SFC Appoints Takeovers Panel and Takeovers Appeal Committee Members

26 Mar 2004

The SFC is pleased to announce the appointment of members to the Takeovers and Mergers Panel and the Takeovers Appeal Committee for the year 1 April 2004 to 31 March 2005.

The SFC welcomes Mr Brian Stevenson and Mr Jim Baird as new members of the Panel. The SFC also welcomes the re-appointment of Mr Kevin Westley as Chairman, and Mr Henry Fan and Mr Clifton Chiu as Deputy Chairmen of the Panel. In addition, existing members Mr Stephen Clark, Mr David Graham and Ms Teresa Ko are appointed as Deputy Chairmen of the Panel.

The SFC would like to thank Mr David Carse and Mr C Roger Moss, who have stepped down from the Panel, for their valuable contribution over the years.

The SFC also welcomes the appointment of new member Mr Kenneth H W Kwok, SC, and existing member Ms Angelina Lee as Chairman and Deputy Chairman of the Takeovers Appeal Committee.

The Panel and Appeal Committee are voluntary bodies which owe their success to the dedication and expertise of their members. The SFC is confident that the significant experience of members in takeovers and mergers, and in the securities and financial markets will ensure the continued success of the Panel and the Appeal Committee.


Notes to Editor:

1. The lists of members are attached.

Takeovers and Mergers Panel
Membership List (1 April 2004 to 31 March 2005)

Mr Kevin Westley, Advisor to the Chairman

The Hongkong and Shanghai Banking Corporation Limited

Deputy Chairmen
Mr Clifton Chiu, Managing Director

Harvester (Holdings) Company Ltd

Mr Stephen Clark, Director

Anglo Chinese Corporate Finance, Ltd

Mr Henry H L Fan, Managing Director

CITIC Pacific Limited

Mr David Graham, Managing Director and General Counsel

Morgan Stanley Dean Witter Asia Limited

Ms Teresa Ko, Partner

Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer

Mr Nicholas Allen, Partner


Mr Jim Baird, Partner

Clifford Chance

Mr Ian Boyce, Director

Sir Elly Kadoorie & Sons Ltd

Mr Malcolm Brown, Managing Director, Head of Investment Banking, Asia

ING Bank N.V.

Mr Edward W S Cheng, Chief Executive

USI Holdings Limited

Mr Clement Kwok, Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer

The Hongkong and Shanghai Hotels, Limited

Mrs Angelina Lee, Partner

Woo Kwan Lee & Lo

Mr John Lees, Director

John Lees & Associates Limited

Mr Alfred Li
Mr Liu Chee Ming, Managing Director

Platinum Securities Company Limited

Mr David Lui, Vice Chairman

Schroder Investment Management (Hong Kong) Limited

Mr John Maguire, Managing Director

Ernst & Young Corporate Finance Limited

Mr Gavin Nesbitt, Partner


Ms Patricia Shih, Consultant

Johnson Stokes & Master

Mr Frank Slevin, Managing Director

Citigroup Global Markets Asia Limited

Mr Brian Stevenson (Non-Executive Director, SFC)
Ms May Tan, Chief Executive

Cazenove Asia Limited

Mr Carlson Tong, Partner in charge, Audit & Risk Advisory Services


Mr David Webb, Editor


Mr V-Nee Yeh, Managing Partner

VP Private Equity

* * * * * * * * * *

Members of Takeovers Appeal Committee
Membership List (1 April 2004 to 31 March 2005)

Mr Kenneth H W Kwok, SC

Deputy Chairman
Mrs Angelina Lee

Mr Nicholas Allen
Mr Jim Baird
Mr Ian Boyce
Mr Malcolm Brown
Mr Edward W S Cheng
Mr Clifton Chiu
Mr Stephen Clark
Mr Henry Fan
Mr David Graham
Ms Teresa Ko
Mr Clement Kwok
Mr John Lees
Mr Alfred Li
Mr Liu Chee Ming
Mr David Lui
Mr John Maguire
Mr Gavin Nesbitt
Ms Patricia Shih
Mr Frank Slevin
Mr Brian Stevenson
Ms May Tan
Mr Carlson Tong
Mr David Webb
Mr Kevin Westley
Mr V-Nee Yeh

Page last updated : 1 Aug 2012