Circular to Licensed Corporations and Associated Entities - Anti-Money Laundering / Counter-Terrorist Financing
United Nations Sanctions (Democratic People’s Republic of Korea) Regulation

23 Feb 2018



Circular to Licensed Corporations and Associated Entities 

Anti-Money Laundering / Counter-Terrorist Financing 

United Nations Sanctions (Democratic People’s Republic of Korea) Regulation 

Further to our circular issued on 20 February 2018 Note 1 regarding the amendment by the United Nations Security Council committee which administers the sanctions regime relating to the Democratic People’s Republic of Korea of its sanctions list, an updated list specifying “relevant persons and entities” under section 31 of the United Nations Sanctions (Democratic People’s Republic of Korea) Regulation (Cap. 537AE) was published in the Gazette on 23 February 2018 (G.N. 1233 of 2018) Note 2 to reflect the amended sanctions list mentioned above.

Licensed corporations (“LCs”) and associated entities (“AEs”) are reminded to refer to Chapter 6 of the Guideline on Anti-Money Laundering and Counter-Terrorist Financing (“AML Guideline”) which contains guidance on the appropriate measures that LCs and AEs should take to ensure compliance with the regulations made under the United Nations Sanctions Ordinance (Cap.537) Note 3.  The Securities and Futures Commission (“SFC”) expects all new designations to be screened by LCs and AEs against their client lists as soon as practicable whenever there are updates.  LCs and AEs are also reminded to report any transactions or relationships they have or have had with any designated person or entity to the Joint Financial Intelligence Unit.

Should you have any queries regarding the contents of this circular, please contact Ms Kiki Wong on 2231 1569.

Intermediaries Supervision Department
Intermediaries Division
Securities and Futures Commission

End

SFO/IS/012/2018

Note 1 The circular issued on 20 February 2018 re: early alert on United Nations Sanctions can be found on the SFC’s website (http://www.sfc.hk/edistributionWeb/gateway/EN/circular/doc?refNo=18EC12).
Note 2
The gazette notice can be found on the Government’s website(https://www.gld.gov.hk/egazette/pdf/20182208/egn201822081233.pdf).
Note 3
Under paragraph 6 of the Prevention of Money Laundering and Terrorist Financing Guideline issued by the Securities and Futures Commission for Associated Entities, AEs that are not authorized financial institutions are expected to have regard to the provisions of the AML Guideline as if they were themselves LCs.


Click here to download the document


Page last updated : 23 Feb 2018

致持牌法團及有聯繫實體的通函 - 打擊洗錢/恐怖分子資金籌集
《聯合國制裁(朝鮮民主主義人民共和國)規例》

2018年2月23日



致持牌法團及有聯繫實體的通函 

打擊洗錢/恐怖分子資金籌集 

《聯合國制裁(朝鮮民主主義人民共和國)規例》 

本會於2018年2月20日就聯合國安全理事會轄下負責管理朝鮮民主主義人民共和國制裁制度的委員會對其制裁名單作出的修訂發出通函註1。繼該通函後,一份根據《聯合國制裁(朝鮮民主主義人民共和國)規例》(第537AE章)第31條所指明的“有關人士及實體”的最新名單已於2018年2月23日在憲報刊登(2018年第1233號政府公告)註2 ,以反映上述經修訂的制裁名單。

持牌法團及有聯繫實體應參閱《打擊洗錢及恐怖分子資金籌集指引》(“《打撃洗錢指引》”)第6章,其中載有持牌法團及有聯繫實體應採取的適當措施的指引,以確保遵從根據《聯合國制裁條例》(第537章)制訂的規例註3。證券及期貨事務監察委員會(“證監會”)要求持牌法團及有聯繫實體每當名單有所更新時,均在切實可行的範圍內盡快根據所有新的指定名單對客戶名單進行篩查。持牌法團及有聯繫實體亦應向聯合財富情報組報告其現時或過往與任何指定人士或實體的任何交易或關係。

如對本通函內容有任何疑問,請致電2231 1569與王凱琪女士聯絡。

證券及期貨事務監察委員會
中介機構部
中介機構監察科

SFO/IS/012/2018


註1 於2018年2月20日發出有關就聯合國制裁提早發出通知的通函可於證監會網站(http://www.sfc.hk/edistributionWeb/gateway/TC/circular/doc?refNo=18EC12)取覽。
註2
憲報公告可於政府網站(https://www.gld.gov.hk/egazette/pdf/20182208/cgn201822081233.pdf)取覽。
註3 根據《證券及期貨事務監察委員會發出適用於有聯繫實體的防止洗錢及恐怖分子資金籌集的指引》第6段,作為非認可財務機構的有聯繫實體應如持牌法團一樣符合《打撃洗錢指引》的條文。


按這裡下載文件


最後更新日期 : 2018年2月23日