SFC welcomes appointment of Non-Executive Directors

6 Jul 2020

The Securities and Futures Commission (SFC) welcomes the appointment by the Financial Secretary of Mr Victor Dawes, SC and the re-appointment of Dr James C Lin as Non-Executive Directors for a term of two years with effect from 1 August 2020 (Notes 1 & 2).

"I look forward to working with Mr Dawes and I am certain that the SFC will continue to benefit from Dr Lin’s counsel," said Mr Tim Lui, the SFC’s chairman.

"I would like to express our sincere gratitude to outgoing Non-Executive Director Dr William Wong, SC for his valuable contribution to the SFC over the past six years, including serving as the Chairman of the Investor Compensation Company Limited," Mr Lui added (Notes 3 & 4).



  1. Mr Dawes is currently a member of the SFC Takeover Disciplinary Chair Committee.
  2. Dr Lin was first appointed as the SFC’s Non-Executive Director on 1 August 2018.
  3. Dr Wong was appointed as the SFC’s Non-Executive Director on 1 August 2014. 
  4. Investor Compensation Company Limited, a wholly-owned subsidiary of the SFC, is established for the administration of claims against the Investor Compensation Fund.


Page last updated : 6 Jul 2020