Circular to intermediaries
Amendments to paragraph 5.1 of the Code of Conduct

28 Jun 2019



This circular serves to inform intermediaries of amendments to the Code of Conduct1 to facilitate new approaches for opening accounts. These changes were made to cater for the need for intermediaries to adapt their practices as business activities are increasingly conducted online.

Paragraph 5.1 of the Code of Conduct requires intermediaries to take all reasonable steps to establish the true and full identity of each of their clients and provides specific guidelines on the acceptable approaches for opening accounts. Following a review of these requirements, announced in a circular dated 12 July 20182, the Securities and Futures Commission (SFC) has decided to amend paragraph 5.1 of the Code of Conduct3. The amendments were gazetted today and will take effect on 5 July 2019.

Launch of a designated webpage

To help intermediaries comply with paragraph 5.1 of the Code of Conduct, acceptable account opening approaches will now be published on a designated webpage4, which will also feature relevant circulars5 and frequently asked questions (FAQs). The information on the dedicated webpage will supersede previous circulars6 and FAQs on client onboarding. The SFC anticipates that there will be other acceptable options for client onboarding in the future as a result of advances in technology. Intermediaries will be notified of the updates via circulars and publication on the designated webpage.

For the avoidance of doubt, all currently acceptable account opening approaches will remain applicable. The list of examples of a “professional person” who may certify the signing of client agreements and the sighting of a client’s related identity documents during account opening will be expanded to include chartered secretaries7.

Should you have any questions regarding the contents of this circular, please contact Ms Denise Chan at 2231 1188 or your case officers.

Intermediaries Supervision Department
Intermediaries Division
Securities and Futures Commission

Enclosure

End

SFO/IS/035/2019


  Code of Conduct for Persons Licensed by or Registered with the Securities and Futures Commission.
2
   “Circular to intermediaries – Online client onboarding” dated 12 July 2018.
3
   Details of the amendments are provided in Appendix 1.
4
   Please refer to the SFC’s website at https://www.sfc.hk/web/EN/rules-and-standards/account-opening/.
5
   Including “Circular to intermediaries – Remote onboarding of overseas individual clients” issued today.
6
   “Circular concerning know your client and account opening procedures” dated 12 May 2015, “Advisory circular to intermediaries – Client identity verification in account opening process” dated 24 October 2016 and “Circular to intermediaries – Online client onboarding” dated 12 July 2018.
7
   The change is consistent with a recent amendment to the Guideline on Anti-Money Laundering and Counter-Financing of Terrorism (For Licensed Corporations).


Click here to download the document

Supplementary document:
Appendix


Page last updated : 28 Jun 2019

致中介人的通函
修訂《操守準則》第5.1段

2019年6月28日



本通函旨在通知中介人,《操守準則》1已予修訂,以利便採用新的開立帳戶方式。作出有關修訂是為了配合中介人在愈趨常見的網上商業活動的情況下調整其作業方式的需要。

《操守準則》第5.1段規定中介人須採取一切合理步驟,以確立其每位客戶的真實和全部的身分,並就可接受的開立帳戶方式提供具體指引。經審視有關規定後(如在2018年7月12日發出的通函2所公布),證券及期貨事務監察委員會(證監會)決定修訂《操守準則》第5.1段3。有關修訂已於今天刊憲,並將於2019年7月5日生效。

增設指定的主題

為協助中介人遵守《操守準則》第5.1段,可接受的開立帳戶方式將登載於指定的主題4,而該頁亦將包含相關的通函5及《常見問題》。該頁上所載的資料將取代過往與客戶建立業務關係相關的通函6和《常見問題》。證監會預期,隨著科技的發展,日後將會有其他與客戶建立業務關係的可接受方案。證監會日後將透過通函及該頁上的公,通知中介人有關開立帳戶方面的更新資料。

為免生疑問,所有目前可接受的開立帳戶方式將仍然適用。此外,可在開戶時驗證客戶協議的簽立及相關身分證明文件的見證的“專業人士"例子名單,將新增‘特許秘書’7一類。

如對本通函內容有任何疑問,請致電2231 1188與陳麗明女士聯絡,或聯絡你的個案主任。

證券及期貨事務監察委員會
      中介機構部
     中介機構監察科

連附件

SFO/IS/035/2019


1   《證券及期貨事務監察委員會持牌人或註冊人操守準則》。
2
   日期為2018年7月12日的《致中介人的通函——在網上與客戶建立業務關係》。
3
   有關修訂的詳情載於附錄1
4
   請參閱證監會網站https://www.sfc.hk/web/TC/rules-and-standards/account-opening/
5
   包括今天發出的《致中介人的通函——透過遙距程序與海外個人客戶建立業務關係》。
6
   日期為2015年5月12日的《有關認識你的客戶及開戶程序的通函》、日期為2016年10月24日的《致中介人的建議通函——在開戶過程中核實客戶身分》及日期為2018年7月12日的《致中介人的通函——在網上與客戶建立業務關係》。
7   該修改與最近對《打擊洗錢及恐怖分子資金籌集指引(適用於持牌法團)》的修訂一致。


按這裡下載文件

附錄文件:
附件


最後更新日期 : 2019年6月28日