HKMA and SFC adopt a coordinated approach to supervise banks and licensed corporations

24 Apr 2019



The Hong Kong Monetary Authority (HKMA) and the Securities and Futures Commission (SFC) recently conducted coordinated inspections of a bank within a Mainland-based banking group and a licensed corporation (LC) owned by a subsidiary (Group). The HKMA and the SFC found that the Group, one of many Mainland-based groups operating banks, licensed corporations and other affiliates in Hong Kong, had entered into a series of complex transactions via a private fund and other entities which give rise to a number of serious concerns.

The findings from the coordinated inspections are illustrative of complex structures which appear to have been adopted by other Mainland financial institutions in Hong Kong together with complex, opaque financing arrangements which may conceal embedded financial risks and make it difficult to conduct rigorous risk assessment. The HKMA and the SFC are therefore issuing this Circular in order to encourage all institutions which may have adopted similar financing arrangements involving subsidiaries or affiliates of licensed entities to review them urgently and take all necessary steps to address all untoward risks.  

Complex arrangements to finance risky investments

The regulators found that the subsidiary within the Group obtained a credit facility from the bank for general business and working capital purposes. The subsidiary then made a large investment in a private fund set up by a licensed asset manager. The sole purpose of the fund was to provide a loan (Loan A) to a special purpose vehicle (SPV) owned by a substantial shareholder of a listed company against a pool of collateral which was mainly composed of the listed company’s shares.

Loan A was used to repay part of a loan of another SPV owned by the substantial shareholder which had financed projects in an emerging market. It was subject to a margin call arrangement whereby additional cash or securities collateral would be required when the loan-to-collateral ratio exceeded an agreed level.

In a circular dated 3 August 2018, the SFC expressed concerns about arrangements which effectively provide margin financing in the guise of investments; it is of the view that the arrangement put in place by the Group, which was accounted for as an investment in a private fund by its subsidiary, was in substance a margin loan leveraging on the funding support from the bank.

Deficient lending practices

The HKMA’s inspection identified deficiencies in the bank’s lending practices. Banks should ensure that credit facilities granted to their subsidiaries and affiliated companies or those of their holding company are granted on an arm’s length basis and subject to a prudent credit assessment which should be at least as stringent as that performed on unrelated companies. The assessment should include an evaluation of the borrowing company's ability to repay and how the facility is intended to be used.

Banks should also ensure that there is an effective post-lending monitoring framework to identify and follow-up on any major adverse developments of a borrower in a timely manner. If the borrower is engaging in high-risk activities (in this case a margin loan to finance high risk investments) or activities that deviate from its normal scope of business, the bank should critically assess the risk implications, including whether and how such activities may affect the repayment ability of the borrower as well as the reputation of the bank. The bank should take appropriate risk mitigation measures to reduce the risks identified. The HKMA will review the effectiveness of controls of banks as part of its ongoing supervisory work.

Coordinated supervision

The SFC also found that the Group’s subsidiary, via a separate subsidiary holding a money lender licence, also had provided lending to other listed companies secured by collateral provided by major shareholders. Some borrowers had pledged a significant proportion of the listed companies’ total issued shares (up to 70%). These were illiquid stocks of doubtful quality.

The SFC wishes to remind all holding companies or controllers of LCs to prudently manage the overall group financial risks to ensure it has the ability to provide financial support to the LCs and to contain contagion risks to the LCs that may affect their financial integrity.

The HKMA and the SFC will continue to enhance regulatory cooperation and are also closely coordinating with Mainland regulators to share information and observations derived from their supervisory work. 

Should you have any queries regarding the contents of this circular, please contact Mr Sing Hsu at the Banking Supervision Department of the HKMA on 2878 1447 or Ms Kammy Kwok at the Intermediaries Supervision Department of the SFC on 2231 1455 or your case officer.

 

Banking Supervision Department        Intermediaries Supervision Department, Intermediaries Division
Hong Kong Monetary Authority          Securities and Futures Commission


End

SFO/IS/021/2019
HKMA/B1/15C


Click here to download the document


Page last updated : 24 Apr 2019

金管局與證監會採取協調方法監管銀行及持牌法團

2019年4月24日



香港金融管理局(金管局)與證券及期貨事務監察委員會(證監會)最近對一個內地銀行集團所屬的一家銀行及由該集團的一家附屬公司所擁有的持牌法團(該集團)進行了經協調的現場檢查。金管局及證監會發現,作為其中一家在香港經營銀行、持牌法團及其他聯屬公司的內地銀行集團,該集團透過私募基金及其他實體,進行了一連串引起嚴重關注的複雜交易。

這次協調檢查有助說明其他在港的內地金融機構可能也有透過複雜架構,進行複雜且欠缺透明度的融資安排,以致可能隱藏交易所帶來的金融風險,從而難以為相關交易進行審慎的風險評估。因此,金管局及證監會發出本通函,鼓勵所有透過持牌實體附屬公司或聯屬公司進行類似融資安排的機構,對相關的情況進行即時檢討,及採取一切必要的措施處理所有相關風險。

為高風險投資項目進行融資的複雜安排

監管機構發現,該集團的附屬公司從集團所屬的銀行取得一筆信用借貸作一般業務及營運資金用途。該附屬公司其後向一家由持牌資產管理公司成立的私募基金作出大額投資。該基金的唯一目的是向由一家上市公司的大股東所擁有的一家特定目的公司提供一筆貸款(貸款A),而這筆貸款的抵押品主要為該上市公司的股份。

貸款A被用作償還部分該名大股東擁有的另一家特定目的公司所欠的貸款,而該筆貸款是為新興市場的項目進行融資。貸款A備有追繳保證金的安排;根據有關安排,當貸款與抵押品比率超過某個議定水平,借款人須提供額外的現金或證券抵押品。

證監會在2018年8月3日的通函中,曾對於以投資作掩飾而實際上是提供保證金融資的安排表示關注。證監會認為,該集團設立的有關安排,表面上雖然為其附屬公司於私募基金的投資,但實質上是一項以該銀行提供的資金作支援的保證金融資貸款。

未盡完善的貸款經營手法

金管局的現場檢查發現該銀行的貸款審批及貸後監控手法未盡完善。銀行須確保向其本身擁有或其控股公司擁有的附屬公司及聯屬公司所授予的貸款都是經過審慎的風險評估,及按照公平原則授出。有關評估須至少與對沒有關連的公司所進行的評估同樣嚴謹,其中須包括對借款公司的還款能力及該筆貸款擬定用途的評核。

銀行亦須確保一套有效的貸後監控架構,以便及時識別和跟進借款人任何重大的不利發展。若借款人參與高風險活動(在本個案中是為高風險投資項目融資所進行的保證金融資貸款)或進行偏離其正常業務範圍的活動,銀行須重新嚴謹地進行風險評估,包括有關活動會如何影響借款人的還款能力及銀行的信譽。銀行亦須採取適當的風險緩減措施,以降低所識別的風險。金管局將透過對銀行的持續監管工作審視銀行風險管控措施的成效。

協調監管

證監會亦發現該集團的有關附屬公司,透過其一家持有放債人牌照的附屬公司,同時向其他上市公司提供貸款,並由相關上市公司的大股東提供抵押品。某些借款人所質押的股份佔相關上市公司已發行股份總額的比例非常高(高達70%),並屬欠缺流通性且質素成疑的股份。

證監會希望提醒所有持牌法團的控股公司或控制人應審慎管理集團的整體財務風險,以確保集團有能力為持牌法團提供財政支持,及遏制可能影響持牌法團財務穩健性的連鎖風險。

金管局與證監會將繼續加強監管合作,並與內地監管機構進行密切協調,以分享彼此在監管工作中取得的資料及觀察到的事項。

如對本通函的內容有任何疑問,請致電2878 1447聯絡金管局銀行監理部的許星先生,或2231 1455聯絡證監會中介機構監察科的郭嘉慧女士,或聯絡貴公司的個案主任。

 

香港金融管理局                                                          證券及期貨事務監察委員會
銀行監理部                                                               中介機構部中介機構監察科



SFO/IS/021/2019
HKMA/B1/15C


按這裡下載文件


最後更新日期 : 2019年4月24日