Circular to Licensed Corporations and Associated Entities - Anti-Money Laundering / Counter-Financing of Terrorism
(1) FATF Statement on Democratic People’s Republic of Korea and Iran
(2) FATF Statement on Improving Global AML/CFT Compliance: On-Going Process
(3) Outcomes from the Meeting of the FATF Plenary, 16-18 October 2019
(4) FATF Business Bulletin

29 Oct 2019



Circular to Licensed Corporations and Associated Entities

Anti-Money Laundering / Counter-Financing of Terrorism

(1)  FATF Statement on Democratic People’s Republic of Korea and Iran

(2)  FATF Statement on Improving Global AML/CFT Compliance: On-Going Process

(3)  Outcomes from the Meeting of the FATF Plenary, 16-18 October 2019

(4)  FATF Business Bulletin

(1)  FATF Statement on Democratic People’s Republic of Korea and Iran

Further to our circular issued on 5 July 2019, this is to inform you that the Financial Action Task Force (“FATF”) issued an updated statement on 18 October 2019 identifying jurisdictions that have strategic deficiencies in their anti-money laundering and combating the financing of terrorism (“AML/CFT”) regimes. The statement can be found on the website of the FATF (http://www.fatf-gafi.org/publications/high-risk-and-other-monitored-jurisdictions/documents/public-statement-october-2019.html).

Democratic People’s Republic of Korea (“DPRK”)

The FATF remains concerned by the DPRK’s failure to address the significant deficiencies in its AML/CFT regime and the threat posed by the DPRK’s illicit activities related to the proliferation of weapons of mass destruction (“WMDs”) and its financing. The FATF calls on its members and other jurisdictions to continue to apply countermeasures and targeted financial sanctions in accordance with applicable United Nations Security Council Resolutions to protect their financial sectors from money laundering, terrorist financing and WMD proliferation financing risks emanating from the jurisdiction.

Licensed corporations (“LCs”) and associated entities (“AEs”) should give special attention to business relationships and transactions with the DPRK, including DPRK companies, financial institutions and those acting on their behalf, and subject them to increased scrutiny and enhanced due diligence measures.

In addition, LCs and AEs are reminded that it is an offence under section 4 of the Weapons of Mass Destruction (Control of Provision of Services) Ordinance (Cap. 526) for a person to provide any services where he believes or suspects, on reasonable grounds, that those services may be connected to WMD proliferation.

Iran

The FATF expresses its disappointment that the Action Plan that Iran adopted in June 2016 to address its strategic AML/CFT deficiencies, remains outstanding. The FATF calls on its members and other jurisdictions to undertake certain countermeasures Note 1 and financial institutions in members and other jurisdictions to apply enhanced due diligence measures; and warns that if before February 2020, Iran does not enact the Palermo and Terrorist Financing Conventions in line with the FATF Standards, it will fully lift the suspension of countermeasures and call on its members and other jurisdictions to apply effective countermeasures.

Until Iran implements the measures required to address the deficiencies identified with respect to countering terrorism-financing in the Action Plan, the FATF will remain concerned with the terrorist financing risk emanating from Iran and the threat this poses to the international financial system.

LCs and AEs should therefore continue to apply enhanced due diligence, proportionate to the risks, with respect to business relationships and transactions with natural and legal persons from Iran, including (1) obtaining information on the reasons for intended transactions; and (2) conducting enhanced monitoring of business relationships, by increasing the number and timing of controls applied, and selecting patterns of transactions that need further examination.

(2)  FATF Statement on Improving Global AML/CFT Compliance: On-Going Process

In addition, please be informed that as part of the on-going process to improve global AML/CFT compliance, the FATF has set out in a separate statement an updated list of jurisdictions that have strategic AML/CFT deficiencies for which they have developed an action plan with the FATF Note 2. The FATF will closely monitor the implementation of those action plans and encourage its members to consider the information presented in the statement which can be found on the website of the FATF (http://www.fatf-gafi.org/publications/high-risk-and-other-monitored-jurisdictions/documents/fatf-compliance-october-2019.html).

As the FATF will continue to assess the progress made by these jurisdictions in addressing the deficiencies in their AML/CFT systems and issue updated statements from time to time, LCs and AEs are reminded to browse the website of the FATF for the latest information. 

(3)  Outcomes from the Meeting of the FATF Plenary, 16-18 October 2019 

In addition to the statements in (1) and (2) above, the FATF has also published various other outcomes of its recent Plenary Meeting which may be of interest to LCs and AEs. They include, for example, (i) adoption of changes to the FATF Methodology for assessing how well countries are implementing the new FATF Standards relating to virtual assets Note 3. Such changes apply immediately to all future mutual evaluations as well as follow-up reports for countries that have already undergone their mutual evaluation;  (ii) issuance of a public statement on FATF’s work on regulating virtual assets and monitoring the risks posed by “stablecoins” and other emerging assets to ensure the FATF Standards remain relevant and responsive Note 4; (iii) approval of a public consultation of guidance on the use of digital identity; and (iv) approval of new Best Practices on Beneficial Ownership for Legal Persons.

Further information can be found on the website of the FATF (http://www.fatf-gafi.org/publications/fatfgeneral/documents/outcomes-plenary-october-2019.html).

(4)  FATF Business Bulletin

The FATF from time to time produces business bulletins that highlight the FATF’s decisions (e.g. Mutual Evaluation or Follow-up reports) and new guidance or other products that are particularly relevant to the private sector. For example, the recent bulletin includes a brief summary on the Mutual Evaluation Report of Hong Kong. LCs and AEs are encouraged to read the bulletin to keep updated on recent international AML/CFT developments and may subscribe to the business bulletin at the website of the FATF (http://www.fatf-gafi.org/publications/fatfgeneral/documents/private-sector-business-bulletin.html).

Should you have any queries regarding the contents of this circular, please contact Ms Kiki Wong at 2231 1569 who will assist to refer your queries to the relevant officer.

Intermediaries Supervision Department
Intermediaries Division
Securities and Futures Commission

End

SFO/IS/054/2019

Note 1 These countermeasures are: (a) to require increased supervisory examination for branches and subsidiaries of financial institutions based in Iran; (b) to introduce enhanced relevant reporting mechanisms or systematic reporting of financial transactions; and (c) to require increased external audit requirements for financial groups with respect to any of their branches and subsidiaries located in Iran.
Note 2 The FATF has removed three jurisdictions (namely Ethiopia, Sri Lanka and Tunisia) from, and added three new jurisdictions (namely Iceland, Mongolia and Zimbabwe) to, the list of jurisdictions subject to monitoring under its on-going global AML/CFT compliance process.
Note 3 The FATF adopted new Standards relating to virtual assets: revisions to FATF Recommendation 15 and its new interpretative note in its Plenary meetings held in October 2018 and June 2019 respectively. The relevant FATF Plenary outcomes can be found in our circulars on Outcomes from the Meeting of the FATF Plenary in October 2018 (https://www.sfc.hk/edistributionWeb/gateway/EN/circular/aml/doc?refNo=18EC76) and June 2019 (https://www.sfc.hk/edistributionWeb/gateway/EN/circular/aml/doc?refNo=19EC47) respectively. 
Note 4 The statement can be found on the website of the FATF (http://www.fatf-gafi.org/publications/fatfgeneral/documents/statement-virtual-assets-global-stablecoins.html).


Click here to download the document


Page last updated : 29 Oct 2019

致持牌法團及有聯繫實體的通函 - 打擊洗錢/恐怖分子資金籌集
(1) 財務行動特別組織有關朝鮮民主主義人民共和國及伊朗的聲明
(2) 財務行動特別組織有關改善全球打擊洗錢/恐怖分子資金籌集的合規情況的聲明:持續進展
(3) 財務行動特別組織2019年10月16至18日全體會議所取得的成果
(4) 財務行動特別組織業務通訊

2019年10月29日



致持牌法團及有聯繫實體的通函

打擊洗錢/恐怖分子資金籌集

(1)  財務行動特別組織有關朝鮮民主主義人民共和國及伊朗的聲明

(2)  財務行動特別組織有關改善全球打擊洗錢/恐怖分子資金籌集的合規情況的聲明:持續進展

(3)  財務行動特別組織2019年10月16至18日全體會議所取得的成果

(4)  財務行動特別組織業務通訊

(1)  財務行動特別組織有關朝鮮民主主義人民共和國及伊朗的聲明

繼本會在2019年7月5日發出相關通函後,現通知持牌法團及有聯繫實體,財務行動特別組織(“特別組織”)已在2019年10月18日發出一份最新聲明,識別出其打擊洗錢及恐怖分子資金籌集制度存在策略性缺失的司法管轄區。

該份聲明可於特別組織的網站(http://www.fatf-gafi.org/publications/high-risk-and-other-monitored-jurisdictions/documents/public-statement-october-2019.html)取覽。

朝鮮民主主義人民共和國

特別組織對於朝鮮民主主義人民共和國未能處理其打擊洗錢/恐怖分子資金籌集制度內的重大缺失,以及朝鮮民主主義人民共和國有關大規模毀滅武器擴散的非法活動及其資金籌集所構成的威脅,仍表示關注。特別組織呼籲其成員及其他司法管轄區繼續採取針對措施,和根據適用的聯合國安全理事會決議繼續採取針對性金融制裁,保障金融界,以免因朝鮮民主主義人民共和國出現洗錢、恐怖分子資金籌集及大規模毀滅武器擴散資金籌集的風險而受損。

持牌法團及有聯繫實體應特別留意與朝鮮民主主義人民共和國(包括其公司、金融機構及代表該等公司及金融機構行事的人士)之間的業務關係及交易,並對該等公司、機構及人士加強審察和採取更嚴格的盡職審查措施。

此外,持牌法團及有聯繫實體應注意,根據《大規模毀滅武器(提供服務的管制)條例》(第526章)第4條,如某人向他人提供任何服務,而該人基於合理理由相信或懷疑該等服務可能與大規模毀滅武器擴散有關,該人即屬犯罪。

伊朗

特別組織對伊朗為處理其打擊洗錢/恐怖分子資金籌集方面的策略性缺失而於2016年6月採納的行動計劃尚未完成,表示失望。特別組織呼籲其成員及其他司法管轄區採取某些針對措施註1,以及呼籲成員及其他司法管轄區的金融機構採取更嚴格的盡職審查措施;並警告若伊朗在2020年2月前不按照特別組織標準就《巴勒摩公約》及《制止資助恐怖分子公約》立法,特別組織將會全面恢復目前暫緩的針對措施,並呼籲其成員及其他司法管轄區採取有效的針對措施。

直至伊朗全面執行所需措施以處理在行動計劃中就打擊恐怖分子資金籌集所識別的缺失為止,特別組織對於伊朗出現恐怖分子資金籌集的風險,以及這情況對國際金融體系所構成的威脅,將會保持關注。

持牌法團及有聯繫實體因此應繼續對與來自伊朗的自然人及法人之間的業務關係及交易,採取與風險相稱的更嚴格的盡職審查措施,包括(1)就擬進行交易的原因取得相關資料;及(2)藉著增加執行管控措施的次數和時間,及篩選需要進一步查驗的交易模式,來加強監察業務關係。

(2)  財務行動特別組織有關改善全球打擊洗錢/恐怖分子資金籌集的合規情況的聲明:持續進展

此外,為了持續改善全球打擊洗錢/恐怖分子資金籌集的合規情況,特別組織在另一份聲明內提供最新名單,列出在打擊洗錢/恐怖分子資金籌集方面出現策略性缺失,但已就此與特別組織制訂行動計劃的司法管轄區註2。特別組織將會密切監察有關行動計劃的實施情況,並促請其成員參考載於特別組織的網站(http://www.fatf-gafi.org/publications/high-risk-and-other-monitored-jurisdictions/documents/fatf-compliance-october-2019.html)的聲明所提述的資料。

特別組織將會繼續評估這些司法管轄區在處理其打擊洗錢/恐怖分子資金籌集制度缺失方面的進展,並會不時發表最新聲明,因此持牌法團及有聯繫實體應瀏覽特別組織的網站,以查閱最新資料。 

(3)  財務行動特別組織2019101618日全體會議所取得的成果 

除了上文(1)及(2)中的聲明外,特別組織亦發表了在近期舉行的全體會議上取得,而持牌法團及有聯繫實體可能有興趣知道的多項其他成果,當中包括(舉例說),(i)採納對特別組織用以評估國家是否有效實施特別組織有關虛擬資產的新標準的方法所作的改變註3。有關改變即時適用於所有日後的相互評估及已進行相互評估的國家的跟進報告;(ii)就特別組織為確保特別組織標準仍然相關及適用而對虛擬資產的規管工作,及對“穩定幣” (stablecoin)和其他新興資產所帶來的風險的監察工作,發表公開聲明註4;(iii)批准就有關使用數碼身分的指引進行公眾諮詢;及(iv)批准新的《有關法人實益擁有權的最佳作業手法》(Best Practices on Beneficial Ownership for Legal Persons)。

進一步資料可於特別組織的網站(http://www.fatf-gafi.org/publications/fatfgeneral/documents/outcomes-plenary-october-2019.html)取覽。

(4)  財務行動特別組織業務通訊

特別組織不時刊發業務通訊,當中重點闡述特別組織的決定(例如相互評估或跟進報告)及新的指引或其他對私人界別而言特別相關的產品。舉例來說,最近一期的通訊包含香港的相互評估報告的簡短撮要。本會鼓勵持牌法團及有聯繫實體參閱該通訊以緊貼國際間有關打擊洗錢/恐怖分子資金籌集的發展。持牌法團及有聯繫實體可在特別組織的網站(http://www.fatf-gafi.org/publications/fatfgeneral/documents/private-sector-business-bulletin.html)訂閱業務通訊。

如對本通函內容有任何疑問,請致電2231 1569聯絡王凱琪女士為閣下將有關疑問轉介至相關負責人員。

證券及期貨事務監察委員會
中介機構部
中介機構監察科

SFO/IS/054/2019

註1 這些針對措施為:(a)要求對以伊朗為基地的金融機構的分公司和附屬公司加強監督檢查;(b)就金融交易引入更嚴格的相關滙報機制或系統性匯報;及(c)要求對金融集團位於伊朗的任何分公司和附屬公司加強外部審核規定。
註2 特別組織在根據其持續的全球打擊洗錢/恐怖分子資金籌集合規程序中受監管的司法管轄區的名單上,移除了三個司法管轄區(即埃塞俄比亞、斯里蘭卡及突尼斯),及加入了三個新的司法管轄區(即冰島、蒙古及津巴布韋)。
註3 特別組織採納了有關虛擬資產的新標準:分別在2018年10月及2019年6月舉行的全體會議上對特別組織第15項建議作出的修改及新增註釋。有關的特別組織全體會議結果可於本會分別就在2018年10月(https://www.sfc.hk/edistributionWeb/gateway/TC/circular/aml/doc?refNo=18EC76)及2019年6月(https://www.sfc.hk/edistributionWeb/gateway/TC/circular/aml/doc?refNo=19EC47)舉行的特別組織全體會議所取得的成果而發出的通函取覽。
註4 該份聲明可於特別組織的網站(http://www.fatf-gafi.org/publications/fatfgeneral/documents/statement-virtual-assets-global-stablecoins.html)取覽。


按這裡下載文件


最後更新日期 : 2019年10月29日