Circular to intermediaries
Use of “nominees” and “warehousing” arrangements
in market and corporate misconduct

9 Oct 2018



It is increasingly common that “nominees” and “warehousing” arrangements are used to facilitate market and corporate misconduct. The Securities and Futures Commission (SFC) wishes to remind intermediaries to be mindful of red flags indicating potential improper activities, make due follow-up enquiries with clients and report promptly to the SFC and other authorities where necessary. 

Background

The SFC notes with concern the increasingly prevalent use of “nominees” and “warehousing” arrangements in schemes which may amount to market and corporate misconduct. Nominee arrangements may be legitimate if they are set up and operated in a manner that complies with relevant laws and regulations.  However, the SFC noted cases where nominee clients took instructions from “masterminds”, and participated in activities to manipulate share prices or voting results in general meetings of listed companies, or to conceal the actual shareholding in a listed company to evade regulatory requirements1. These activities seriously undermine market integrity and prejudice the interest of investors.

These arrangements may be associated with one or more red flags which should arouse the reasonable suspicion of intermediaries. If intermediaries fail to take reasonable steps to detect or properly address apparent red flags, they may be in breach of legal or regulatory requirements. Intermediaries may also be exposed to civil and criminal liability as a result of their involvement in misconduct or crime.

The “I-C-E” team2 of the SFC has pooled resources from different divisions to tackle these issues. In particular, the Enforcement Division is currently investigating market and corporate misconduct cases involving “nominees” and “warehousing” arrangements and scrutinising the role played by the intermediaries in these cases.

Purpose of this circular

This circular serves to -

Obligations of intermediaries

Intermediaries should be wary of potential red flags and critically review and enhance their systems and controls for the purpose of complying with related legal and regulatory requirements, including:

Red flags

Intermediaries should be vigilant in looking out for potential red flags that may suggest use of “nominee” and “warehousing” arrangements for illegitimate purposes. The following is a non-exhaustive illustrative list:

Expected standards

Intermediaries should take reasonable steps and implement robust systems and procedures to know their clients, identify the beneficial owner of the account, detect potentially illegal or manipulative activities, make prompt follow-up enquiries and report suspicious transactions where necessary7. For example:

(a)  Cross trades: Intermediaries should implement systems to identify cross trades between clients. If repeated patterns of cross trades are noted between the same group of clients, intermediaries should ascertain the reasons for these cross trades and assess whether these transactions are part of an improper arrangement to manipulate prices or voting results in general meetings of listed companies, or to conceal the actual shareholding in a listed company to evade regulatory requirements.

(b)  Transfer of stocks: Intermediaries should conduct appropriate enquiries and evaluate whether there is any cause for suspicion if:

(i)   there are transfers of stocks through bought and sold notes between parties that do not appear to be commonly controlled or have an apparent relationship, especially when transactions do not appear to be on a normal commercial basis; and

(ii)  there are transfers of large amount of stocks of a listed company from Client A to Client B following the announcement of a major corporate action by the listed company and before the book close date, and a subsequent request by Client B to vote in relation to the said corporate action. 

To the extent that any suspicions cannot be dispelled through enquiries, senior management approval must be sought (and any approval with the corresponding reasons documented) before effecting any transactions. Senior management should also consider whether it is necessary to terminate the relevant client accounts.  Intermediaries should report suspicious transactions to the SFC in a timely manner, as required under paragraph 12.5(f) of the Code of Conduct, to the Joint Financial Intelligence Unit, or to both. 

Cautionary statement

The SFC wishes to reiterate that it does not tolerate any form of market or corporate misconduct. 

To protect investors and maintain the integrity of the markets, the Intermediaries Supervision Department will continue to look for signs that may suggest dubious “nominee” and “warehousing” arrangements in the course of our supervisory reviews (covering both onsite inspections as well as offsite monitoring work). All material issues and deficiencies identified as well as Manager in Charge responsibilities in this regard will be investigated. These will include situations where there is reason to suspect that intermediaries and their senior management have knowingly facilitated such arrangements as well as situations where it appears that they have failed to detect and act on any red flags, including inadequate systems and controls.

The SFC will not hesitate to initiate criminal or other proceedings and impose disciplinary penalties where it establishes any failings on the part of intermediaries, including suspension or revocation of a licence or a registration, as well as fines on intermediaries and senior management.     

Should you have any queries regarding this circular, please contact Ms Seine Luk at 2231 1696.

Intermediaries Supervision Department
Intermediaries Division
Securities and Futures Commission

End

SFO/IS/057/2018


1 For example, the requirement of making a general offer by a person and a group of persons acting in concert with it upon acquiring 30% or more of the shares of the company under the Codes on Takeovers and Mergers and Shares Buy-backs.
2 The I-C-E team consists of senior executives and officers from the Intermediaries, Corporate Finance and Enforcement divisions who collaborate to tackle difficult issues relating to listed companies.
3 Code of Conduct for Persons Licensed by or Registered with the Securities and Futures Commission (Code of Conduct
4 Anti-Money Laundering and Counter-Terrorist Financing Ordinance (AMLO)
5 Guideline on Anti-Money Laundering and Counter-Terrorist Financing (AML Guideline)
6
The scope of authorisation includes placing of orders, effecting of settlement and collection of statements of account.
7 See also “Circular concerning Know Your Client and Account Opening Procedures” dated 12 May 2015; “Circular to Licensed Corporations Licensed for Dealing in Securities - Protecting Client Assets Against Internal Misconduct” dated 5 February 2016; “Circular to Licensed Corporations and Associated Entities - Anti-Money Laundering / Counter Financing of Terrorism (“AML/CFT”), Compliance with AML/CFT Requirements” dated 26 January 2017; and “Circular to Licensed Corporations and Associated Entities - Anti-Money Laundering / Counter Financing of Terrorism (AML/CFT), AML/CFT measures and controls inspection findings”dated 31 August 2018.


Click here to download the document


Page last updated : 9 Oct 2018

致中介人的通函
市場及企業失當行為中
使用“代名人”及“以他人名義代持股份”的安排

2018年10月9日



透過“代名人”及“以他人名義代持股份”安排來進行市場及企業失當行為的情況愈來愈普遍。證券及期貨事務監察委員會(證監會)希望提醒中介人注意潛在不當活動的預警跡象;向客戶作出適當的跟進查詢;以及在有需要時迅速向證監會和其他有關當局舉報。

背景

證監會關注到,在有些可能構成市場及企業失當行為的計劃中使用“代名人”及“以他人名義代持股份” 安排的情況愈趨普遍。代名人安排若是依照相關法律及規例的方式設立及操作,可以是合法的。然而,證監會注意到,有些個案中的代名人客戶依照“主謀”指示並參與各種活動,藉以操縱上市公司的股價或其股東大會的投票結果,或隱瞞在上市公司的實際持股量以規避監管規定1。這些活動嚴重削弱市場的廉潔穩健和損害投資者的利益。

這些安排可能與一個或以上應令中介人作出合理懷疑的預警跡象有關。假如中介人未有採取合理步驟去偵測或妥善地處理明顯的預警跡象,便可能違反法律或監管規定。中介人亦可能因涉及失當行為或罪行而須承擔民事及刑事責任。

證監會的“I-C-E”小組2集合了不同部門的資源,以負責應對上述問題。當中,法規執行部目前正在調查涉及“代名人”及“以他人名義代持股份”安排的市場和企業失當行為個案,並正在審查中介人在這些個案中所扮演的角色。

本通函目的

本通函旨在:

中介人的責任

中介人應小心留意潛在預警跡象,並審慎檢討和提升它們的系統與監控措施,以符合相關的法律及監管規定,包括:

預警跡象

中介人應保持警覺,留意那些可能意味著為不合法目的使用“代名人”及“以他人名義代持股份”安排的潛在預警跡象。以下列表並非詳盡無遺,並旨在列舉有關情況:

預期標準

中介人應採取合理的步驟及實施穩健的系統和程序,以認識它們的客戶、識別帳戶的實益擁有人、偵測潛在非法或操縱活動、即時作出跟進查詢及在有需要時舉報可疑交易7。例如:

(a)  交叉盤交易:中介人應實施可識別客戶之間的交叉盤交易的系統。若中介人注意到同一組客戶之間的交叉盤交易模式重複出現,便應確定有關交叉盤交易的原因,及評估該等交易是否屬於某不當安排的一部分,以操縱上市公司的股價或其股東大會的投票結果,或隱瞞在上市公司的實際股權以規避監管規定。

(b)  股份轉移:中介人應作出適當的查詢,及在出現以下情況時評估是否有任何引起懷疑的理由:

(i)   看來非屬同一人控制或並非有明顯關係的各方透過買賣單據轉移股票,特別是當交易看來並非按正常商業基準進行時;及

(ii)  繼上市公司公布主要企業行動後及在截止過戶日期前,客戶A將大量該上市公司的股票轉移至客戶B,及其後客戶B要求就上述企業行動作出投票。

若經查詢後仍未能釋除相關疑慮,便須在進行任何交易前取得高級管理層的批准(及以文件載明相關理由)。高級管理層亦應考慮是否有必要終止相關的客戶帳戶。中介人應及時向證監會(根據《操守準則》第12.5(f)段的規定)或聯合財富情報組或該兩家機構舉報可疑交易。

警戒聲明

證監會謹此重申不會容忍任何形式的市場或企業失當行為。

為了保障投資者及維護市場的廉潔穩健,中介機構監察科在進行監督檢視期間(涵蓋現場視察及非現場監察工作),將繼續留意是否有跡象顯示可疑“代名人"及“以他人名義代持股份"的安排。我們將會對在這方面所識別到的任何重大問題和缺失及核心職能主管的責任進行調查,當中有些情況是關於有理由懷疑中介人及其高級管理層在知情下促成有關安排,而有些情況則是他們看來沒有偵測任何預警跡象及就此作出行動,包括系統及監控措施不足。

證監會將會毫不猶疑地提起刑事或其他法律程序,及在證實中介人方面有任何缺失時施加紀律處分(包括暫時吊銷或撤銷牌照或註冊),以及向中介人和高級管理層處以罰款。  

如對本通函內容有任何疑問,請致電2231 1696與陸燕梅女士聯絡。

證券及期貨事務監察委員會
中介機構部
中介機構監察科

SFO/IS/057/2018


1 例如,根據《公司收購、合併及股份回購守則》,任何人及其一致行動的人在取得公司30%或以上的股份時須作出全面要約的規定。
2
I-C-E小組由中介機構部、企業融資部及法規執行部的高級行政人員和主任組成,合力應付與上市公司有關的棘手問題。
3
 《證券及期貨事務監察委員會持牌人或註冊人操守準則》(簡稱《操守準則》) 
4
 《打擊洗錢及恐怖分子資金籌集條例》(簡稱《打擊洗錢條例》
5 《打擊洗錢及恐怖分子資金籌集指引》(簡稱《打擊洗錢指引》
6
 授權範圍包括發出買賣盤、執行交收及收取帳戶結單。
7 請參閱2015年5月12日的《有關認識你的客戶及開戶程序的通函》、2016年2月5日的《致獲發牌從事證券交易的持牌法團的通函-保障客戶資產免受內部失當行為影響》、2017年1月26日的《致持牌法團及有聯繫實體的通函- 打擊洗錢/恐怖分子資金籌集:遵從打擊洗錢/恐怖分子資金籌集規定》及2018年8月31日的《致持牌法團及有聯繫實體的通函-打擊洗錢/恐怖分子資金籌集:就打擊洗錢/恐怖分子資金籌集的措施及管控程序進行視察的結果》


按這裡下載文件


最後更新日期 : 2018年10月9日