Circular to Intermediaries
New measure to protect client assets

8 Jul 2019



The Securities and Futures Commission (SFC) reminds intermediaries of their obligations to comply with the requirements under the Code of Conduct[1] when they are in possession or control of client assets. General Principle 1 of the Code of Conduct requires intermediaries, in conducting their business activities, to act honestly, fairly and in the best interests of their clients and the integrity of the market. In addition, paragraph 11.1(a) requires intermediaries to ensure that client assets are adequately safeguarded.

It has come to the SFC’s attention that in some cases the standard Terms and Conditions entered into between intermediaries and authorised institutions (AIs) with respect to current, deposit or securities accounts that are client or trust accounts (collectively, Client Asset Accounts) contain clauses which grant AIs a right of set-off or lien. Such clauses are fundamentally incompatible with the requisite standard of protection afforded to client assets under the Code of Conduct.

Client asset acknowledgement letters

To strengthen the safeguarding of client assets, a standardised acknowledgement letter in the form of the template enclosed in Appendix is to be adopted and duly signed by both intermediaries and AIs.

The key elements of the acknowledgement letter include the notification of purpose clauses, the no-recourse clause and the conflict clauses. These clauses align with long-standing efforts by global regulators to protect investors and are similar to requirements imposed by regulators in other major jurisdictions.

The no-recourse clause in the letter template prohibits recourse against client assets in Client Asset Accounts. However, for the avoidance of doubt, in the event of an issuer’s default, clawback by AIs of prepaid dividends or interest in respect of the issuer’s securities would not be considered as recourse against client assets for the purposes of this requirement. In addition, the no-recourse clause does not apply to any recourse against assets required by legislation or court order.

The letter template further clarifies that in the event of any conflict between the client asset acknowledgement letter and any other agreement between the parties in connection with the Client Asset Accounts, the client asset acknowledgement letter shall prevail.

The client asset acknowledgment letter is applicable to and required for the following types of Client Asset Accounts which are opened with AIs in the name of intermediaries:

(a)          accounts for holding client money;
(b)          accounts for holding client securities; and
(c)          accounts for holding non-repledged clients’ securities collateral[2].

To comply with this requirement, intermediaries shall prepare and sign client asset acknowledgement letters in accordance with the letter template in Appendix, and then obtain countersignatures from the appropriate AI.

Intermediaries are required to have the countersigned letters in place before depositing any client money or securities into any new Client Asset Accounts. The transition period for implementing this requirement ends on 31 July 2020, where the SFC expects the countersigned letters are in place for all applicable Client Asset Accounts.

Separately, the SFC would also like to remind intermediaries to exercise all due skill, care and diligence in the selection and appointment of any party other than an AI, including licensed corporation, with whom client assets are proposed to be placed, including whether the arrangements for the holding and safeguarding of client assets are in the best interests of its clients.

Should you have any queries regarding the contents of this circular, please contact your case officer.


Intermediaries Supervision Department
Intermediaries Division
Securities and Futures Commission


Enclosure


[1] Code of Conduct for Persons Licensed by or Registered with the Securities and Futures Commission.
[2] For the avoidance of doubt, intermediaries’ accounts that hold clients’ securities collateral repledged (with clients’ authority) by intermediaries to AIs for obtaining financial accommodation from AIs are not subject to the requirement.


Click here to download the document

Supplementary document:
Acknowledgment Letter Template for Trust or Client Accounts opened with Banks holding Client Assets (pdf version)
Acknowledgment Letter Template for Trust or Client Accounts opened with Banks holding Client Assets (word version)


Page last updated : 8 Jul 2019

致中介機構的通函
保障客戶資產的新措施

2019年7月8日



證券及期貨事務監察委員會(證監會)提醒中介機構在管有或控制客戶資產時,有責任遵從《操守準則》[1]的規定。《操守準則》第1項一般原則規定,中介機構在經營其業務時應以誠實、公平和維護客戶最佳利益的態度行事及確保市場廉潔穩健。此外,第11.1(a)段規定中介機構應確保客戶資產獲得充分的保障。

證監會留意到在某些情況下,中介機構與認可機構之間就屬於客戶或信託帳戶的往來帳戶、存款帳戶或證券帳戶(統稱為客戶資產帳戶)所訂立的標準條款及細則,載有授予認可機構抵銷權或留置權的條款。上述條款基本上與《操守準則》下在保障客戶資產方面所須達到的標準有所抵觸。

客戶資產確認函

為加強對客戶資產的保障,中介機構與認可機構雙方應採納並妥為簽署樣板格式的標準確認函(載於附錄)。

確認函的主要內容包括有關開戶目的通知、不具追索權及處理文件抵觸的條款。這些條款既符合全球監管機構經長期努力為保障投資者所制訂的標準,亦與其他主要司法管轄區的監管機構所施加的規定相符。

確認函樣板內有關不具追索權的條款禁止就客戶資產帳戶內的客戶資產提出追索。然而,為免生疑問,就這項規定的目的而言,認可機構在發行人違責的情況下取回預先就該發行人的證券而支付的股息或利息,將不會被視為就客戶資產提出追索。此外,有關不具追索權的條款並不適用於任何按法例或法庭命令的規定而就資產提出的追索。

確認函樣板進一步闡明,若客戶資產確認函與雙方就客戶資產帳戶所簽訂的任何其他協議之間有任何抵觸之處,概以客戶資產確認函的內容為準。

如中介機構以其名義在認可機構開設以下類別客戶資產帳戶,則客戶資產確認函即告適用並須予簽署:

(a)          用作持有客戶款項的帳戶;
(b)          用作持有客戶證券的帳戶;及
(c)          用作持有非再質押客戶證券抵押品[2]的帳戶。

為遵從這項規定,中介機構須依照附錄所載的確認函樣板擬備並簽署資產確認函,然後取得適當的認可機構的加簽。

中介機構將任何客戶款項或證券存入新開設的客戶資產帳戶前,必須備妥已加簽的函件。這項規定的過渡期將於2020年7月31日結束,屆時中介機構須為其所有適用的客戶資產帳戶備妥已加簽的函件。

另外,證監會亦希望提醒中介機構,若它們將客戶資產存放在認可機構以外的機構(包括持牌機構),便應在挑選及委任該機構時以適當的技能、小心審慎和勤勉盡責的態度行事,包括確認持有及保障客戶資產的安排是否符合其客戶的最佳利益。

如對本通函內容有任何疑問,請聯絡負責你的個案主任。


證券及期貨事務監察委員會
中介機構部
中介機構監察科


連附件


[1] 《證券及期貨事務監察委員會持牌人或註冊人操守準則》。
[2] 為免生疑問,中介機構的帳戶內若持有為從認可機構取得財務融通而被中介機構(經客戶授權)再質押予認可機構的客戶證券抵押品,則有關帳戶不受這項規定所規限。


按這裡下載文件

附錄文件:
中介機構在銀行開設持有客戶資產的信託或客戶帳戶的確認函樣板 (pdf版本)
中介機構在銀行開設持有客戶資產的信託或客戶帳戶的確認函樣板 (word版本)


最後更新日期 : 2019年7月8日