SFC Welcomes Appointment of Takeovers Panel and Takeovers Appeal Committee Members

2 May 2002

The Securities and Futures Commission (SFC) is pleased to announce the appointments of members of the Takeovers and Mergers Panel and the Takeovers Appeal Committee for the year 1 April 2002 to 31 March 2003 (please see attached list).

The SFC welcomes Mr. Malcolm Brown and Mr. John Lees as new members of the Panel. The SFC also welcomes the re-appointment of Mr. Kevin Westley as Chairman and Mr. Clifton Chiu and Mr. Henry Fan as Deputy Chairmen of the Panel.

Mr. Mark Dickens and Mr. Andrew Procter have stepped down from the Panel. This followed the recent amendments to the Takeovers and Mergers Code (effective on 1 February 2002) that now provides that no Executive Directors of the SFC may be members of the Panel.

The Panel and Appeal Committee are voluntary bodies which owe their success to the dedication and expertise of their members. The SFC is confident that the significant experience of members in takeovers and mergers and the securities and financial markets will ensure the continued success of the Panel and Appeal Committee.

* * * *

Takeovers and Mergers Panel Members for the term ending 31 March 2003

Kevin WESTLEY (Chairman of the Panel), Adviser to the Chairman
The Hongkong and Shanghai Banking Corporation Limited

Clifton CHIU (Deputy Chairman of the Panel), Managing Director
Harvester (Securities) Company Ltd

Henry FAN (Deputy Chairman of the Panel), (Non-Executive Director, SFC)
Managing Director
CITIC Pacific Ltd

Nicholas ALLEN, Partner

Ian BOYCE, Director
Sir Elly Kadoorie & Sons Ltd

Malcolm BROWN*, Managing Director and Head of Investment Banking, Asia
ING Barings Asia Limited

David CARSE, Deputy Chief Executive (Banking)
Hong Kong Monetary Authority

Edward CHENG, Chief Executive
USI Holdings Ltd

Stephen CLARK, Director
Anglo Chinese Corporate Finance, Ltd

David GRAHAM, Managing Director and General Counsel
Morgan Stanley Dean Witter Asia Limited

Teresa KO, Partner
Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer

Clement KWOK, Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer
The Hongkong and Shanghai Hotels, Limited

Angelina LEE, Partner
Woo Kwan Lee & Lo

John LEES*, Executive Director
Ferrier Hodgson Limited

Alfred LI, member of GEM Listing Committee
(formerly the Executive Director of Hang Lung Development Co Ltd)

LIU Chee-ming, Managing Director
Platinum Securities Company Ltd

David LUI, Vice Chairman
Schroder Investment Management (Hong Kong) Limited

Frederick MA, Executive Director
Pacific Century CyberWorks Limited

Roger MOSS, Senior Advisor
Goldman Sachs (Asia) Limited

Gavin NESBITT, Partner

Patricia SHIH, Consultant
Johnson Stokes & Master

Frank SLEVIN, Managing Director
Salomon Smith Barney Hong Kong Limited

May TAN, Managing Director
Cazenove Securities (Far East) Limited

Carlson TONG, Partner

David WEBB, Editor

V-Nee YEH, Managing Partner
VP Private Equity


Membership of Takeovers Appeal Committee for the term ending 31 March 2003


Chairman : Alan HOO, S.C.

Deputy Chairman : Patrick FUNG, S.C.

Members :

Clifton CHIU
Nicholas ALLEN
Malcolm BROWN*
Stephen CLARK
Edward CHENG
Teresa KO
Clement KWOK
Angelina LEE
John LEES*
David LUI
LIU Chee-ming
Alfred LI
Frederick MA
Roger MOSS
Patricia SHIH
Carlson TONG
David WEBB
Together with members of the Securities
and Futures Appeals Panel who have legal
training and experience appointed from
time to time

* newly appointed members

Page last updated : 1 Aug 2012