Circular to Licensed Corporations and Registered Institutions - Selling of Fixed Income Products

19 Nov 2012



In the current low interest rate environment, investors strive to achieve higher yield. Within this context, it is noted that fixed income products being marketed and sold to clients include high-yield corporate bonds (which are generally below investment grade or are unrated), bonds with special features and funds investing in high-yield bonds. Such products carry additional risks of which investors should be aware.

Key risks of investing in bonds

Intermediaries are reminded that they should not market or treat all bonds as risk free products that are suitable for all investors. Holders of bonds, including plain-vanilla bonds, are subject to various risks, including but not limited to:

Key risks of investing in high-yield bonds

In addition to the generic risks listed above, investments in high-yield bonds are subject to risks such as:

Bonds with special features

Furthermore, some bonds may contain special features and risks that warrant special attention. These include bonds:

Funds investing in high-yield bonds

Intermediaries should also pay particular attention to those funds that invest primarily in high-yield bonds as (i) they will be subject to the risks associated with investments in bonds as described above; and (ii) the net asset value of a fund that invests in high-yield bonds may decline or be negatively affected if there is a default of any of the high yield bonds that it invests in or if interest rates change. The special features and risks of high-yield bond funds may also include the following:

Distributors’ obligations

Intermediaries should observe the selling practice requirements, including the suitability obligations, set out in the Code of Conduct1, Internal Control Guidelines2, Suitability FAQ3 and other circulars.

The potential risks highlighted in this circular are non-exhaustive. Given the potential wide scope of features and risks of fixed income products, intermediaries should put in place appropriate measures, systems and controls to ensure that their staff (i) have a thorough understanding of such products, (ii) are able to explain to the client prior to or at the point of sale the key features and risks of the products and the implications thereof, and (iii) are familiar with the selling practice requirements.

Intermediaries are also reminded of their obligations to: 

Finally, senior management of intermediaries are reminded to diligently supervise the selling practices of sales staff and put in place proper systems and controls to ensure full compliance with the relevant regulatory requirements.   

Should you have any queries regarding the contents of this circular, please contact Ms Lorraine Chan on 2842-7751.

Intermediaries Supervision Department
Securities and Futures Commission

End

SFO/IS/025/2012

Notes:

  1. Code of Conduct for Persons Licensed by or Registered with the SFC
  2. Management, Supervision and Internal Control Guidelines for Persons Licensed by or Registered with the SFC
  3. Questions and Answers on Suitability Obligations issued by the SFC on 8 May 2007

Click here to download the document


Page last updated : 19 Nov 2012

致持牌法團及註冊機構的通函 - 銷售定息產品

2012年11月19日



面對現時的低利率環境,投資者都希望爭取較高的收益回報。在這市場氣氛下,本會注意到,市場現時向客戶推銷及銷售的定息產品包括高息公司債券(評級通常低於投資級別或不獲評級)、具有某些特點的債券及投資於高息債券的基金。這些產品均附帶投資者須留意的額外風險。

投資債券主要風險

證監會提醒中介人,他們不應將所有債券一概視為適合所有投資者的零風險產品來推銷或處理。債券(包括傳統債券)持有人會承受各種不同風險,包括但不限於:

投資高息債券的主要風險

投資於高息債券,除以上列舉的一般風險外,還須承受其他風險,例如:

具有某些特點的債券

此外,某些債券可能別具特點及風險,投資時須格外注意。這些債券包括:

投資高息債券的基金

中介人亦應加倍注意主要投資於高息債券的基金,原因是:(i)該等基金同時具有與上述債券投資相關的風險;及(ii)假如基金所投資的高息債券當中有任何違責事件,又或利率轉變,該基金的資產淨值便有可能下跌或受到負面影響。高息債券基金的特點及風險亦可能包括:

分銷商的責任

中介人應遵從載於《操守準則》1、《內部監控指引》2、《有關合理適當建議的常見問題》3及其他相關通函內的銷售手法規定,包括提供合理適當建議的責任。

本通函重點闡述的潛在風險並非詳盡無遺。鑑於定息產品的特點及風險五花八門,中介人應制定適當的措施、系統及監控程序,確保其員工(i)對相關產品有透徹認識;(ii)能夠在銷售前或銷售時向客戶說明有關產品的主要特點及風險和帶來的影響;及(iii)熟悉銷售手法規定。

本會亦提醒中介人應履行其責任:

最後,證監會提醒中介人的高級管理層,應勤勉盡責地監督銷售人員的銷售手法,並制定適當的系統及監控措施,確保完全遵從相關的監管規定。

如對本通函內容有任何疑問,請致電2842 7751與陳義羲女士聯絡。

證券及期貨事務監察委員會
中介團體監察科

SFO/IS/025/2012

備註:

  1. 《證券及期貨事務監察委員會持牌人或註冊人操守準則》
  2. 《適用於證券及期貨事務監察委員會持牌人或註冊人的管理、監督及內部監控指引》
  3. 證監會於2007年5月8日發表有關為客戶提供合理適當建議的責任的《常見問題》

按這裡下載文件


最後更新日期 : 2012年11月19日