Shareholders Group

5 Jun 2003

The Securities and Futures Commission is pleased to announce the Shareholders Group membership for 2003-2004. The Commission has appointed 13 members to the Group for a one-year term, effective 17 June 2003.

Three new members have been appointed. They are Mr Albert Jinghan Cheng, Mr David Cheung and Mr Richard Mak.

The Shareholders Group is a standing committee under section 8 of the Securities and Futures Ordinance. The Group’s members include representatives of retail and institutional investors, professionals, academics, prominent advocates of investors’ rights, and the current Chairman of the Consumer Council. Since its formal establishment in June 2002 the Group has held seven meetings covering a wide range of topics. Views gathered from the Group have assisted the Corporate Finance and other divisions of the SFC in considering issues relating to shareholders’ interests and on the formulation of regulatory proposals.

"All members of the Shareholders Group have given valuable input on the topics we discussed over the last year. The Commission very much appreciates their generous support in giving us their time and sharing of their insights. We wish to thank especially Mr Mark Taylor, Prof Judy Tsui and Mr V-Nee Yeh who are retiring from the Group," said Mr Ashley Alder, SFC’s Executive Director of Corporate Finance and Chairman of the Group.

* * * * *

Shareholders Group

Membership ListMr Ashley Alder (Chairman)
Executive Director
Corporate Finance Division, the Securities and Futures Commission

Mr Jamie Allen
Secretary General
Asian Corporate Governance Association

Mr Rex Au Yeung
Managing Director and Chief Executive-Asia
Principal International (Asia) Ltd

Prof Andrew Chan
Chairman, Consumer Council
Professor, Department of Marketing and Director, Executive MBA Programme
Chinese University of Hong Kong

Mr Wing Luk Chan
Financial Commentator
U Six Holdings Ltd

Mr Albert Jinghan Cheng
Publisher and Broadcaster

Mr David Cheung
Investment Director
Prudential Asset Management (Hong Kong) Limited

Mr Vincent Duhamel
Principal and Chief Executive
State Street Global Advisers Asia Ltd

Mr Shu Fai Heung
Managing Director
Sirius Pacific Consultants Ltd

Mr David Lui
Vice Chairman
Schroder Investment Management (Hong Kong) Ltd

Mr Richard Mak
Hong Kong Society of Financial Analysts Limited

Mr David Tak-kei Sun
President, Hong Kong Society of Accountants

Mr David M. Webb


Page last updated : 1 Aug 2012