Circular to Licensed Corporations and Associated Entities - Anti-Money Laundering / Counter-Financing of Terrorism
(1) FATF Statement on High-Risk Jurisdictions subject to a Call for Action
(2) FATF Statement on Jurisdictions under Increased Monitoring
(3) Outcomes from the Meeting of the FATF Plenary, 19-21 February 2020

10 Mar 2020



Circular to Licensed Corporations and Associated Entities

Anti-Money Laundering / Counter-Financing of Terrorism

(1)  FATF Statement on High-Risk Jurisdictions subject to a Call for Action

(2)  FATF Statement on Jurisdictions under Increased Monitoring

(3)  Outcomes from the Meeting of the FATF Plenary, 19-21 February 2020

(1)  FATF Statement on High-Risk Jurisdictions subject to a Call for Action Note 1

Further to our circular issued on 29 October 2019, this is to inform you that the Financial Action Task Force (“FATF”) issued an updated statement on 21 February 2020 identifying jurisdictions that have significant strategic deficiencies in their regimes to counter money laundering, terrorist financing, and financing of proliferation. The statement can be found on the website of the FATF (http://www.fatf-gafi.org/publications/high-risk-and-other-monitored-jurisdictions/documents/call-for-action-february-2020.html).

Democratic People’s Republic of Korea (“DPRK”)

The FATF remains concerned by the DPRK’s failure to address the significant deficiencies in its anti-money laundering and combating the financing of terrorism (“AML/CFT”) regime and the threat posed by the DPRK’s illicit activities related to the proliferation of weapons of mass destruction (“WMDs”) and its financing. The FATF calls on its members and other jurisdictions to continue to apply effective counter-measures and targeted financial sanctions in accordance with applicable United Nations Security Council Resolutions to protect their financial sectors from money laundering, terrorist financing and WMD proliferation financing risks emanating from the jurisdiction.

Licensed corporations (“LCs”) and associated entities (“AEs”) should give special attention to business relationships and transactions with the DPRK, including DPRK companies, financial institutions and those acting on their behalf, and subject them to increased scrutiny and enhanced due diligence measures.

In addition, LCs and AEs are reminded that it is an offence under section 4 of the Weapons of Mass Destruction (Control of Provision of Services) Ordinance (Cap. 526) for a person to provide any services where he believes or suspects, on reasonable grounds, that those services may be connected to WMD proliferation.

Iran

The FATF noted Iran has not completed the Action Plan that it adopted in June 2016 to address its strategic AML/CFT deficiencies, including the measures required to address the deficiencies identified with respect to countering terrorism-financing.  Until Iran implements such measures, the FATF will remain concerned with the terrorist financing risk emanating from Iran and the threat this poses to the international financial system.

In October 2019, the FATF called upon its members and urged all jurisdictions to: require increased supervisory examination for branches and subsidiaries of financial institutions based in Iran; introduce enhanced relevant reporting mechanisms or systematic reporting of financial transactions; and require increased external audit requirements for financial groups with respect to any of their branches and subsidiaries located in Iran.

Given Iran’s failure to enact the Palermo and Terrorist Financing Conventions in line with the FATF Standards, the FATF fully lifts the suspension of counter-measures and calls on its members and urges all jurisdictions to apply effective counter-measures, in line with Recommendation 19 Note 2.

(2)  FATF Statement on Jurisdictions under Increased Monitoring Note 3

In addition, please be informed that the FATF has set out in a separate statement an updated list of jurisdictions under increased monitoring, which are actively working with the FATF to address strategic deficiencies in their regimes to counter money laundering, terrorist financing, and proliferation financing Note 4. The FATF will closely monitor the implementation of those action plans and encourage its members to consider in their risk analysis the information presented in the statement which can be found on the website of the FATF (http://www.fatf-gafi.org/publications/high-risk-and-other-monitored-jurisdictions/documents/increased-monitoring-february-2020.html).

As the FATF will continue to assess the progress made by these jurisdictions in addressing the deficiencies in their AML/CFT systems and issue updated statements from time to time, LCs and AEs are reminded to browse the website of the FATF for the latest information.

 (3)  Outcomes from the Meeting of the FATF Plenary, 19-21 February 2020

In addition to the statements in (1) and (2) above, the FATF has also published various other outcomes of its recent Plenary Meeting which may be of interest to LCs and AEs. They include, for example, (i) adoption of a new guidance paper on digital identity; and (ii) the final Guidance Paper for tackling the financial flows linked to the illegal wildlife trade will be published in June 2020.

Further information can be found on the website of the FATF (http://www.fatf-gafi.org/publications/fatfgeneral/documents/outcomes-fatf-plenary-february-2020.html).

Should you have any queries regarding the contents of this circular, please contact Ms Kiki Wong at 2231 1569 who will assist to refer your queries to the relevant officer.

Intermediaries Supervision Department
Intermediaries Division
Securities and Futures Commission

End

SFO/IS/008/2020


Note 1 This statement was previously called "Public Statement"
Note 2 Countries should be able to apply appropriate countermeasures when called upon to do so by the FATF. Countries should also be able to apply countermeasures independently of any call by the FATF to do so. Such countermeasures should be effective and proportionate to the risks.  The Interpretative Note to Recommendation 19 specifies examples of the countermeasures that could be undertaken by countries.
Note 3 This statement was previously called "Improving Global AML/CFT Compliance: On-going Process"
Note 4 The FATF has removed one jurisdiction (namely Trinidad and Tobago) from, and added seven new jurisdictions (namely Albania, Barbados, Jamaica, Mauritius, Myanmar, Nicaragua, Uganda ) to, the list of jurisdictions under increased monitoring.


Click here to download the document


Page last updated : 13 Jul 2020

致持牌法團及有聯繫實體的通函 - 打擊洗錢/恐怖分子資金籌集
(1) 財務行動特別組織有關呼籲各方對高風險司法管轄區採取行動的聲明
(2) 財務行動特別組織有關被加強監察的司法管轄區的聲明
(3) 財務行動特別組織2020年2月19至21日全體會議所取得的成果

2020年3月10日



致持牌法團及有聯繫實體的通函

打擊洗錢/恐怖分子資金籌集

(1) 財務行動特別組織有關呼籲各方對高風險司法管轄區採取行動的聲明

(2) 財務行動特別組織有關被加強監察的司法管轄區的聲明

(1) 財務行動特別組織2020年2月19至21日全體會議所取得的成果

(1) 財務行動特別組織有關呼籲各方對高風險司法管轄區採取行動的聲明註1

繼本會在2019年10月29日發出相關通函後,現通知持牌法團及有聯繫實體,財務行動特別組織(“特別組織”)已在2020年2月21日發出一份最新聲明,識別出其打擊洗錢、恐怖分子資金籌集及大規模毀滅武器擴散資金籌集的制度存在重大策略性缺失的司法管轄區。該份聲明可於特別組織的網站(http://www.fatf-gafi.org/publications/high-risk-and-other-monitored-jurisdictions/documents/call-for-action-february-2020.html)取覽。

朝鮮民主主義人民共和國

特別組織對於朝鮮民主主義人民共和國未能處理其打擊洗錢/恐怖分子資金籌集制度內的重大缺失,以及朝鮮民主主義人民共和國有關大規模毀滅武器擴散的非法活動及其資金籌集所構成的威脅,仍表示關注。特別組織呼籲其成員及其他司法管轄區繼續採取有效的針對措施,和根據適用的聯合國安全理事會決議繼續採取針對性金融制裁,保障金融界,以免因朝鮮民主主義人民共和國出現洗錢、恐怖分子資金籌集及大規模毀滅武器擴散資金籌集的風險而受損。

持牌法團及有聯繫實體應特別留意與朝鮮民主主義人民共和國(包括其公司、金融機構及代表該等公司及金融機構行事的人士)之間的業務關係及交易,並對該等公司、機構及人士加強審察和採取更嚴格的盡職審查措施。

此外,持牌法團及有聯繫實體應注意,根據《大規模毀滅武器(提供服務的管制)條例》(第526章)第4條,如某人向他人提供任何服務,而該人基於合理理由相信或懷疑該等服務可能與大規模毀滅武器擴散有關,該人即屬犯罪。

伊朗

特別組織注意到,伊朗仍未完成為處理其打擊洗錢/恐怖分子資金籌集方面的策略性缺失而於2016年6月採納的行動計劃,包括為處理就打擊恐怖分子資金籌集所識別的缺失所需的措施。在伊朗全面執行有關措施之前,特別組織對於伊朗出現恐怖分子資金籌集的風險,以及這情況對國際金融體系所構成的威脅,將會保持關注。

特別組織在2019年10月呼籲其成員及促請所有司法管轄區要求對以伊朗為基地的金融機構的分公司和附屬公司加強監督檢查,並就金融交易引入了更嚴格的相關匯報機制或系統性匯報,以及要求對金融集團位於伊朗的任何分公司和附屬公司加強外部審核。

鑑於伊朗沒有按照特別組織標準就《巴勒摩公約》及《制止資助恐怖分子公約》立法,特別組織全面恢復目前暫緩的針對措施,並呼籲其成員及促請所有司法管轄區按照第19項建議採取有效的針對措施註2

(2) 財務行動特別組織有關被加強監察的司法管轄區的聲明註3

此外,特別組織在另一份聲明內提供最新名單,列出被加強監察且現正與特別組織積極合作以處理其在打擊洗錢、恐怖分子資金籌集及大規模毀滅武器擴散資金籌集制度方面的缺失的司法管轄區註4。特別組織將會密切監察有關行動計劃的實施情況,並鼓勵其成員在進行風險分析時參考載於特別組織的網站(http://www.fatf-gafi.org/publications/high-risk-and-other-monitored-jurisdictions/documents/increased-monitoring-february-2020.html)的聲明所提述的資料。

特別組織將會繼續評估這些司法管轄區在處理其打擊洗錢/恐怖分子資金籌集制度缺失方面的進展,並會不時發表最新聲明,因此持牌法團及有聯繫實體應瀏覽特別組織的網站,以查閱最新資料。

 (3) 財務行動特別組織202021921日全體會議所取得的成果

除了上文(1)及(2)中的聲明外,特別組織亦發表了在近期舉行的全體會議上取得,而持牌法團及有聯繫實體可能有興趣知道的多項其他成果,當中包括(舉例說),(i)採納有關數碼身分的新指引文件;及(ii)有關追蹤與非法野生動植物貿易相關的資金流動的指引文件定稿將於2020年6月刊發。

進一步資料可於特別組織的網站(http://www.fatf-gafi.org/publications/fatfgeneral/documents/outcomes-fatf-plenary-february-2020.html)取覽。

如對本通函內容有任何疑問,請致電2231 1569聯絡王凱琪女士為閣下將有關疑問轉介至相關負責人員。

證券及期貨事務監察委員會
中介機構部
中介機構監察科

SFO/IS/008/2020


註1 這份聲明前稱“公開聲明”
註2
各國在響應特別組織的呼籲時應有能力採取適當的針對措施,以及不論特別組織有否作出任何呼籲都應有能力採取針對措施。有關針對措施應屬有效並與風險相稱。第19項建議的註釋就各國可採取的針對措施指明了例子。
註3 這份聲明前稱“有關改善全球打擊洗錢/恐怖分子資金籌集的合規情況的聲明:持續進展”。
註4 特別組織在被加強監察的司法管轄區的名單上,移除了一個司法管轄區(即特立尼達和多巴哥),及加入了七個新的司法管轄區(即阿爾巴尼亞、巴巴多斯、牙買加、毛里求斯、緬甸、尼加拉瓜及烏干達)。


按這裡下載文件


最後更新日期 : 2020年3月10日