Circular on the licensing obligations of family offices

7 Jan 2020



This circular provides general guidance for family offices intending to carry out asset management or other services in Hong Kong.

As an international financial centre and asset management hub, Hong Kong is an obvious choice for family offices, which are typically set up to manage the financial affairs of high net worth families. Their activities include asset management and estate planning. They may serve a single family or multiple families which are not necessarily connected to each other.

A.        General licensing requirements

In Hong Kong, there is no specific licensing regime for family offices. The licensing regime under the Securities and Futures Ordinance (SFO) is activity-based. If the services provided by a family office do not constitute any regulated activity or they fall within any of the available carve-outs1, the family office is not required to be licensed under the SFO. However, family offices should take care not to hold themselves out as carrying on a business in a regulated activity without a licence.

As discussed in Parts B and C below, a company or family office set up as a business to manage assets which include securities or futures contracts may be required to hold a licence for Type 9 regulated activity (asset management)2. The licensing implications of providing asset management services in Hong Kong do not hinge on whether clients are families. Therefore, the relationships amongst the beneficiaries of a family trust or between family members are not relevant in determining whether a licence is required. For example, a family office can manage assets for persons who are not strictly “family members” (e.g. ex-spouses and in-laws).  

If a family office intends to provide other services such as acquiring financial assets following instructions made by the family, it should review whether they fall within the definition of any of the other types of regulated activities such as Type 1 (dealing in securities) and whether it is required to be licensed for them.

B.        Single family offices

The way in which a single family office operates can lead to different consequences under the licensing regime. For example, in cases where a family appoints a trustee to hold its assets of a family trust, and the trustee operates a family office as an internal unit to manage the trust assets, the family office will not need a licence because it will not be providing asset management services to a third party.

Similarly, if the family office is established as a separate legal entity which is wholly owned by a trustee or a company that holds the assets of the family, it will not need a licence as it will qualify for the intra-group carve-out3 as full discretionary investment manager of the securities or futures contracts portfolio. The family office is not required to be licensed for Type 9 regulated activity if it provides asset management services solely to related entities, which are defined as its wholly-owned subsidiaries, its holding company which holds all its issued shares or that holding company’s other wholly-owned subsidiaries.

C.        Multi-family offices

A multi-family office by definition serves more than one high net worth family. The type of SFC licence required depends on the services to be provided in Hong Kong. If a multi-family office provides services to clients who are not related entities as defined in Part B above, it will not be able to make use of the intra-group carve-out.

Where a multi-family office is granted full discretionary investment authority, its asset management activity would generally be similar to that of a licensed asset management company and therefore it would likely need to be licensed for Type 9 regulated activity. If it has not been delegated full discretionary investment authority and only provides securities investment advice and executes securities transactions, it may need to be licensed for other types of regulated activities, ie, Type 1 regulated activity and Type 4 regulated activity (advising on securities). Where the assets include futures contracts, it may also need to be licensed for Type 2 regulated activity (dealing in futures contacts) and Type 5 regulated activity (advising on futures contracts).

Should there be queries regarding the contents of this circular, please contact enquiry.familyoffice@sfc.hk.

Licensing Department
Intermediaries Division
Securities and Futures Commission

End


1 Please refer to Schedule 5 to the SFO for details about the available carve-outs under the definitions of the various types of regulated activities. Paragraph 1.3 of the Licensing Handbook (Exemptions) provides general guidance on some situations in which the carve-outs may apply.

2 Asset management is defined in Schedule 5 to the SFO to mean real estate investment scheme management and securities or futures contracts management.

3 Please refer to paragraph (a) under the definition of “securities or futures contracts management” in Schedule 5 to the SFO.


Click here to download the document


Page last updated : 7 Jan 2020

有關家族辦公室的申領牌照責任的通函

2020年1月7日



本通函旨在為擬於香港進行資產管理或其他服務的家族辦公室提供一般指引。

家族辦公室通常是為了管理高資產淨值家族的財務事宜而設立的,香港作為國際金融中心及資產管理樞紐,是家族辦公室進行業務活動的一個必然選擇。它們的活動包括資產管理及遺產規劃。家族辦公室可為一個家族或多個未必互相關連的家族提供服務。

A.        一般發牌規定

香港並無專為家族辦公室而設的發牌制度。《證券及期貨條例》下的發牌制度是以活動為基礎的。如家族辦公室所提供的服務並不構成任何受規管活動或屬於任何適用的豁除情況1,該家族辦公室便無須根據《證券及期貨條例》申領牌照。然而,家族辦公室應注意,它們在未領有牌照的情況下不得聲稱其經營某類受規管活動的業務。

如下文第B及C部所述,若公司或家族辦公室是為了管理資產(包括證券或期貨合約)而以企業形式設立的,該公司或辦公室便可能須持有第9類受規管活動(提供資產管理)2牌照。在香港提供資產管理服務是否需要申領牌照,並非取決於客戶是否為家族。因此,家族信託的受益人或家族成員之間的關係,與釐定是否須申領牌照無關。舉例來說,家族辦公室可為嚴格上並非屬於“家族成員”的人士管理資產(如前配偶及姻親)。

若家族辦公室擬提供其他服務(如按照家族所作出的指示購買金融資產),便應檢視它們是否屬於第1類(證券交易)等任何其他類別的受規管活動的定義範圍,以及是否須就這些活動申領牌照。

B.        單一家族辦公室

單一家族辦公室如何運作,在發牌制度下可產生不同的影響。舉例來說,若某家族委任受託人來持有其家族信託的資產,而該受託人以內部單位形式營運家族辦公室,以便管理信託資產,則該家族辦公室將無需申領牌照,因為它並非為第三方提供資產管理服務。

同樣地,假如家族辦公室是以獨立的法律實體形式成立,並由受託人或持有家族資產的公司全資擁有,則該家族辦公室將無需申領牌照,因為作為證券或期貨合約投資組合的全權委託資產管理公司,它將符合集團內部豁除情況3的資格。家族辦公室如純粹向相關公司(定義為其全資附屬公司、持有其所有已發行股份的控權公司,或該控權公司的其他全資附屬公司)提供資產管理服務,便無須就第9類受規管活動申領牌照。

C.        多家族辦公室

顧名思義,多家族辦公室為多於一個高資產淨值家族提供服務。家族辦公室需申領哪類證監會牌照,取決於它在香港所提供的服務。若多家族辦公室向並不屬於相關公司(定義見上文第B部)的客戶提供服務,將不可採納集團內部豁除情況。

當某多家族辦公室獲授予全面的投資酌情權時,其資產管理活動與持牌資產管理公司的活動大致相若,故可能需要就第9類受規管活動領取牌照。家族辦公室如未獲授予全面的投資酌情權,並只會提供證券投資意見和執行證券交易,便可能需就其他類別的受規管活動(即第1類受規管活動及第4類受規管活動(就證券提供意見))申領牌照。若資產包括期貨合約,家族辦公室可能同時需就第2類受規管活動(期貨合約交易)及第5類受規管活動(就期貨合約提供意見)申領牌照。

如對本通函的內容有任何疑問,請發送電郵至enquiry.familyoffice@sfc.hk 

證券及期貨事務監察委員會
中介機構部
發牌科

 


1 有關適用於不同類別受規管活動定義範圍的豁除情況的詳情,請參閱《證券及期貨條例》附表V。《發牌手冊》第1.3段(豁免)就豁除規定可能適用的某些情況,提供一般指引。

2 在《證券及期貨條例》附表5內,資產管理被界定為房地產投資計劃管理,或證券或期貨合約管理。

3 請參閱《證券及期貨條例》附表5內“證券或期貨合約管理”的定義下第(a)段。


按這裡下載文件


最後更新日期 : 2020年1月7日