Circular to private equity firms seeking to be licensed

7 Jan 2020



This circular provides general guidance for private equity (PE) firms seeking to be licensed by the Securities and Futures Commission (SFC) to carry on a business of regulated activities in Hong Kong under Part V of the Securities and Futures Ordinance (SFO).

The SFC’s Licensing Handbook published in February 2019 states that a PE firm may be required to be licensed for one or more types of regulated activities depending on the types of business it conducts in Hong Kong1. In response to recent queries, the SFC is now providing additional guidance on the following:

A.   Licensing requirements for general partners (GPs)
B.   Discretionary investment authority
C.   Investment committee members
D.   Investments in securities of private companies
E.   Offering co-investment opportunities
F.   Fund marketing activities
G.   Industry experience requirement for responsible officers (ROs)

A.        Licensing requirements for general partners (GPs)

It is common for a PE fund to be constituted in the form of a limited partnership. Under this arrangement, a GP assumes ultimate responsibility for the management and control of the fund. In return, the GP would receive management fees, carried interest or other remuneration. In light of the GP’s crucial role in managing the PE fund, it is generally required to be licensed for Type 9 regulated activity (RA9) if it conducts fund management business in Hong Kong, provided that the related fund management activities fall under the definition of “asset management” in the SFO. Individuals who perform asset management activities for the GP in Hong Kong are also required to be licensed as representatives and, where appropriate, be approved as ROs accredited to the GP.

However, GPs themselves would not need to be licensed for RA9 if they have fully delegated all of the asset management functions to another entity which is licensed or registered to carry on such regulated activity.

Section 114 of the SFO also prohibits any unlicensed person from holding himself out as carrying on a business in a regulated activity. In particular, an unlicensed GP should not represent to any prospective investor that it manages a PE fund in Hong Kong. 

B.        Discretionary investment authority

To differentiate RA9 from the regulated activities of advising on securities or futures contracts, the SFC takes the view that licensed asset managers must be granted full discretionary investment authority in respect of the funds they manage2. When considering whether a PE firm has this authority, the SFC will look at the facts of each case, including the proposed investment decision-making process, the roles of the proposed licensed individuals (including the ROs) and their involvement in the process, and whether the delegation of investment authority to the firm is properly documented.

For example, the SFC may regard a PE firm as having discretionary investment authority if it proposes to have an RO with sufficient authority and seniority to make investment decisions throughout the life cycle of each fund.

C.        Investment committee members

Some PE firms licensed for RA9 have established investment committees in Hong Kong for the funds they manage. Generally speaking, members of an investment committee who, either individually or jointly, play a dominant role in making investment decisions for the funds are required to be licensed as representatives and, where appropriate, be approved as ROs.

Certain investment committee members do not have any voting right or veto power for investment decisions and their primary role is to provide input from a legal, compliance or internal control perspective. These members would generally not need to be licensed.

D.        Investments in securities of private companies

Under Part 2, Schedule 5 to the SFO, “asset management” refers to, amongst other things, the provision of a service of managing a portfolio of securities or futures contracts for another person. The term “securities” is given a wide definition in Schedule 1 to the SFO. However, amongst other exclusions, the shares or debentures of a company that is a private company within the meaning of section 11 of the Companies Ordinance (Cap. 622) (CO) are carved out from the definition3.  

Many PE funds set up special purpose vehicles (SPVs), incorporated locally or overseas, for investment holding purposes. In determining whether an investment portfolio of a PE fund comprises securities or futures contracts for the purposes of RA9, the SFC will consider the composition of the entire investment portfolio. If underlying investments held through SPVs fall within the definition of “securities” (even if the SPVs are carved out) or the SPVs themselves fall within the definition of “securities”, the SFC will regard the management of the portfolio as “asset management” and the PE firm would be required to be licensed for RA9.

E.         Offering co-investment opportunities

If a PE firm offers investment opportunities to other persons whereby they may enter into securities transactions alongside the PE fund, the firm is generally required to be licensed for Type 1 regulated activity (RA1). This is because the act of offering the co-investment opportunities will likely be regarded as inducing other persons to enter into securities transactions.

Nonetheless, the PE firm may not need to be licensed for RA1 if it is licensed for RA9 to manage the PE fund and its act of offering the co-investment opportunities is conducted solely for the purposes of carrying on RA94. For example, if offering co-investment opportunities forms an integral part of fundraising by the PE fund to secure capital to invest in its underlying projects, the PE firm would not be required to be licensed for RA1. 

F.         Fund marketing activities

As fund marketing activities generally constitute “dealing in securities” as defined in the SFO, a PE firm carrying on a business in such activities would generally be required to be licensed for RA1. However, the licensing exemption discussed in Part E may also apply, where a PE firm which is already licensed for RA9 may market its funds without being additionally licensed for RA1, provided that the related fund marketing activities are conducted by the PE firm solely for the purposes of carrying on RA9.   

G.        Industry experience requirement for responsible officers (ROs)

In assessing whether an RO applicant of a PE firm has the required relevant industry experience to satisfy competence requirements5, the SFC adopts a pragmatic approach and recognises a broad range of experience as long as the applicant can demonstrate that it is relevant to his or her proposed duties. For example, the SFC will consider experience in:

The SFC also accepts PE experience gained in a non-regulated situation. It will take into account experience in an overseas jurisdiction where the related PE activities are not regulated, as well as relevant experience in a PE firm which operates in Hong Kong and is exempted from the licensing requirement. For example, such experience may involve conducting research in Hong Kong solely for use by the PE firm’s holding company6.

Should there be queries regarding the contents of this circular, please contact enquiry.pefirm@sfc.hk.

Licensing Department
Intermediaries Division
Securities and Futures Commission

End


1 Paragraphs 1.4.18 and 1.4.19 of the Licensing Handbook.

2 Paragraph 1.4.24 of the Licensing Handbook.

3 Please refer to sub-paragraph (i) under the exclusions from the scope of “securities” defined in Part 1, Schedule 1 to the SFO and Paragraph 1.4.18 of the Licensing Handbook.

4 This exemption from the licensing requirement is based on a carve-out from the definition of “dealing in securities” set out in sub-paragraph (xiv) of such definition in Part 2, Schedule 5 to the SFO. 

5 For more information about the competence requirements for ROs (including related experience assessments and licensing examination exemptions), please refer to the Guidelines on Competence issued by the SFC and the SFC’s circular dated 11 June 2007 regarding its pragmatic approach to licensing fund managers.

6 Paragraph 1.3.14 of the Licensing Handbook.


Click here to download the document


Page last updated : 7 Jan 2020

致尋求獲發牌的私募股本公司的通函

2020年1月7日



本通函向尋求根據《證券及期貨條例》第V部獲證券及期貨事務監察委員會(證監會)發牌以在香港經營受規管活動業務的私募股本公司,提供一般指引。 

證監會於2019年2月發出的《發牌手冊》述明,私募股本公司可能須就一類或多類受規管活動取得牌照(視乎其在香港經營的業務類別而定)1。本會因應近期接獲的查詢,現就以下事宜提供額外指引:

A.   適用於普通合夥人的發牌規定
B.   投資酌情權
C.   投資委員會成員
D.   對私人公司證券的投資
E.   提供共同投資的機會
F.   基金推廣活動
G.   適用於負責人員的行業經驗規定

A.        適用於普通合夥人的發牌規定

私募股本基金普遍以有限責任合夥的形式組成。根據有關協議,普通合夥人對基金的管理及監控負有最終責任,並會收取管理費、附帶權益或其他報酬作為回報。鑑於普通合夥人在管理私募股本基金方面擔當著關鍵角色,普通合夥人只要在香港進行基金管理業務,且有關的基金管理活動構成《證券及期貨條例》內所界定的“資產管理”,該合夥人一般須就第9類受規管活動申領牌照。任何人如在香港為普通合夥人進行資產管理活動,亦須領有牌照成為隸屬該名普通合夥人的持牌代表及(在適當情況下)獲核准成為其負責人員。

然而,如普通合夥人已將所有資產管理職能全面轉授予另一已獲發牌或註冊進行第9類受規管活動的機構,則普通合夥人本身便無需就該類受規管活動領取牌照。

《證券及期貨條例》第114條亦禁止任何無牌人士顯示自己經營受規管活動的業務。尤其是,普通合夥人在沒有領取牌照的情況下,不應向任何準投資者聲稱其在香港管理私募股本基金。  

B.        投資酌情權

證監會認為,獲發牌的資產管理公司須就所管理的基金獲授予全面的投資酌情權2,以便區分第9類受規管活動與就證券或期貨合約提供意見的受規管活動。本會在考慮私募股本公司是否具備此權限時,將會審視每宗個案的事實,包括建議的投資決策過程,擬領取牌照的人士(連同負責人員在內)在該過程中的角色和參與程度,以及有否就向該公司轉授投資權限一事備存妥善的文件紀錄。

舉例來說,如私募股本公司在每隻基金的整個生命周期內均有一名負責人員具有足夠權限及職級作出投資決定,證監會便可能會認為該私募股本公司已具備投資酌情權。

C.        投資委員會成員

有些就第9類受規管活動獲發牌的私募股本公司在香港為所管理的基金設有投資委員會。一般來說,若投資委員會的成員擔當著主導角色為基金作出投資決定(不論是個別或共同地),他們便須領有牌照成為持牌代表及(在適當情況下)獲核准成為負責人員。

某些投資委員會成員對於投資決定並無任何投票權或否決權,而他們的主要職責是從法律、合規或內部監控角度提供意見,故此他們一般無需領取牌照。 

D.        對私人公司證券的投資

根據《證券及期貨條例》附表5第2部,“資產管理”指(除其他含義外)為另一人提供管理證券或期貨合約投資組合的服務。《證券及期貨條例》附表1對“證券”一詞給予廣泛的定義。然而,除其他豁除情況外,任何公司如屬於《公司條例》(第622章)第11條所指的私人公司,其股份或債權證便豁除在“證券”一詞的定義之外3

不少私募股本基金成立本地或海外註冊的特定目的公司,作投資控股用途。在判斷私募股本基金的投資組合是否包含屬於第9類受規管活動範圍的證券或期貨合約時,證監會將考慮整個投資組合的成分。若透過特定目的公司持有的相關投資屬於“證券”的定義(即使特定目的公司是被豁除在定義之外)或特定目的公司本身屬於“證券”的定義,證監會將視管理有關投資組合為“資產管理”,而管理有關投資組合的私募股本公司便須就第9類受規管活動申領牌照。

E.         提供共同投資的機會

若私募股本公司向其他人士提供投資機會,讓他們可與某私募股本基金共同作出投資並訂立相關證券交易,則該公司一般須就第1類受規管活動申領牌照。原因是提供共同投資機會這行為,可能會被視為誘使其他人士訂立證券交易。

儘管如此,若私募股本公司就第9類受規管活動獲發牌以管理私募股本基金,以及它提供共同投資機會這行為純粹為進行第9類受規管活動而作出,則有關公司可能無需就第1類受規管活動申領牌照4。舉例來說,若提供共同投資機會是私募股本基金為籌集資金以投資於其相關項目而進行的集資活動的必要組成部分,則私募股本公司無須就第1類受規管活動申領牌照。 

F.         基金推廣活動

一般而言,由於基金推廣活動構成《證券及期貨條例》所界定的“證券交易”,因此所經營的業務涉及有關活動的私募股本公司,通常須就第1類受規管活動申領牌照。然而,若私募股本公司純粹為進行第9類受規管活動而作出相關基金推廣活動,並且已就第9類受規管活動獲發牌照,第E部所述的發牌豁免亦可能適用,即該公司可推廣其基金,而無需就第1類受規管活動另行申領牌照。 

G.        適用於負責人員的行業經驗規定

在評核申請成為私募股本公司負責人員的人士是否具備足以符合勝任能力規定5的相關行業經驗時,證監會會採取務實的處理方法及承認範圍廣泛的行業經驗,但前提是申請人可證明有關經驗與其擬履行的職責相關。例如,證監會將會考慮以下經驗:

證監會亦接納在未受規管的情況下所獲取在私募股本基金方面的經驗。我們會將以下經驗納入考慮之中:在沒有規管相關私募股本活動的海外司法管轄區內所獲取的經驗,以及在一家於香港營運並獲豁免而無須遵從發牌規定的私募股本公司內獲得的相關經驗。舉例來說,有關經驗可能包括在香港進行研究以純粹供私募股本公司的控股公司使用6

如對本通函的內容有任何疑問,請發送電郵至enquiry.pefirm@sfc.hk 

證券及期貨事務監察委員會
中介機構部
發牌科

 


1 《發牌手冊》第1.4.18及1.4.19段。

2《發牌手冊》第1.4.24段。

3 請參閱《證券及期貨條例》附表1第1部內“證券”定義的豁除情況的第(i)節及《發牌手冊》第1.4.18段。

4 這項發牌規定的豁免是以豁除在“證券交易”的定義之外的情況(載於《證券及期貨條例》附表5第2部內該定義的第(xiv)分段)作為依據。

5 請參閱證監會發出的《勝任能力的指引》及於2007年6月11日發出有關其採取務實的處理方法向基金經理發牌的通函,以取得更多有關負責人員勝任能力規定的資料(包括相關經驗評核及發牌考試豁免)。

6 《發牌手冊》第1.3.14段。


按這裡下載文件


最後更新日期 : 2020年1月7日