SFC Welcomes Appointment of Advisory Committee Members

28 May 2001


The Securities and Futures Commission (SFC) welcomes the appointment by the Financial Secretary of the 12 members to the Advisory Committee of the SFC for a period of two years from 1 June 2001 to 31 May 2003 (Please see Appendix 1).

Mr Andrew Sheng, Chairman of the SFC, paid tribute to the seven members who are retiring from the Advisory Committee - Mr David Carse, Mr Linus Cheung, Mr Peter Clarke, Mr Leong Ka Chai, Mr Dannis Lee Jor Hung, Mr Sydney Leong and Mr Andrew Lo, for their valuable contribution over the past two years.

The Advisory Committee is set up pursuant to section 10 of the Securities and Futures Commission Ordinance to advise the SFC on any matter of policy regarding the performance of any of its functions.

The SFC has also today formed a new Shareholders Group and is glad that the individuals (please see Appendix 2) have agreed to participate. The Group would provide advice and feedback to the SFC on issues relating to shareholders' rights and interests.



Appendix 1

Advisory Committee
(1 June 2001 to 31 May 2003)

Mr Didier Balme
Chief Executive, BNP Paribas

Mr Thaddeus Beczak
Deputy Chairman, South China Morning Post

Mr Ambrose Cheung
Director, Sino Land Company Limited

Mr Paul Chow
Chief Executive Officer, HSBC Asset Management (Hong Kong) Limited

Mr Paul Fan
Chairman, Paul Fan Securities Limited

Mr Keith Ferguson
Chief Investment Officer, Fidelity Investments Management (Hong Kong) Limited

Mr Mario Francescotti
President, Morgan Stanley Dean Witter Asia Limited

Ms Christina Hui
Regional General Manager, Charles Schwab, Hong Kong, Limited

Mr Stephen Hui
Group Managing Director, OSK Asia Corporation Limited

Ms Christine Loh
Chief Executive Officer, Civic Exchange

Mr Tai Tak Hing
Managing Director and Chief Financial Controller, BOC International Holdings Limited

Mr Louis Wolfe
President, Corporate Finance, Asia Pacific, Australasia Regions
Merrill Lynch (Asia Pacific) Limited



Appendix 2

SFC Shareholders Group

Mr Jamie Allen
Secretary General, Asia Corporate Governance Association

Mr Rex Au Yeung
Managing Director and Chief Executive - Asia, Principal International (Asia) Limited

Prof. Andrew Chan
Chairman, Consumer Council
Associate Dean, Faculty of Business Administration, Chinese University of Hong Kong

Mr Chan Wing Luk
Financial Commentator, U Six Holdings Limited

Mr Leo Chiu
Partner, Chiu & Partners Solicitor
Member, Securities Law Committee, The Law Society of Hong Kong

Mr Vincent Duhamel
Principal and Chief Executive, State Street Global Advisers Asia Limited

Mr Leong Ka Chai
Chairman, Roctec International Limited

Ms Tina So
Director, Head of Investment Division, Schroders Investment (Hong Kong) Limited

Mr David Sun Tak-kei
Vice President, Hong Kong Society of Accountants
Chairman, Corporate Governance Committee, Hong Kong Society of Accountants

Mr Ricky Tam Siu-hing
Chairman, Hong Kong Institute of Investors

Mr Mark Taylor
Chairman, Corporate Governance Panel, Hong Kong Institute of Company Secretaries

Prof. Judy Tsui
Head and Professor, Department of Accountancy, City University of Hong Kong

Mr David Webb
Editor, Webb-site.com

Mr Peter Wong Shiu-hoi
Group Managing Director, Tai Fook Securities Group Limited

Page last updated : 1 Aug 2012