Public Shareholders Group

30 Jun 2004

The SFC is pleased to announce the Public Shareholders Group membership for 2004-2005.

The SFC has appointed 14 members to the Group for a one-year term, effective 1 July 2004. Two new members have been appointed. They are Mr Chung Man Wing and Mr Douglas Naismith.

Known as the Shareholders Group when it was established in May 2001, the Public Shareholders Group is a standing committee under section 8 of the Securities and Futures Ordinance. The name has been changed to reflect more accurately the Group’s role in representing public shareholders’ interests.

The Group’s members include representatives of retail and institutional investors, professionals, academics, prominent advocates of investors’ rights, and the current Chairman of the Consumer Council. Last year, the Group held five meetings covering a wide range of topics. Views gathered from the Group have assisted the Corporate Finance and other divisions of the SFC in considering issues relating to shareholders’ interests and on the formulation of regulatory proposals.

Mr Ashley Alder, SFC’s Executive Director of Corporate Finance and Chairman of the Group, said: "The Group has played an important role in providing insight and feedback to the Commission over the last year. The Commission very much appreciates members’ generous support in giving us their time and sharing of their insights. We wish to thank especially Mr Heung Shu Fai who is retiring from the Group."


Notes to Editor:

1. The list of members is attached.

* * * * * * * * * *

Securities and Futures Commission

Public Shareholders Group

Membership List

Mr Ashley ALDER (Chairman) (Ex-Officio)
Executive Director
Corporate Finance Division, the Securities and Futures Commission

Mr Jamie ALLEN
Secretary General
Asian Corporate Governance Association

Managing Director and Chief Executive-Asia
Principal International (Asia) Ltd

Prof Andrew CHAN
Chairman, Consumer Council
Professor, Department of Marketing, and Director, Executive MBA Programme
Chinese University of Hong Kong

Mr Wing Luk CHAN
Financial Commentator

Mr Albert Jinghan CHENG
Publisher and Broadcaster

Investment Director
Prudential Asset Management (Hong Kong) Limited

Mr Man Wing CHUNG
Managing Director, Pacific Regional Group
JF Asset Management Limited

Mr Vincent DUHAMEL
Senior Principal and Chief Executive
State Street Global Advisers Asia Limited

Mr David LUI
Vice Chairman
Schroder Investment Management (Hong Kong) Limited

Mr Richard MAK
Hong Kong Society of Financial Analysts Limited

Managing Director
Fidelity Investments Management (H.K.) Limited

Mr David Tak-kei SUN
Chairman, Assurance & Advisory Business Services
Ernst & YoungMr David M. WEBB


Page last updated : 1 Aug 2012