Circular to announce new licensing forms and mandatory electronic submission of annual returns and notifications

1 Feb 2019



The Securities and Futures Commission (SFC) has revamped its licensing processes to enhance the efficiency and transparency of its gatekeeping function.

New licensing forms will be introduced on 11 February 2019. They should be used after that date. To allow time for the industry to adapt, the current forms will be accepted during a two-month transition period. From 11 April 2019, only the new forms will be accepted, and any old forms received by the SFC will be returned.

The SFC has also published two new self-assessment questionnaires for corporate applicants to match their business profiles with the types of regulated activities and evaluate the soundness of their risk management and internal control measures. The questionnaires enable the SFC to identify regulatory issues at an early stage by obtaining information about corporate applicants’ business profiles and confirmation of the internal control policies and procedures they have in place. One questionnaire pertains to all types of business and the second to specific activities, namely asset management, dealing in securities or futures, securities margin financing and electronic or automated trading services1.

Also with effect from 11 April 2019, all intermediaries will be required to submit their annual returns and notifications electronically through the SFC Online Portal2. In addition, individual and corporate licensees will be required to confirm their compliance with the continuous professional training (CPT) requirements for the previous calendar year when they electronically submit their annual returns. For example, in their portal submission made with an annual return in 2019, they would confirm their compliance (or non-compliance) with the CPT requirements for calendar year 2018.

The new forms and questionnaires can now be viewed on the SFC website. To provide additional guidance on these enhancements as well as recent policy updates, the SFC has released a new edition of the Licensing Handbook and updated the licensing section of the SFC website3.

New licensing forms

The SFC’s licensing forms have remained largely unchanged since the Securities and Futures Ordinance (SFO) became effective in 2003. The forms have been standardised for ease of use. Clear instructions and navigation guides will be provided.

Each of the new forms is designed for a specific purpose as set out in the table below.

Forms

Designed for

A

Corporate licence applicants

B

Existing licensed corporations

C

Registered institution applicants and existing registered institutions

D

Substantial shareholder applicants

E

Approved substantial shareholders

F

Associated entities of intermediaries

The information collected in the new forms will help the SFC assess the fitness and properness of applicants. The revamp focused on four major areas: (i) business profile and clientele, (ii) financial strength and sustainability of substantial shareholders, (iii) management (including corporate governance, responsible officers and managers-in-charge of core functions), and (iv) risk management and internal control measures.

Financial soundness

For example, the new forms seek additional information to assess the financial soundness of a corporate applicant. When some newly-licensed corporations commence operations, they may accrue financial losses and fail to meet the regulatory capital requirements. To mitigate this risk and demonstrate the ability to comply with such requirements, the new forms require a corporate applicant to provide a projection of its operating expenses to be incurred in the first six months after having been licensed. If its excess liquid capital cannot cover the projected expenses, the applicant would have to provide a plan demonstrating that additional funding would be forthcoming when needed.

Streamlined requirements

The new forms have also streamlined the information required for applicants. Relationships between some substantial shareholders4 and related licensed corporations (or corporate applicants) can be remote, particularly for firms belonging to a group with a complex shareholding structure. To rationalise the application process, these substantial shareholders may be allowed to provide the SFC with only basic information about their identity when applying for approval5.

In addition, the SFC has refined the questions requiring applicants to disclose investigations, disciplinary actions and civil litigation against them. The new requirement places a particular emphasis on matters which are more recent (i.e., within the past five years) or significant.

Workshops for the industry

The SFC will organise three workshops in February and March 2019 to allow the industry to better understand the changes to the licensing process. The workshops are open for registration until 15 February 2019 on a first-come-first-served basis:

Date

Time

Language

28 February 2019

11:00 am

Cantonese

4 March 2019

10:00 am

Cantonese

4 March 2019

4:00 pm

English

The workshops will take place at the SFC office, 35/F Cheung Kong Center, 2 Queen’s Road Central, Hong Kong.  Interested parties may enrol via the hyperlink below:

https://www.sfc.hk/web/EN/enrolment-for-workshop-on-new-licensing-process/

Should you have any queries regarding the contents of this circular, please contact your case officer.

Licensing Department
Intermediaries Division
Securities and Futures Commission

End

Notes: 

  1. The second questionnaire should be completed by corporate applicants engaging in one or more of these activities.
  2. Currently, only individuals are required to submit this information via the SFC Online Portal.
  3. The SFC hosted consultation sessions to discuss the new measures with industry participants including fund managers, brokers, investment banks, financial planners and professional advisors. Some were also invited to comment on the new forms during the development stage.
  4. As defined in section 6 of Schedule 1 of the SFO.
  5. Under section 132 of the SFO.

Click here to download the document


Page last updated : 1 Feb 2019

關於公布新牌照表格及以電子形式提交周年申報表和通知書的強制性規定的通函

2019年2月1日



證券及期貨事務監察委員會(證監會)已對發牌程序進行革新,藉以提升本會在履行作為把關者的職能時的效率和透明度。

新的牌照表格將於2019211推出。在此日期後,牌照申請人應使用新的表格。為給予業界充裕時間適應此安排,證監會在為期兩個月的過渡期內,將繼續接受現有的表格。由2019年4月11開始,只有以新表格提出的申請才獲受理;證監會所收到的任何舊表格,均會退回給申請人。

證監會亦同時刊發了兩份新的自我評估問卷,讓法團申請人按照其業務概況識別出適當的受規管活動類別,及評估其風險管理和內部監控措施的穩健性。這些問卷讓證監會能夠掌握有關法團申請人的業務概況的資料,及獲得它們已制定內部監控政策和程序的確認,從而在初期便能識別出監管問題。其中一份問卷與所有業務類別相關,而另一份則與指明活動(提供資產管理、證券或期貨交易、提供證券保證金融資及提供電子或自動化交易服務)相關1

同樣由2019年4月11起,所有中介人亦須經證監會電子服務網站,以電子形式提交周年申報表及通知書2。此外,法團及個人持牌人以電子形式提交周年申報表時,須確認在上一個曆年已符合持續專業培訓規定。舉例說,持牌人於2019年在網上提交周年申報表時,須確認其在2018年這個曆年符合(或不符合)持續專業培訓規定。

各份新表格及問卷現可於證監會網站閱覽。為了就這些優化措施和近期的政策變動提供更多指引,證監會亦已發表新版本的《發牌手冊》,並更新證監會網站〈發牌事宜〉一欄3

新牌照表格

自《證券及期貨條例》(該條例)於2003年生效以來,證監會的牌照表格基本上維持不變。新表格設計劃一,便於使用,並提供清晰的填寫指示和指引。

每套新表格都是為特定用途而設計的(如下表所示)。

表格

適用對象

A

持牌法團申請人

B

現有的持牌法團

C

註冊機構申請人及現有的註冊機構

D

大股東申請人

E

經核准的大股東

F

中介人的有聯繫實體

新表格所收集的資料將有助證監會評估申請人的適當人選資格。是次革新聚焦四大範疇:(i)業務概況和客戶群;(ii)大股東的財政實力和可持續性;(iii)管理(包括企業管治、負責人員和核心職能主管);及(iv)風險管理和內部監控措施。

財政穩健性

例如,新表格要求提供附加資料以評估法團申請人的財政穩健性。一些新持牌法團在營運初期可能會出現財政虧損,及無法符合在資本方面的監管規定。為減低此風險並顯示其有能力符合相關規定,新表格要求法團申請人提供在獲發牌後首六個月內將產生的營運開支的預測。如果其速動資金盈餘無法應付該等預測開支,申請人便須提供一份計劃書,以顯示在有需要時會獲得額外資金。

經簡化規定

新表格亦簡化了申請人所需提供的資料的規定。一些大股東4與相關持牌法團(或法團牌照申請人)的關係可能較為疏離,尤其是那些持股架構複雜的集團旗下的商號。為理順申請過程,該等大股東在申請核准時5,只需向證監會提供有關其身分的基本資料。

此外,證監會已對有關要求申請人披露曾面對的調查、紀律行動及民事訴訟的問題作出微調。新規定尤其著眼於較近期(即在過去五年內)或重大的事件。

業界工作坊

證監會將於2019年2月及3月舉辦三場工作坊,讓業界能更清楚地了解本會對發牌程序所作的修改。工作坊將於2019年2月15截止登記,名額先到先得:

日期

時間

語言

2019年2月28日

上午11時

粵語

2019年3月4日

上午10時

粵語

2019年3月4日

下午4時

英語

工作坊將於證監會辦事處舉行,地址為香港皇后大道中2號長江集團中心35樓。有興趣的人士可透過以下連結報名:

https://www.sfc.hk/web/EN/enrolment-for-workshop-on-new-licensing-process/

如對本通函的內容有任何疑問,請聯絡你的個案主任。

證券及期貨事務監察委員會
中介機構部
發牌科

備註:

  1. 第二份問卷應由從事一項或多於一項該等活動的法團申請人填寫。
  2. 目前只有個人才須經證監會電子服務網站提交這項資料。
  3. 證監會曾舉行多場諮詢會,與業界參與者(包括基金經理、經紀、投資銀行、財務策劃師及專業顧問)就各項新措施進行討 論。在研發階段,有些業界參與者更獲邀請就新表格提出意見。
  4. 定義載於該條例附表1第6條。
  5. 根據該條例第132條。

按這裡下載文件


最後更新日期 : 2019年2月1日