Circular to Licensed Corporations Engaged in Asset Management Business
Irregularities and Deficiencies in Managing Private Funds and Discretionary Accounts

31 Jul 2017



The Securities and Futures Commission (SFC) has identified a number of potential regulatory concerns during the course of its supervision of licensed corporations engaged in managing private funds1 and discretionary accounts (“asset managers”). In a number of cases, private funds and discretionary accounts with concentrated, illiquid and interconnected investments were found to have irregular features.

The SFC expects the board and other senior management (including the Managers-In-Charge of Core Functions) of all asset managers to maintain adequate oversight of their firm’s business activities. In particular, they should bear primary responsibility for ensuring the maintenance of appropriate standards of conduct, including but not limited to acting fairly and in the best interests of their clients and the integrity of the market, as well as for ensuring adherence to proper procedures and the maintenance of proper risk management measures. They should review the areas of concern discussed below and give priority to strengthening their supervisory and compliance programmes to ensure compliance with all applicable regulatory requirements.

The SFC will continue to closely supervise asset managers and will not hesitate to take action against any licensed corporations and their management, including the relevant Managers-In-Charge, for failure to comply with regulatory requirements.

Acting in the best interests of the integrity of the market

The SFC noted a number of irregular features in some private funds and discretionary accounts with concentrated, illiquid and interconnected investments:

(i)  discretionary account holders having sizeable concentrated stock positions in their accounts and asset managers acting solely at the direction of their clients without exercising investment discretion; 

(ii)  related-party acquisition or disposal of listed company shares by bought and sold notes, such as, a substantial shareholder of a listed company selling the company’s shares to a fund managed by an asset manager by bought and sold notes, and the substantial shareholder in turn investing in the fund through a discretionary account;

(iii)  fund investors or discretionary account holders being related (eg, as a substantial shareholder, director or affiliate) to the listed companies invested by the funds or the discretionary accounts; and 

(iv)  a director of an asset manager was also a director or chief executive officer of listed companies in which funds under the management of the asset manager were invested.

The nature and commercial substance of the above practices are questionable and may conceal the shareholding of the fund investors or discretionary account holders in the listed companies. The SFC warns that asset managers should not turn a blind eye to dubious arrangements and transactions proposed by their clients. They should critically examine arrangements and transactions, including performing proper client due diligence, and take appropriate steps to avoid being implicated in any market misconduct or other illicit activities. 

Reporting to the SFC

Asset managers are also reminded to report to the SFC2 any material breach, infringement or non-compliance with the market misconduct provisions of the Securities and Futures Ordinance which they reasonably suspect may have been committed by their clients.  

Conflicts of interest

Directors or affiliates of listed companies may be privy to material non-public, price-sensitive information which may give rise to potential conflicts of interest. Accordingly, asset managers should exercise due care when investing in stocks related to their fund investors, discretionary account holders, directors or their own key personnel who might be perceived to have acted upon such information.

Risk management

During the course of our supervision, the SFC identified funds and discretionary accounts invested heavily in concentrated positions in illiquid stocks and/or stocks issued by a network of smaller interconnected listed companies (“interconnected stocks”).  

In particular, the holdings of some asset managers’ funds and discretionary accounts accounted for nearly 5% or more of the issued shares of certain listed companies. In such concentrated portfolios, losses would be amplified should there be a price drop in the underlying investments. Moreover, these asset managers did not have appropriate and effective risk management policies to address such concentration and liquidity risks. The negative impact of a drop in the price of the illiquid stocks would be exacerbated by the use of leverage.

The SFC reminds asset managers to have in place and to maintain effective risk management policies and procedures to identify and manage the risks to which each fund or discretionary account is or may be exposed. In particular, asset managers should manage the liquidity risk of funds under their management to ensure that they are able to meet investors’ redemption requests in accordance with the terms set out in the funds’ offering documents. Asset managers should also consider if their funds or discretionary accounts should have an undue concentration of illiquid or interconnected stocks. 

Acting fairly and avoiding conflicts of interest  

In one case, when a fund was unable to meet margin calls on leveraged stock trading, loans were arranged to be made from the asset manager’s other funds. Investors in the lending funds could be disadvantaged, especially if the lending funds also needed cash to meet outstanding redemption requests and the ability of the borrowing fund to repay uncollateralised loans was questionable. In the same case, a party related to the asset manager made a loan to the borrowing fund with an extremely high one-off financing charge.

In another case, a fund investor related to an asset manager was given preferential treatment and allowed to redeem his holdings before negative adjustment was applied to the fund, thereby minimising his own investment losses.

Reminder

Asset managers are reminded that failure to act in the best interests of their clients and the integrity of the market is a very serious matter and directly impugns their fitness and properness.

Should you have any queries regarding the contents of this circular, please contact Ms Seine Luk at 2231 1696.

Intermediaries Supervision Department
Intermediaries Division
Securities and Futures Commission

End

SFO/IS/026/2017

1 In this circular, private funds mainly refers to open-ended private funds whose investors could redeem from the fund anytime in accordance with the fund’s dealing frequency set out in the offering document.
2
Paragraph 12.5 of the Code of Conduct for Persons Licensed by or Registered with the Securities and Futures Commission


Click here to download the document


Page last updated : 31 Jul 2017

致從事資產管理業務的持牌法團的通函
在管理私人基金及委託帳戶方面的不尋常情況及缺失

2017年7月31日



證券及期貨事務監察委員會(證監會)在監察從事管理私人基金1及委託帳戶的持牌法團(“資產管理公司”)的過程中,發現到一些可能會引起監管關注的情況。在一些個案中,那些持有集中、流動性低及互有關連的投資的私人基金及委託帳戶,被發現存在多項不尋常之處。

證監會要求所有資產管理公司的董事會及其他高級管理層(包括核心職能主管)對其商號的商業活動作出充分監督。尤其是他們在確保商號維持適當的操守標準(包括但不限於以公平的態度行事並維護客戶的最佳利益及確保市場廉潔穩健),以及確保遵守適當的程序及維持適當的風險管理措施方面,應承擔主要責任。

他們應就下文所討論的關注範疇進行檢討,並以加強其監察和合規計劃作為首要工作,確保所有適用監管規定均獲得遵循。

證監會將會繼續密切監察資產管理公司,並將會毫不猶疑地對任何未能遵循監管規定的持牌法團及其管理層(包括相關的核心職能主管)採取行動。

市場廉潔穩健的最佳利益行事

證監會在一些持有集中、流動性低且互有關連的投資的私人基金及委託帳戶內,注意到多項不尋常之處:

(i)  委託帳戶持有人的帳戶內有龐大而集中的股票持倉,但資產管理公司只是按客戶的指示行事,而沒有行使投資酌情權; 

(ii)  透過買入及賣出單據向相關人士購入或出售上市公司股份;舉例說,某上市公司的主要股東透過買入及賣出單據,向某個由資產管理公司管理的基金出售該公司的股份,而該名主要股東則反過來透過委託帳戶投資於該基金;

(iii)  基金投資者或委託帳戶持有人與該等基金或委託帳戶所投資的上市公司有關(例如是主要股東、董事或聯繫人士);及 

(iv)  某資產管理公司的董事,亦是該資產管理公司所管理的基金所投資的多家上市公司的董事或行政總裁。

上述作業方式的性質和實際的商業成分令人質疑,並可能隱瞞基金投資者或委託帳戶持有人於上市公司的持股量。證監會警告,資產管理公司不應對其客戶建議的可疑安排及交易視若無睹。它們應嚴格地審閱安排及交易(例如進行適當的客戶盡職審查),並採取適當步驟,避免捲入任何市場失當行為或其他不法活動。

向證監會作出匯報 

資產管理公司亦應在合理地懷疑其客戶可能已嚴重地違反、觸犯或不遵守《證券及期貨條例》所訂的市場失當行為條文時,向證監會作出匯報2

利益衝突

上市公司的董事或聯繫人士可能知悉重大的非公開及價格敏感資料,而這些資料可能導致潛在利益衝突。因此,資產管理公司在投資與其基金投資者、委託帳戶持有人、董事或其本身的主要人員有關的股票時,應小心審慎行事,因他們可能被視為在利用該等資料。                                                                                          

風險管理

本會在監察過程中發現多個持倉集中,並重點投資於流動性低的股票及/或由較小型但互有關連的上市公司組成的網絡所發行的股票(“互有關連的股票")的基金及委託帳戶。

尤其是,該等資產管理公司的部分基金和委託帳戶的持股量佔若干上市公司已發行股份接近5%或以上。在該等集中的投資組合中,當相關投資出現價格下跌時,損失便會擴大。此外,那些資產管理公司並沒設有合適及有效的風險管理政策,以處理該等集中及流動性風險。流動性低的股票在價格下跌時帶來的不利影響會因使用槓桿而加劇。

證監會提醒資產管理公司,應設立和維持有效的風險管理政策及程序,以識別和管理各基金或委託帳戶承受或可能承受的風險。尤其是,資產管理公司應管理其基金的流動性風險,並確保基金能夠按照基金要約文件所載的條款應付投資者的贖回要求。資產管理公司亦應考慮其基金或委託帳戶是否應過度集中持有流動性低或互有關連的股票。

公平地行事和避免利益衝突 

在一個個案中,當某基金在未能應付就槓桿式股票交易產生的追繳保證金通知時,便由資產管理公司的其他基金安排作出貸款。這可能損害借出基金的投資者的利益,尤其是當借出基金亦需要現金以履行尚未履行的贖回要求,而借入基金償還無抵押貸款的能力亦成疑時。在同一個案中,與資產管理公司有關的人員以極高的一次性融資收費向借入基金提供貸款。

在另一個個案中,與一家資產管理公司有關的一名基金投資者獲提供優惠待遇,獲允許在基金價格下跌前贖回所持有的股份,從而減少他本人的投資損失。

提醒

本會提醒資產管理公司,凡未能以維護客戶和市場廉潔穩健的最佳利益的態度行事,均屬非常嚴重的事項,並直接令其適當人選資格受到質疑。

如對本通函內容有任何疑問,請致電2231 1696與陸燕梅女士聯絡。

證券及期貨事務監察委員會
中介機構部
中介機構監察科

SFO/IS/026/2017

1 於本通函內,私人基金主要是指開放式私人基金,其投資者可按照要約文件所載的基金交易頻密程度,隨時將基金贖回。
2
《證券及期貨事務監察委員會持牌人或註冊人操守準則》第12.5段


按這裡下載文件


最後更新日期 : 2017年7月31日