Circular to Licensed Corporations - Foreign exchange margin trading on the Mainland and other activities not regulated by the SFC

17 Jun 2019



The Securities and Futures Commission (SFC) reminds licensed corporations (LCs) of the following:

Unauthorised activities on the Mainland

The SFC has noted that the State Administration of Foreign Exchange (SAFE) recently took action against a Mainland entity for soliciting Mainland investors to engage in forex margin trading outside the Mainland on behalf of an online trading platform operated by the entity’s offshore shareholder. SAFE advised that the Mainland authorities have not approved any institution to engage in forex margin business either directly or on an agency basis on the Mainland2. SAFE also advised that according to Mainland requirements3, it is illegal for any unapproved institution to conduct forex margin trading or for any client, whether an organisation or individual, to entrust an unapproved institution to do so.

In this connection, the SFC is aware that some LCs or their related parties offer leveraged foreign exchange trading or similar services to investors via websites presented in simplified Chinese and provide Mainland investors toll free telephone numbers for enquiry. The SFC warns LCs not to engage in unauthorised or illegal forex margin trading on the Mainland or assist other persons or Mainland investors in such activities. LCs which provide or market forex margin trading or similar services to Mainland investors, or assist other persons to provide or market them to Mainland investors, should immediately review the legality of their activities under Mainland law and regulations. Any non-compliant activities should be discontinued immediately and be notified to the SFC in accordance with paragraph 12.5 of the Code of Conduct for Persons Licensed by or Registered with the Securities and Futures Commission (Code of Conduct)4.

LCs must ensure compliance with the licensing and other requirements of all the jurisdictions in which they operate or provide services and implement sufficient compliance controls. Before commencing business in a jurisdiction, LCs should obtain a thorough understanding of the local legal and regulatory requirements, seek proper legal and professional advice and discuss the applicable requirements with the relevant regulatory authority.

Alleged fraudulent or illegal activities of related parties

It has also come to the attention of the SFC that some LCs’ related parties may be associated with other alleged illegal activities on the Mainland, such as unauthorised stock broking or fraudulent crowdfunding or peer-to-peer lending, or alleged fraudulent London gold activities in Hong Kong. The LCs may have allowed related parties to use their names and SFC licensing statuses on websites or marketing materials to promote these activities. LCs’ staff resources or business premises may also be shared with these related parties.

The SFC reminds LCs and their controlling entities to take all necessary steps to review the legality of the services offered by themselves and their related parties to ensure their activities comply with the law and regulations administered by the SFC as well as the applicable requirements of other jurisdictions. Unauthorised or illicit activities must be discontinued immediately. Any contravention of the law or regulations of other jurisdictions may amount to a breach of paragraph 12.1 of the Code of Conduct5, which may call into question the fitness and properness of a corporation to be, or to remain, licensed in Hong Kong.

Furthermore, improper conduct by an LC’s controlling entity or its other subsidiaries may adversely affect the LC and the group as a whole. Even a perceived association with alleged fraudulent or illegal activities may have negative implications for an LC’s fitness and properness. Accordingly, LCs are urged to take all necessary steps to ring-fence the conduct of related parties suspected of being involved in or associated with dubious activities. These include ceasing co-location or resource sharing arrangements and clearly segregating regulated activities from those which are potentially unauthorised or illegal.

Failure to take appropriate action may impugn on the fitness and properness of the LC, its senior management and its controlling entities, and may result in regulatory action. The SFC may impose conditions on the LCs and their controlling entities to mitigate the risks and where the situation warrants, the SFC will take action which may include issuing restriction notices and suspending or revoking the licence of the LC.

Should you have any queries regarding the contents of this circular, please contact your case officer.


Intermediaries Division
Securities and Futures Commission

End

SFO/IS/033/2019

1 Such activity is similar to leveraged foreign exchange trading in nature and is regulated by SAFE.
2 Please refer to a notice entitled “国家外汇管理局关于非法网络炒汇平台案例的通报” (reference no. 000014453-2019-00322) published by SAFE on 10 May 2019 (Chinese version only): http://www.safe.gov.cn/safe/2019/0510/13189.html.
3 A notice entitled “关于严厉查处非法外汇期货和外汇按金交易活动的通知”( 证监发字[1994]165号) published by China Securities Regulatory Commission on 28 October 1994 (Chinese version only): http://www.csrc.gov.cn/pub/newsite/flb/flfg/bmgf/qh/ccffqh/201012/t20101231_189909.html.
4 Paragraph 12.5 of the Code of Conduct requires notification to the SFC of any material non-compliance with applicable laws and regulations.
5 Paragraph 12.1 of the Code of Conduct relates to compliance in general.


Click here to download the document


Page last updated : 17 Jun 2019

致持牌法團的通函 - 在內地進行的外匯按金交易及其他不受證監會規管的活動

2019年6月17日



證券及期貨事務監察委員會(證監會)謹此提醒持牌法團注意以下事宜:

在內地進行未經核准的活動

證監會留意到,國家外匯管理局(外管局)近期對一家內地公司採取行動,原因是該公司代表其境外股東營運的網上交易平台,招攬內地投資者參與境外外匯按金交易。外管局表示,內地部門未批准任何機構在內地開展或代理開展外匯按金業務2。外管局又指,根據內地規定3,凡未經批准的機構擅自開展外匯按金交易,或客戶(單位和個人)委託未經批准登記的機構進行此類交易,均屬違法。

與此同時,證監會注意到,有部分持牌法團或其關聯方透過簡體中文網站向投資者提供槓桿式外匯交易或類似服務,並且設有免費電話號碼,供內地投資者查詢之用。證監會警告持牌法團不可在內地從事未經核准或非法的外匯按金交易,或協助他人或內地投資者進行這些活動。如持牌法團現時有向內地投資者提供或推廣外匯按金交易或類似服務,或協助他人向內地投資者提供或推廣這些服務,應立即檢視有關活動在內地法例及規例下是否合法。如有任何不合規的活動,應即時予以終止,並根據《證券及期貨事務監察委員會持牌人或註冊人操守準則》(簡稱《操守準則》)第12.5段4通知證監會。

持牌法團必須確保遵守其經營業務或提供服務所在的所有司法管轄區的發牌及其他規定,並實施充足的合規監控措施。持牌法團在任何司法管轄區開展業務前,應徹底了解當地的法律及監管規定,徵詢適當的法律及專業意見,以及與相關監管部門商討適用的規定。

關聯方涉嫌進行欺詐或非法活動

證監會亦留意到,某些持牌法團的關聯方可能與在內地進行的其他涉嫌非法活動(例如未經核准的股票經紀服務、具欺詐成分的眾籌活動或點對點網絡貸款),或在香港進行涉嫌具欺詐成分的倫敦金活動有關連。這些持牌法團可能允許關聯方在網站或推廣材料上使用持牌法團的名稱及其在證監會的持牌狀況,以推廣這些活動,並有可能與關聯方共用人力資源或辦公地方。

證監會謹此提醒持牌法團及其控權公司應採取一切所需步驟,檢視它們及關聯方所提供的服務是否合法,以確保有關活動符合證監會執行的法例及規例和其他司法管轄區的適用規定,並且必須即時終止未經核准或非法的活動。持牌法團違反其他司法管轄區的法例或規例,或會構成違反《操守準則》第12.1段5,繼而可能令持牌法團是否為獲發牌或繼續持牌的適當人選受到質疑。

此外,持牌法團的控權公司或其附屬公司所作出的不當行為,可能會對持牌法團以至整個集團造成不利影響。若持牌法團被視為與涉嫌欺詐或非法活動之間存在關連,亦有可能會對其是否為適當人選構成負面影響。因此,本會促請持牌法團採取一切合理步驟,與涉嫌參與或牽涉可疑活動的關聯方所作出的行為劃清界線。這些步驟包括停止共用辦事處或資源共享安排,以及清楚地分隔受規管活動與可能是未經核准或非法的活動。

持牌法團及其控權公司如沒有採取適當行動,或會令持牌法團、其高級管理層及其控權公司是否為適當人選受到質疑,並可能會招致監管行動。證監會可對持牌法團及其控權公司施加條件,藉此紓減有關風險,並且在有需要的情況下採取行動,當中可能包括發出限制通知書,以及暫時吊銷或撤銷持牌法團的牌照。

如對本通函的內容有任何疑問,請聯絡你的個案主任。

證券及期貨事務監察委員會
中介機構部

 

SFO/IS/033/2019                            


1 這些活動在性質上與槓桿式外匯交易類似,並受到外管局的規管。
2
請參閱外管局於2019年5月10日發出的《國家外匯管理局關於非法網絡炒匯平台案例的通報》(索引號: 000014453-2019-00322)(只備中文版:http://www.safe.gov.cn/safe/2019/0510/13189.html)。
3
中國證券監督管理委員會於1994年10月28日發出《關於嚴厲查處非法外匯期貨和外匯按金交易活動的通知》(證監發字[1994]165號)(只備中文版:http://www.csrc.gov.cn/pub/newsite/flb/flfg/bmgf/qh/ccffqh/201012/t20101231_189909.html)。
4
《操守準則》第12.5段要求持牌人或註冊人就任何嚴重不遵守適用法例及規例的情況,向證監會發出通知。
5
《操守準則》第12.1段概述合規事宜。


按這裡下載文件


最後更新日期 : 2019年6月17日