SFC Welcomes Appointment of Takeovers Panel and Takeovers Appeal Committee Members

5 Apr 2001

The Securities and Futures Commission (SFC) is pleased to announce the appointments of members of the Takeovers and Mergers Panel and the Takeovers Appeal Committee for the year 1 April 2001 to 31 March 2002 (please see attached list).

The SFC welcomes Mr David Graham, Mr Gavin Nesbitt, Ms Patricia Shih, Mr Frank Slevin, Ms May Tan, Mr Carlson Tong and Mr David Webb as new members of the Panel. The SFC also welcomes the re-appointment of Mr Kevin Westley and Mr Clifton Chiu as Chairman and Deputy Chairman of the Panel and the appointment of Mr Henry Fan as additional Deputy Chairman of the Panel.

The SFC would like to thank Mr David Blackett, Mr David Halperin, Mr Anthony Lo and Mr Patrick Sun, who are stepping down from the Panel, for their valuable contribution over the years.

The Panel and Appeal Committee are voluntary bodies which owe their success to the dedication and expertise of their members. The SFC is confident that the significant experience of members in takeovers and mergers and the securities and financial markets will ensure the continued success of the Panel and Appeal Committee.


* * * * *

Takeovers and Mergers Panel Members for the term ending 31 March 2002


Kevin Westley (Chairman of the Panel), Advisor to the Chairman

The Hongkong and Shanghai Banking Corporation Limited


Clifton Chiu (Deputy Chairman of the Panel), Managing Director

Harvester (Holdings) Company Ltd.


Henry H L Fan (Deputy Chairman of the Panel) (Non Executive Director, SFC), Managing Director

CITIC Pacific Limited


Nicholas Allen, Partner



Ian Boyce, Director

Sir Elly Kadoorie & Sons Ltd


David Carse, Deputy Chief Executive

Hong Kong Monetary Authority


Edward W S Cheng, Chief Executive

USI Holdings Limited


Stephen Clark, Director

Anglo Chinese Corporate Finance, Limited


Mark Dickens, Executive Director

Securities and Futures Commission


David Graham, Managing Director and General Counsel*

Morgan Stanley Dean Witter Asia Limited


Teresa Ko, Partner

Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer


Clement Kwok, Finance Director

MTR Corporation Limited


Angelina Lee, Partner

Woo Kwan Lee & Lo


Alfred Li, Executive Director

Hang Lung Development Company, Limited


Liu Chee-ming, Managing Director

Platinum Securities Company Limited


David Lui, Vice Chairman

Schroder Investment Management (Hong Kong) Limited


Frederick Ma, Chief Executive, Asia Pacific

JPMorgan Private Bank


C. Roger Moss, International Advisor

Goldman Sachs (Asia) L.L.C.


Gavin Nesbitt, Partner*



Andrew Procter, Executive Director

Securities and Futures Commission


Patricia Shih, Consultant*

Johnson Stokes & Master


Frank Slevin, Vice Chairman*

BNP Paribas Peregrine Capital Limited


May Tan, Managing Director*

Cazenove Asia Limited


Carlson Tong, Partner*



David Webb, Editor*



V-Nee Yeh, Managing Partner

VP Private Equity


* newly appointed members

Membership of Takeovers Appeal Committee for the term ending 31 March 2002

Chairman :Alan HOO, S.C.

Deputy Chairman : Geoffrey MA, S.C.

Members :

Clifton CHIU
Nicholas ALLEN
Edward CHENG
Stephen CLARK
Teresa KO
Clement KWOK
Angelina LEE
Alfred LI
LIU Chee-ming
David LUI
Frederick MA
C. Roger MOSS
Patricia SHIH*
May TAN*
Carlson TONG*
David WEBB*

Together with members of the Securities and Futures Appeals Panel who have legal training and experience appointed from time to time

* newly appointed members

Page last updated : 1 Aug 2012