Circular to licensed corporations
Securities margin financing review and consultation on related guidelines

17 Aug 2018



The Securities and Futures Commission (SFC) would like to draw licensed corporations’ attention to a report on securities margin financing activities and a related consultation paper on its Proposed Guidelines for Securities Margin Financing Activities, both published today.

The report summarises the findings of the SFC’s recent review of brokers’ securities margin financing activities which showed that total margin loans increased ninefold between 2006 and 2017, reaching $206 billion. The review also found that margin loan quality had deteriorated and risk controls were slack, leading to excessive concentration of exposure to individual margin clients and collateral stocks. Some brokers also failed to promptly collect outstanding margins and did not regularly perform proper stress testing.

To address these risks, the SFC has launched a two-month consultation on proposed guidelines to clarify, codify and standardise risk management practices for securities margin financing. The proposed guidelines consist of qualitative requirements and, where appropriate, quantitative benchmarks, covering the following key areas:

  1. Total margin loans controls
  2. Margin client credit limit controls
  3. Securities collateral concentration controls
  4. Margin client concentration controls
  5. Haircuts for securities collateral
  6. Margin calls, stopping further advances and forced liquidation 
  7. Stress testing

Comments on the proposed guidelines may be submitted to the SFC on or before 18 October 2018 via the SFC website (www.sfc.hk), by email to 2018_SMFconsultation@sfc.hk, by post or by fax to 2523 4598.

Should you have any queries regarding the contents of this circular, please contact the case officers in charge.

Intermediaries Supervision Department
Intermediaries Division
Securities and Futures Commission

End

SFO/IS/048/2018


Click here to download the document


Page last updated : 17 Aug 2018

致持牌法團的通函
證券保證金融資檢視及就相關指引而進行的諮詢

2018年8月17日



證券及期貨事務監察委員會(證監會)提醒持牌法團注意,本會於今天同時發表了一份關於證券保證金融資活動的報告及有關建議的《證券保證金融資活動指引》的諮詢文件

該報告概述了證監會近期就經紀行證券保證金融資活動所進行的一項檢視,結果顯示保證金貸款總額在2006年至2017年期間增加了九倍,達到2,060億元。本會在檢視中亦發現保證金貸款質素有所下降,而且風險監控不足,導致經紀行就個別保證金客戶及抵押股票承擔過高的集中風險。部分經紀行更沒有及時收取未清繳的保證金和定期進行妥善的壓力測試。

為了處理這些風險,證監會就有關證券保證金融資活動的建議指引展開為期兩個月的諮詢,目的是就該等活動的風險管理手法作出釐清,並將其編寫成為指引條文和標準化。建議的指引由涵蓋以下主要風險監控範疇的定性要求及(在適當情況下)定量基準組成。

  1. 保證金貸款總額的監控
  2. 保證金客戶信貸限額的監控
  3. 證券抵押品集中風險的監控
  4. 保證金客戶集中風險的監控
  5. 證券抵押品的扣減率
  6. 追繳保證金通知、停止提供進一步貸款及強行變現
  7. 壓力測試

歡迎持牌法團於2018年10月18日或之前,透過證監會網站(www.sfc.hk)、電郵(2018_SMFconsultation@sfc.hk)、郵寄或傳真(2523 4598)的方式,向本會提交關於建議指引的意見。

如對本通函內容有任何疑問,請與相關的個案主任聯絡。

證券及期貨事務監察委員會
中介機構部
中介機構監察科

SFO/IS/048/2018


按這裡下載文件


最後更新日期 : 2018年8月17日