Circular to Licensed Corporations and Associated Entities - Anti-Money Laundering / Counter-Terrorist Financing
FATF Guidance on Counter Proliferation Financing

9 Mar 2018



Circular to Licensed Corporations and Associated Entities 

Anti-Money Laundering / Counter-Terrorist Financing

FATF Guidance on Counter Proliferation Financing 

We would like to draw the attention of licensed corporations (“LCs”) and associated entities (“AEs”) to a guidance paper recently issued by the Financial Action Task Force (“FATF”) entitled “Guidance on Counter Proliferation Financing – The Implementation of Financial Provisions of United Nations Security Council Resolutions to Counter the Proliferation of Weapons of Mass Destruction” Note 1, which is available on the FATF’s website (http://www.fatf-gafi.org/publications/financingofproliferation/documents/guidance-counter-proliferation-financing.html).

The paper provides guidance to facilitate both public and private sector stakeholders in understanding and implementing proliferation financing-related Targeted Financial Sanctions made under United Security Council Resolutions (“UNSCRs”).  Various sections of the guidance are relevant for LCs and AEs to better understand and mitigate proliferation financing risks, including:

LCs and AEs are recommended to review the paper carefully to enhance the understanding of proliferation financing-related Targeted Financial Sanctions and the range of possible approaches that can be adopted, depending on individual LC’s or AE’s own situation, risk profile and risk appetite.

Should you have any queries regarding the contents of this circular, please contact Ms Kiki Wong on 2231 1569.

Intermediaries Supervision Department
Intermediaries Division
Securities and Futures Commission

End

SFO/IS/015/2018

Note 1 This paper updates two earlier FATF guidance papers: The Implementation of Financial Provisions of United Nations Security Council Resolutions to Counter the Proliferation of Weapons of Mass Destruction (2013) and Best Practices Paper to Recommendation 2 Information Sharing and Exchange Related to the Financing of Proliferation Among Relevant Authorities at the Domestic Level (2012).


Click here to download the document


Page last updated : 9 Mar 2018

致持牌法團及有聯繫實體的通函 - 打擊洗錢/恐怖分子資金籌集
財務行動特別組織有關打擊擴散資金籌集的指引

2018年3月9日



致持牌法團及有聯繫實體的通函 

打擊洗錢/恐怖分子資金籌集

財務行動特別組織有關打擊擴散資金籌集的指引 

本會提醒持牌法團及有聯繫實體,財務行動特別組織(“特別組織”)近期發表了一份題為《有關打擊擴散資金籌集的指引──聯合國安全理事會決議內有關打擊大規模毀滅武器擴散的金融條文的實施》的指引文件註1(其文本可於特別組織的網站(http://www.fatf-gafi.org/publications/financingofproliferation/documents/guidance-counter-proliferation-financing.html)取覽)。

該文件提供了指引,以便公營及私營機構持份者了解和實施根據《聯合國安全理事會決議》(《“安理會決議”》)所制訂、與擴散資金籌集有關的針對性金融制裁。該指引中有多個章節均有助於持牌法團及有聯繫實體更清楚了解和紓減擴散資金籌集風險,其中包括:

本會建議持牌法團及有聯繫實體仔細閱讀該文件,以便更清楚了解與擴散資金籌集有關的針對性金融制裁,以及它們各自根據本身的情況、風險狀況及風險承受能力可採取的各種可行方法。

如對本通函內容有任何疑問,請致電2231 1569與王凱琪女士聯絡。

證券及期貨事務監察委員會
中介機構部
中介機構監察科

SFO/IS/015/2018


註1 此文件更新了特別組織先前發出的兩份指引文件,分別為:《聯合國安全理事會決議內有關打擊大規模毀滅武器擴散的金融條文的實施》(2013年)及《有關第2項建議──在本地層面的有關當局之間互相分享及交換與擴散資金籌集有關的資訊──的最佳作業手法文件》(2012年)。


按這裡下載文件


最後更新日期 : 2018年3月9日