Circular to licensed corporations and associated entities
Third-party deposits and payments

31 May 2019



Circular to licensed corporations and associated entities

Third-party deposits and payments

The Securities and Futures Commission (SFC) wishes to reiterate the importance of mitigating the risks associated with third-party payments to or from accounts maintained by clients with licensed corporations (LCs) and associated entities (AEs). LCs and AEs are reminded to enforce appropriate and effective control measures which are capable of addressing these risks and meeting the requirements set out in the relevant guidelines and circulars1.

Third-party deposits and payments may be used to facilitate the misappropriation of client assets, money laundering and other misconduct2. When a client uses a third party to pay for or receive the proceeds of investment transactions, there is a risk that the arrangement may be used to disguise the true beneficial owner or the source of funds.

Expected standards

In several recent enforcement cases, the policies, procedures and controls put in place by LCs for handling third party deposits and payments were found to fall short of the expected standards or were not properly enforced by the managers and staff members responsible.

To assist LCs and AEs in reviewing the adequacy of their policies and procedures for mitigating the risks associated with third-party deposits and payments, we have summarised in the Appendix the key control measures which should be in place and also provide non-exhaustive examples of effective practices to implement them. These control measures aim to protect client assets as well as to detect and prevent money laundering and terrorist financing (ML/TF) and other illicit activities involving third-party deposits and payments.

LCs and AEs should critically assess the risk that they could be inadvertently exposed to financial crime as well as legal and compliance risks, and give serious consideration to refusing third-party deposits and payments3

Where LCs and AEs consider that there are exceptional and legitimate circumstances under which clients may be permitted to make third-party payment arrangements, they should only accept such arrangements when adequate control measures are properly implemented to mitigate the associated risks, and the arrangements otherwise satisfy all the applicable legal and regulatory requirements4. In any event, LCs and AEs should accept only those third-party deposits or payments which are reasonably in line with the client’s profile and normal commercial practices.

A Manager-In-Charge (MIC) of Anti-money Laundering and Counter-Terrorist Financing (AML/CFT) should be designated to oversee the proper design and implementation of the policies and procedures for handling third-party deposits and payments5 as well as the ongoing monitoring of client accounts involving such deposits or payments. The acceptance of a third-party deposit or payment should be approved by the MIC of AML/CFT or Money Laundering Reporting Officer (MLRO). Where it involves a third-party payor or payee who might pose higher risks, it should be subject to a dual approval process6.

LCs and AEs are also reminded to step up their ongoing monitoring of client accounts involving third-party deposits and payments, make prompt follow-up inquiries and report any suspicious transactions to the Joint Financial Intelligence Unit (JFIU) and other relevant authorities (such as the SFC and the Police) to discharge their compliance obligations.

Senior management of LCs, including the MIC of AML/CFT, bear the primary responsibility for ensuring their firms maintain appropriate standards and adhere to proper procedures. Where appropriate, the SFC will take action against firms and their senior management who are responsible for failures to put in place appropriate and effective policies, procedures and controls for handling third-party deposits and payments.

Should you have any questions regarding the contents of this circular, please contact Ms Kiki Wong at 2231 1569 or the case officer.

Intermediaries Supervision Department
Intermediaries Division
Securities and Futures Commission

Enclosure

End

SFO/IS/029/2019

1 Relevant guidelines and circulars include but are not limited to the following:
(i) Guideline on Anti-Money Laundering and Counter-Financing of Terrorism (For Licensed Corporations) (AML Guideline) 
(ii) Prevention of Money Laundering and Terrorist Financing Guideline issued by the Securities and Futures Commission for Associated Entities
(iii) Management, Supervision and Internal Control Guidelines for Persons Licensed by or Registered with the Securities and Futures Commission
(iv) Suggested Control Techniques and Procedures for Enhancing a Firm’s Ability to Comply with the Securities and Futures (Client Securities) Rules and the Securities and Futures (Client Money) Rules
(v) Circular dated 3 December 2013 on Suspicious Transactions Monitoring and Reporting
(vi) Circular dated 31 August 2018 on Anti-Money Laundering / Counter Financing of Terrorism measures and controls inspection findings
2
In the SFC’s circular dated 9 October 2018, it was noted that frequent and large transfers to and from third parties absent a credible commercial rationale or explanation are a potential red flag which may suggest the use of “nominee” or “warehousing” arrangements to facilitate market and corporate misconduct.
3 For the avoidance of doubt, where a client has been on-boarded online using the non-face-to-face procedures provided in the SFC’s circular dated 12 July 2018, the firm should conduct all deposits and withdrawals for the client’s trading account through a designated bank account held in the client’s name.
4 For example, General Principle 7 of the Code of Conduct for Persons Licensed by or Registered with the Securities and Futures Commission, requiring intermediaries to comply with all regulatory requirements applicable to the conduct of their business activities so as to promote the best interests of clients and the integrity of the market, and section 23 of Schedule 2 to the Anti-Money Laundering and Counter-Terrorist Financing Ordinance requiring financial institutions to take all reasonable measures to mitigate money laundering and terrorist financing risks.
5 The senior management of an LC or AE, which is obliged under the AML Guideline to satisfy itself that the business is taking sufficiently effective measures to protect itself against the risks of ML/TF, should approve these policies and procedures.
6 For effective internal control, dual approval by the officer holding the position of MIC of AML/CFT or MLRO and another person who is a member of senior management should be required.


Click here to download the document

Supplementary document:
Appendix


Page last updated : 4 Jul 2019

致持牌法團及有聯繫實體的通函
第三者存款及付款

2019年5月31日



致持牌法團及有聯繫實體的通函

第三者存款及付款

證券及期貨事務監察委員會(證監會)希望重申,業界必須減低客戶在透過與持牌法團及有聯繫實體開立的帳戶從第三者收取或向第三者支付款項時所涉及的風險。持牌法團及有聯繫實體務必執行能應付上述風險和符合相關指引及通函1所載的規定的適當而有效的監控措施。

第三者存款及付款可能會被用來利便進行客戶資產挪用、洗錢和其他失當行為2。當客戶利用第三者支付或收取投資交易的收益時,該安排可能存在被用作隱藏真正實益擁有人或資金來源的風險。

應達到的標準

在近期的數宗執法個案中,持牌法團為處理第三者存款及付款而制定的政策、程序及監控措施被發現並未符合應達到的標準,或負責的管理人員及職員未有妥善執行有關政策、程序及監控措施。

為協助持牌法團及有聯繫實體檢視它們的政策及程序在減低第三者存款及付款所涉及的風險方面是否足夠,我們在附錄概述了應予制定的關鍵監控措施,並列舉了一些非詳盡無遺的例子,以說明在執行有關監控措施方面的有效作業手法。有關監控措施旨在保障客戶資產,並且偵測及防止洗錢及恐怖分子資金籌集活動和其他涉及第三者存款及付款的不法活動。

持牌法團及有聯繫實體應嚴格地評估它們可能會在無意間牽涉金融罪行的風險,以及法律和合規風險,並慎重考慮是否應拒絕第三者存款及付款3。 

假如持牌法團及有聯繫實體認為有任何可容許客戶作出第三者付款安排的特殊及合法情況,它們應只在已妥善實施充足的監控措施以減低所涉及的風險,並且有關安排已符合所有適用的法例及監管規定4的前提下,接納有關安排。在任何情況下,持牌法團及有聯繫實體應只接納合理地符合客戶的概況和一般商業作業手法的第三者存款或付款。

持牌法團及有聯繫實體應指派負責打擊洗錢及恐怖分子資金籌集的核心職能主管,監督有否就處理第三者存款及付款妥善設計和實施政策及程序5,以及持續監察有關存款及付款所涉及的客戶帳戶。第三者存款或付款應在得到負責打擊洗錢及恐怖分子資金籌集的核心職能主管或洗錢報告主任批准後,才可獲接納。當存款或付款涉及可能具有較高風險的第三者付款人或收款人時,有關存款或付款便應通過雙重審批程序6

本會亦提醒持牌法團及有聯繫實體務必加強對涉及第三者存款和付款的客戶帳戶的持續監察,迅速作出跟進查詢,以及向聯合財富情報組和其他有關當局(例如證監會及警方)匯報任何可疑交易,以履行合規責任。

持牌法團的高級管理層(包括負責打擊洗錢及恐怖分子資金籌集的核心職能主管)對於確保公司維持適當的標準及遵守恰當的程序負有首要責任。任何公司如沒有為處理第三者存款及付款制定適當和有效的政策、程序及監控措施,證監會便會在適當情況下對有關公司和須就此缺失負責的高級管理層採取行動。

如對本通函內容有任何疑問,請致電2231 1569聯絡王凱琪女士或聯絡相關個案主任。

證券及期貨事務監察委員會
中介機構部
中介機構監察科

連附件

SFO/IS/029/2019

1 相關指引及通函包括但不限於下列各項:
(i)  《打擊洗錢及恐怖分子資金籌集指引(適用於持牌法團)》(《打擊洗錢指引》)
(ii) 《證券及期貨事務監察委員會發出適用於有聯繫實體的防止洗錢及恐怖分子資金籌集的指引》
(iii)《適用於證券及期貨事務監察委員會持牌人或註冊人的管理、監督及內部監控指引》
(iv)《提高商號遵守〈證券及期貨(客戶證券)規則〉及〈證券及期貨(客戶款項)規則〉的能力的建議監控措施及程序》
(v)  日期為2013年12月3日有關監察及舉報可疑交易的通函
(vi) 日期為2018年8月31日有關就打擊洗錢/恐怖分子資金籌集的措施及管控程序進行視察的結果的通函
2
證監會在日期為2018年10月9日的通函中指出,與第三者有頻繁的大額資金調撥而沒有可信的商業理據或解釋乃屬於潛在預警跡象,這可能意味著有人透過“代名人”及“以他人名義代持股份”安排來進行市場及企業失當行為。
3
為免生疑問,如採用證監會在日期為2018年7月12日的通函中所訂明的非面對面程序在網上與某客戶建立業務關係,公司便應透過以該客戶的名義持有的指定銀行帳戶進行所有就該客戶的交易帳戶作出的存款及提款。
4
舉例來說,《證券及期貨事務監察委員會持牌人或註冊人操守準則》第7項一般原則規定,中介人應遵守一切適用於其業務活動的監管規定,維護客戶最佳利益及促進市場廉潔穩健;及《打擊洗錢及恐怖分子資金籌集條例》附表2第23條規定,金融機構須採取所有合理措施,以減低洗錢及恐怖分子資金籌集風險。
5 有關政策及程序應由持牌法團或有聯繫實體的高級管理層來批准。根據《打擊洗錢指引》,高級管理層有責任令其本身信納機構已採取充分有效的保護措施抵禦洗錢及恐怖分子資金籌集風險。
6 為確保內部監控措施的有效性,第三者存款或付款必須由擔任打擊洗錢及恐怖分子資金籌集的核心職能主管或洗錢報告主任的人員,以及另一名屬高級管理層的人士進行雙重審批。


按這裡下載文件

附錄文件:
附錄


最後更新日期 : 2019年7月4日