secret pending its release (eg, in an announcement by a listed corporation) to the market; and
  6. of the status of Hong Kong as an international financial centre, by ensuring that the SFC complies with international standards of confidentiality comparable to those observed by its counterpart regulators in all major markets internationally.
3.4579 s

證監會

《證券及期貨條例》保密條文

引言

本欄旨在澄清《證券及期貨條例》的保密條文的應用範圍,以及從證監會的觀點就保密責任的若干實際範圍提供指引。

然而,請注意這些資料屬於概括性質,並非巨細無遺及沒有考慮到你的個別情況。證監會在本文所表達的觀點對法院或律政司均無約束力。這些資料不應用來取代專業意見。假如你對《證券及期貨條例》第378條如何適用於你有任何疑問,便應尋求獨立的法律意見。

請注意,載於已廢除的《證券及期貨事務監察委員會條例》第59條的保密條文,仍然適用於2003年4月1日(《證券及期貨條例》開始生效)前發生的事件及展開的規管程序(例如調查及紀律處分程序)。

以下環節將闡釋保密條文的適用範圍及詳情。

 保密條文及責任 

《證券及期貨條例》第378條所載的保密條文訂明有關的保密責任、相關的例外情況及違反該等條文的後果。

載於《證券及期貨條例》第378(1)條的保密責任是一項法律規定。根據該規定,任何“指明人士”(見“保密責任適用於哪些人士”)除非是執行根據《證券及期貨條例》授予的職能,或是為施行《證券及期貨條例》任何條文而執行其職能,或是為作出根據《證券及期貨條例》任何條文授權的事情而執行其職能,否則 –

  1. 不得披露(即須保密及協助保密)他藉著以下途徑而獲悉的任何事宜 –
    1. 憑藉《證券及期貨條例》獲委任而獲悉;
    2. 在執行或行使根據《證券及期貨條例》授予的任何職能或任何權力時而獲悉;
    3. 在施行《證券及期貨條例》任何條文時,或在作出根據《證券及期貨條例》任何條文規定或授權的事情時而獲悉;或
    4. 在協助第(b)或(c)項所界定的任何人士的過程中而獲悉;
  2. 不得將第(i)項所述的該等事宜傳達予任何其他人;及
  3. 不得容受或准許任何人士有途徑接觸由他憑藉第(i)(a)、(b)或(c)項而管有的 –
    1. 任何資料紀錄(不論以何種方式編纂或貯存);或
    2. 任何文件。

此外,假如根據第(i)(b)或(c)項向任何人士披露資料 –

  1. 該人;及
  2. 直接或間接從該人取得該等資料的任何人士,亦受到保密責任所約束(見第378(7)條)。

在執行《證券及期貨條例》相關條文時通常會披露的資料的例子

該等資料的例子包括下列各項事實(假如尚未向公眾披露) –

  1. 證監會正根據《證券及期貨條例》行使其權力 – 這將會向例如根據第179條獲發指示、根據第180條獲發規定、根據第181條獲發要求或根據第183條獲發調查員通知的人士作出披露;
  2. 證監會在執行職能時找到的資料有助本會履行監管工作 – 這將會向例如就證券交易接獲索取資料的非正式要求的人士作出披露;及
  3. 證監會正針對某受規管人士採取紀律處分行動 – 這將會向例如根據第198條獲發建議紀律處分行動通知書或決定通知書的人士作出披露;

 保密責任適用於哪些人士 

除了適用於“保密條文及責任”第(iv)及(v)項所述的人士外,保密責任亦適用於以下的“指明人士”,即-

  1. 證監會(包括執行及非執行董事);
  2. 為證監會執行工作的人(例如證監會的任何僱員或顧問);
  3. 根據《證券及期貨條例》的任何條文獲委任的人(例如收購及合併委員會或市場失當行為審裁處的成員或根據第159條獲委任的核數師);
  4. 執行《證券及期貨條例》的任何條文授予的職能或施行該條例的任何條文的人(例如根據第180條對中介人進行視察或根據第182及183條進行調查的人);或
  5. 協助第(iv)項所指人士的人(透過例如提供第179條所規定的紀錄或文件、提供第181條所規定的資料或根據第183條提供資料及/或出席與調查員的會見)。

保密責任的例外情況

第一項例外情況載於第378(1)條,適用於任何人(例如根據第179或182條獲證監會授權的人)在執行《證券及期貨條例》授予的職能,或是為施行該條例的任何條文而執行其職能,或是為作出根據該條例的任何條文授權的事情而執行其職能的過程中披露的資料。例如,調查員不會因為在會見的過程中及為會見的目的,向證人披露有關諸如涉嫌與某項正受到調查的罪行有關的證券交易詳情的資料而違反保密責任。然而,接獲有關資料的人(在這例子中,即證人)則受保密責任所約束(見保密條文及責任第(iv)項及在執行《證券及期貨條例》相關條文時通常會披露的資料的例子)。

此外,第378(2)條列出以下七種完全無須保密的資料披露 ─

  1. 披露公眾已可得到的資料;
  2. 為準備在香港提起任何刑事法律程序或在其他情況下為該等程序的目的,或為準備在香港根據香港法律進行任何調查或在其他情況下為該等調查的目的而披露資料;
  3. 為向以專業身分行事或擬以專業身分行事的大律師、律師或其他專業顧問就根據《證券及期貨條例》引起的任何事宜徵詢專業意見而披露資料,或由以專業身分或擬以專業身分行事的大律師、律師或其他專業顧問為就根據《證券及期貨條例》引起的任何事宜給予意見而披露資料;
  4. 在與作出披露的人作為其中一方的司法或其他法律程序有關連的情況下,由該人披露資料;
  5. 按照法庭命令或其他法律規定而披露資料;
  6. 為使香港存款保障委員會能夠執行其法定職能或協助該委員會執行其法定職能而向該委員會披露資料;及
  7. 由某上市法團的核數師根據第381條向證監會、香港金融管理局或保險業監督披露資料。

此外,保密資料亦可依據第378(3)條經由其他途徑披露,但有關情況只適用於證監會。

 被視為“其他專業顧問”的人士 

證監會認為被視為“其他專業顧問”類別的人是指有資格就根據《證券及期貨條例》引起的事宜提供意見的人(例如法證會計師、交易專家或上市代理人)及以專業身分為獲提供意見者行事的人。

 其他例外情況 

任何人可披露保密責任適用的資料而不違反有關責任的唯一情況,是根據378(7)條在證監會的同意下再披露資料。如要獲得證監會同意,便應以書面提出申請,並列明擬披露的資料的全部內容、擬接受披露的人士的姓名及擬作出披露的原因。假如證監會同意有關披露,便會以書面回覆,列明該項同意所涉及的資料、可獲披露人士的姓名及該項同意附帶的任何條件。

除非證監會要求一名人士(不論是個人、商號或法團)將有關事宜完全保密(或不得向證監會指名的個人、法團、合夥商號或機構等洩露),否則該人可假設證監會同意作出以下通知(僅限於下列各項)而無須提出正式申請 ─

  1. 他或它(如屬商號等)受保密責任約束的事實;
  2. 引致保密責任的該事宜的一般性質(但不得透露該事宜的任何具體詳情);
  3. 他或它透過何種方式變成為受保密責任所約束(如接獲調查員根據第183條發出的通知書);
  4. 他或它被要求向證監會提供資料或文件,或出席與調查員的會見的日期、時間及地點,

並只可向以下人士披露 ─

  1. 如屬受保密責任約束的個人,則可向其僱主、配偶或合夥人作出披露,及如該人為受規管人士,則可向其商號的負責人員或主管人員、合規主任或公司律師披露;
  2. 如屬受保密責任約束的法團,則可向其董事局、控股公司或賠償承保人作出披露。

 違規罰則 

違反保密責任的人士可被檢控,一經循公訴程序定罪,最高可處罰款100萬元及監禁兩年,或一經循簡易程序定罪,最高可處罰款10萬元及監禁六個月。此外,受規管人士還可能會被紀律處分。

 相關人士遵守保密責任的重要性 

證監會認為,保密責任是為了保障 ─

  1. 公眾利益,證監會不應因為保密資料外洩而導致其執行及秉持監管目標的工作受到削弱;
  2. 各有關方的利益,不論個人或法團,在被證明為有罪前均獲假定為無罪;
  3. 受證監會調查或正進行紀律處分程序的個人的名譽或商號的聲譽;
  4. 中介團體及其他與證監會合作的人士的商業敏感資料。如果所披露的資料可能會被濫用,他們將不願意向證監會披露該等資料;
  5. 市場的廉潔穩健,例如在股價敏感資料有待向市場公布前(如上市公司發出的公告)將其保持機密;及
  6. 香港作為國際金融中心的地位,方法是確保證監會所遵守的國際保密標準與全球所有主要市場的對等監管機構所遵從的標準相若。

免责声明 Disclaimer statement

香港证券及期货事务监察委员会(简称证监会)于本网站免费提供一套繁简字体转换软件(该软件)。证监会允许本网站的使用者利用该软件将本网站内容由繁体中文版转换成为简体中文版。证监会不会就该软件欠妥之处承担任何法律责任,亦不会就其品质及性能作出任何担保;尤其是在无损前述的一般性的原则下,证监会无需就该软件对某用途的恰当性、其品质或可商售性承担任何该等明示或隐含的、法定或非法定的法律责任。

证监会明确陈述,本会并无核准或认可本网站内容的简体中文版,以及对于本网站内容的简体中文版不承担任何责任或法律责任(不论是何种及如何引致的责任或法律责任)。证监会同时明确陈述,本网站的简体中文版纯粹是利用该软件将繁体中文版内的中文字体转换成简体中文字而得来的,当中并不涉及香港特区与内地的用词及语句的对应转换。对于该简体中文版的内容的恰当性,证监会不承担任何责任或法律责任。在任何情况下,使用者都不应视本网站内容的简体中文版为其繁体中文版的对应版本。使用者应该参照该简体中文版的已发布繁体中文版来核实该简体中文版的网站内容,并且应该在依赖本网站内容的简体中文版或根据其内容行事之前,就该版本的内容的法律效力、有效性和效果自费征询独立的法律意见。

如果你将证监会网站的简体中文版的内容或网址传送予第三者,你承诺会将本免责声明同时传送予该第三者,并保证该第三者在浏览本网站的简体中文版的内容之前同意接纳本免责声明。

The Securities and Futures Commission (SFC) provides a character-based conversion software (this Software) free of charge in this website. Permission is granted for users to use this Software to convert the web content from traditional Chinese character version to simplified Chinese character version. The SFC undertakes no liability for defects in this Software and gives no warranty in relation to its quality and performance and in particular, but without prejudice to the generality of the foregoing, the SFC shall have no such liability regarding the fitness for purpose, quality or merchantability of this Software, whether express or implied, statutory or otherwise.

The SFC expressly states that it has not approved or endorsed the simplified Chinese character version of the web content and the SFC accepts no responsibility or liability (whatsoever and howsoever caused) for such simplified Chinese character version of the web content. The SFC also expressly states that this simplified Chinese character version of the website is solely established by converting the characters in the traditional Chinese character version via this Software, which involves no corresponding conversion between the terms and expressions used in the Hong Kong SAR and Mainland China. The SFC accepts no responsibility or liability for the fitness of the content of the simplified Chinese character version. Under no circumstances should users treat the simplified Chinese character version of the web content as an equivalent of the traditional Chinese character version thereof. Users should verify the simplified Chinese character version of the web content by making reference to the published traditional Chinese character version thereof, and should at their own costs seek independent legal advice on the legal status, validity and effect of the simplified Chinese character version of the web content before relying or acting upon it.

If you transmit the content of this simplified Chinese character version website or its URL to any third party, you agree to forward this Disclaimer Statement at the same time to the third party and guarantee that the third party agrees to accept this Disclaimer Statement before browsing the content of the simplified Chinese character version of this website.

3.4527 s