SFC Appoints Takeovers Panel and Takeovers Appeal Committee Members

30 Mar 2007

The SFC is pleased to announce the appointment of members to the Takeovers and Mergers Panel, and the Takeovers Appeal Committee for a term of one year from 1 April 2007 to 31 March 2008.

The SFC welcomes the re-appointment of Mr Kevin Westley as Chairman, and Mr Clifton Chiu, Mr Stephen Clark, Mr Henry Fan, Mr David Graham and Ms Teresa Ko as Deputy Chairmen of the Panel.

The SFC also welcomes the appointment of Ms Teresa Ko as Chairman and Mr Jim Baird as Deputy Chairman of the Appeal Committee.

The SFC would like to thank Mr Eddy Fong, Mr Herbert Hui, Mr William Ryback, Mr Gregory Terry and Mrs Angelina Lee (Chairman of the Appeal Committee) for their valuable contribution over the years.

The Panel and Appeal Committee are committees of the SFC established under section 8 of the Securities and Futures Ordinance. They are voluntary bodies which owe their success to the dedication and expertise of their members. The Panel reviews rulings by the Executive at the request of any party and considers novel, important or difficult cases referred to it by the Executive. The Panel also hears disciplinary matters relating to any breach of the Codes on Takeovers and Mergers and Share Repurchases. The Appeal Committee reviews disciplinary rulings of the Panel for the purpose of determining whether any sanction imposed by the Panel is unfair or excessive.

The SFC is confident that the significant experience of members in takeovers and mergers, and in the securities and financial markets will ensure the continued success of the Panel and the Appeal Committee.



1. The lists of members are attached.

Page last updated : 1 Aug 2012