Circular to intermediaries
Prime services and related equity derivatives activities

10 Jun 2019



This circular sets out the standards of conduct and internal controls the Securities and Futures Commission (SFC) expects of prime brokers (PBs), ie, financial institutions providing prime services1 and conducting related equity derivatives activities in Hong Kong.

More detailed guidance is set out in a report, also issued today, which provides an overview of the prime services industry landscape in Hong Kong and shares observations and good industry practices noted from the SFC’s recent thematic review2 of the internal controls and risk management processes of selected PBs.

In particular, the SFC would like to highlight the regulatory obligations of PBs in light of the remote booking and operating models and roles of Hong Kong entities when they provide prime services.  More details about the expected standards for key processes are provided in the Annex to this circular.

1.    Operating models for prime services

Operating models for prime services can be complex and may involve multiple legal entities of a financial institution across different jurisdictions for (i) contracting with clients, (ii) serving clients on a day-to-day basis, (iii) managing risks associated with clients’ activities and (iv) booking corresponding risk positions of clients. In some cases, there may be more than one location involved in serving a particular client and managing the associated risks.

Typically for prime services clients serviced in Hong Kong, overseas entities at the group level3 are the contracting entities for clients globally and regionally, and these entities are the ones that provide margin financing to the clients. Consequently, the associated risk positions are also booked into such overseas entities even though the risk positions are originated locally.

2.    Distinctive roles of Hong Kong entities

Hong Kong entities mainly operate as the Asia hub which provide services locally to international clients conducting trading or related activities in the region, with responsibilities over:

(i)    Governance and management supervision – with a Manager-In-Charge4 overseeing prime services activities or the wider lines of business in which prime services activities operate, and regional governance committees set up to handle specific issues in the Asia Pacific region with oversight at global level.

(ii)   Client life cycle management – client on-boarding process and on-going assessments are often carried out in Hong Kong for Asia-based clients who are contracted with overseas entities at the group level.

(iii)  Margin financing and risk management – while credit is provided by overseas contracting entities, the day-to-day monitoring of margined portfolios and risk management functions for clients serviced in Hong Kong are carried out by PBs locally with oversight at the group level. 

(iv) Short selling and securities lending –  the securities borrowing and lending (SBL) desk will source securities from lenders to facilitate PB’s agency and principal short selling transactions in global markets, where the SBL desk in Hong Kong will generally cover the Asian markets.   

(v)  Handling of client assets – PBs in Hong Kong act as a sub-custodian of the overseas contracting entities holding certain client assets.

3.    Regulatory obligations of PBs

Given that the operating models for prime services are fragmented by nature with multiple legal entities of a financial institution involved in different aspects of a client relationship, PBs are reminded that if clients are serviced in Hong Kong or if PBs are carrying out their prime services in Hong Kong, PBs are expected to comply with the applicable rules and regulations in Hong Kong regardless of where the risk positions are booked.

While PBs usually adopt the risk management framework set out at the group level, they should take reasonable steps to ensure that they operate within a holistic and robust risk management framework, with reporting and accountability processes clearly defined and suitably integrated across the different jurisdictions involved. PBs should overlay their risk management programmes with relevant local regulatory requirements and operational needs to ensure the standards are not less stringent than the applicable local rules. In the event that:

(i)    the risk positions are not booked into Hong Kong, PBs should still have adequate controls and procedures in place to follow the relevant compliance standards established by their group companies. PBs are expected to:

(a)  maintain effective policies and procedures for proper risk management and ensure adequate information is provided to allow management to take appropriate and timely action to contain or manage risks5.

(b)  establish appropriate risk limits for on-going monitoring and assess them periodically for appropriateness.

(c)  conduct regular stress testing, which should also be tailored to special situations, for example, in cases of risk mismatches or when client portfolios hold illiquid positions or products with complex features and risk profiles. Stress testing methodologies should be properly defined and periodically reviewed.

(ii)   an intermediary is the contracting entity where the risk positions for prime services are booked, PBs are reminded to comply with the applicable regulatory requirements, including those related to over-the-counter (OTC) derivative transactions6, securities margin financing and the Securities and Futures (Financial Resources) Rules. In particular, the SFC would like to draw PBs' attention to the proposed margin requirements for non-centrally cleared OTC derivative transactions set out in a recent consultation paper7, and PBs should keep in view the consultation conclusions.  

PBs are reminded that should PBs or their group companies be impacted by breaches or severe control failures arising from operations in Hong Kong, the SFC will assess the implications of such cases on the fitness and properness of the PBs in Hong Kong.

Should you have any questions regarding this circular, please contact your case officer.

 

Intermediaries Supervision Department
Intermediaries Division
Securities and Futures Commission

Enclosure

End

SFO/IS/031/2019


1 Prime services refer to one-stop-shop services, including trade execution and clearing, securities borrowing and lending, custody, financing solutions, reporting, capital introduction and consulting services, provided to institutional clients such as hedge fund managers.
2
The SFC announced the thematic review in a circular issued on 30 October 2017.
3 Most commonly based in the UK and the US.
4
Circular to Licensed Corporations Regarding Measures for Augmenting the Accountability of Senior Management issued by the SFC on 16 December 2016.
5
Management, Supervision and Internal Control Guidelines for Persons Licensed by or Registered with the Securities and Futures Commission.
6
Including risk mitigation requirements and conduct requirements set out in the Consultation Conclusions on (1) the OTC derivatives regime for Hong Kong – Proposed requirements in relation to OTC derivative risk mitigation and client clearing; and (2) Proposed conduct requirements to address risks posed by group affiliates released on 12 December 2018.
7
Consultation paper on the OTC derivatives regime for Hong Kong – Proposed margin requirements for non-centrally cleared OTC derivative transactions published on 19 June 2018.


Click here to download the document

Supplementary document:
Report on the Thematic Review of Prime Services and Related Equity Derivatives Activities in Hong Kong
Annex


Page last updated : 10 Jun 2019

致中介人的通函
主要經紀服務及相關股票衍生工具活動

2019年6月10日



本通函述明證券及期貨事務監察委員會(證監會)期望主要經紀商應達到的操守及內部監控標準。主要經紀商是指在香港提供主要經紀服務1及進行相關股票衍生工具活動的金融機構。

我們亦在今天發表的報告內載述更詳細的指引。該報告概述了香港主要經紀服務的行業狀況,並分享證監會在近期對選定主要經紀商的內部監控措施及風險管理程序進行的主題檢視2中的觀察所得和留意到的良好業界作業手法。

證監會尤其希望就主要經紀商的香港實體所採用的離岸入帳和營運模式及其在提供主要經紀服務時所擔當的角色,重點闡述主要經紀商的監管責任。就主要程序方面應達到的標準,有關詳情可參閱本通函的附件

1.    主要經紀服務的營運模式

主要經紀服務的營運模式可以十分複雜,及可能涉及一家金融機構在多個不同司法管轄區的法律實體(i)與客戶訂約;(ii)為客戶提供日常服務;(iii)管理與客戶活動相關的風險;及(iv)將客戶的相應風險持倉入帳。在某些情況下,當向某客戶提供服務及管理相關風險時,所牽涉的地點可能多於一個。

在香港接受主要經紀服務的客戶,通常是由屬集團層面的海外實體3擔當環球和亞洲區域客戶的訂約實體,並向有關客戶提供保證金融資。故此,相關的風險持倉即使是源自本地,亦會入帳至這些海外實體的簿冊内。

2.    香港實體的獨特角色

香港實體主要作為亞洲區樞紐,在本地向國際客戶就其於亞太區進行的交易或相關活動而提供服務,並負責執行以下工作:

(i)    管治及管理層的監督 — 由核心職能主管4監察主要經紀服務活動或其所屬的更廣泛業務,並設立地區管治委員會,以在環球層面的監察下處理亞太區的具體問題。

(ii)   客戶關係生命周期管理 — 對於以亞洲為基地、並與屬集團層面的海外實體訂約的客戶,處理建立業務關係的程序和持續評估通常在香港進行。

(iii)   保證金融資及風險管理 — 儘管信貸是由海外訂約實體向在香港接受主要經紀服務的客戶提供,但對保證金投資組合的日常監察,以及日常風險管理職能,則由主要經紀商在受到集團層面的監察下於本地執行。

(iv)   賣空及證券借貸 — 證券借貸部門會向借出人尋求證券來源,以利便主要經紀商在全球市場進行代理人及主事人賣空交易,而在香港的證券借貸部門通常會涵蓋多個亞洲市場。

(v)    處理客戶資產 — 在香港的主要經紀商擔任海外訂約實體的次保管人,代為保管某些客戶資產。

3.    主要經紀商的監管責任

鑑於主要經紀服務的營運模式具分散的本質,一家金融機構轄下的多個法律實體可能涉及客戶關係的不同範疇,本會提醒主要經紀商,若客戶在香港接受服務,或若主要經紀商在香港從事主要經紀服務,不論風險持倉入帳至哪個簿冊内,主要經紀商都應遵守在香港適用的規則及法例。

雖然主要經紀商通常採納在集團層面上制定的風險管理框架,但它們應採取合理步驟,確保它們是在全面而穩健的風險管理框架內運作,以及明確界定匯報及問責程序,和令有關程序在所涉及的不同司法管轄區之間適當地融為一體。主要經紀商應將相關的本地監管規定及營運需要納入其風險管理程序內,確保有關標準在嚴格程度上不遜於本地適用的規則。倘若:

(i)     風險持倉並非入帳至香港的簿冊内,主要經紀商亦應設有充足的監控措施及程序,以便遵循其集團公司所訂立的相關合規標準。主要經紀商應:

(a)    維持有效的政策及程序,以便適當地管理風險,及確保提供充分的資料,讓管理層採取適當而及時的行動去規限或管理風險5

(b)    設定適當的風險限額,以持續地監察及定期評估其是否適當。

(c)    定期進行壓力測試,而有關測試亦應因應特殊情況(例如出現風險錯配,或客戶的投資組合持有非流通資產或所持的產品具有複雜的特點及風險狀況)作出調整。主要經紀商應妥善地界定及定期檢討壓力測試的方式。

(ii)    如中介人是訂約實體,且主要經紀服務的風險持倉入帳至其簿冊内,主要經紀商應緊記遵從適用的監管規定,包括與場外衍生工具交易6、證券保證金融資和《證券及期貨(財政資源)規則》有關的規定。證監會尤其希望主要經紀商參閱近期有關諮詢文件7所載適用於非中央結算場外衍生工具交易的建議保證金規定,而主要經紀商應密切留意諮詢總結。

主要經紀商務必注意,假如它們或集團公司受到源自香港業務運作的違規事件或嚴重監控缺失所影響,證監會便會評估有關情況對香港的主要經紀商的適當人選資格帶來的影響。

如對本通函內容有任何疑問,請聯絡你的個案主任。

證券及期貨事務監察委員會
中介機構部
中介機構監察科

連附件

SFO/IS/031/2019


1 主要經紀服務指向機構客戶(例如對沖基金經理)提供的一站式服務,包括交易執行及結算、證券借貸、託管、融資解決方案、匯報、引薦資金、諮詢服務等。
2
證監會於2017年10月30日發出通函,公布上述主題檢視。
3
以設於英國及美國的實體最為常見。
4
證監會於2016年12月16日發出的《致持牌法團有關加強高級管理層問責性的措施的通函》。
5
《適用於證券及期貨事務監察委員會持牌人或註冊人的管理、監督及內部監控指引》。
6
包括在2018年12月12日發表的《有關(1)香港場外衍生工具制度—對與場外衍生工具風險紓減及客戶結算有關的建議規定;及(2)為處理集團聯屬公司引致的風險而設的建議操守規定的諮詢總結》內載列的風險紓減規定和操守規定。
7
於2018年6月19日刊發的《有關香港場外衍生工具制度的諮詢文件—適用於非中央結算場外衍生工具交易的建議保證金規定》。


按這裡下載文件

附錄文件:
關於香港的主要經紀服務及相關股票衍生工具活動的主題檢視報告
附錄


最後更新日期 : 2019年6月10日